Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

A. Crosby Kennett Middle School

Public | 7-8 | 322 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 6, 2013

I think that the 7th grade could be more supportive with classes like math. He only gets help on mon and weds after school. the teachers counselors and principal could work better with the student and parent to help. They don't even return e-mails.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 6, 2010

This school was the former high school building. A new high school was built on the premise that the old school wasn't fit for use by students. If it wasn't fit before then why was it ok for attendance , by middle school students. I have found the teaching staff believes they are overwhelmed by having too many students to focus on individual students. They promise parents to provide feedback then tell the parent they were overwhelmed.


Posted December 5, 2008

Sorry, but I disagree about the previous reviews... Kennett Middle School (KMS) is the school that my daughter goes to now, but she doesn't like it at all. And I'm starting to agree with her. The teachers give homewrok rarely and only a little when they do, even for eighth graders. I belive that that is not good preperation for high school because in highschool there is way more homework. Another negative is that I think that the classes are not challenging enough for the students. Also my daughter says that almost all of her classes are wicked boring for her, and her fellow classmates. Another negative that I think the stongest about is the fact that students can only have physical education (or P.E.) for half a trimester. Same with health, musci, art, tech, and home ec. I would not reccomend that you send your child to school there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 5, 2008

I feel that KMS is a great school! My sonn hated school all of elementary school and when he got to the iddle school he was so nervous about the change, but the staff at KMS is very caring and tries to remember each and every child. My son recently had an issue with a child whom he didn't even know, came up from behind him and pushed him on the ground after school, when I went into the school to make my complaint about what was going on, Mr. Richard was ready to hear my son out and wanted to know who the child was by getting out a picture album and showing us different children we were quick to resolve the issue at hand and it was resolved. I find that this school and their staff goes above and beyond to help the children in anyway possible.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 17, 2008

pretty good school, could use some air conditioning seeing as it was just redone i dont know why we dont have any...
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 5, 2008

I go to this school and I like it very much, there may be a few down sides to it just because there is a lot of construction going on, but overall it's a good school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 4, 2007

Pluses:Lassie Pratt and Kevin Richard work hard to integrate incoming students and ensure the best possible social experience-very good team atmosphere. Minuses: Parents' input regarding a child's curriculum are not taken seriously/honored. Parents need to have input with regards to their child's curriculum, and the input needs to be honored. 'Average' students are held back/not challenged enough. Only a chosen few get into honors/accelerated courses. If you want your 'average' child to be challenged, you will need to supplement with outside materials. The HS dropout task force needs to take a serious look at the MS, as it is not preparing students adequately for the HS academic experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2012.

149 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
69%

2009

 
 
54%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

149 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
74%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2012.

146 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2012.

146 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
80%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 67% in 2012.

146 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
63%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female78%
Male63%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Title I program (current)66%
With educational disability16%
Without educational disability78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English69%
Non-migrant69%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female93%
Male74%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Title I program (current)82%
With educational disability42%
Without educational disability88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Non-migrant82%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female60%
Male61%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)61%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability0%
Without educational disability72%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English60%
Non-migrant61%

Reading

All Students79%
Female78%
Male80%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Non-economically disadvantaged87%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability13%
Without educational disability91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Non-migrant79%

Writing

All Students67%
Female77%
Male58%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability13%
Without educational disability77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%
Non-migrant67%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 97% 90%
Asian 1% 3%
Black 1% 2%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 31%N/A25%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

176 Main St
Conway, NH 03818
Phone: (603) 447-6364

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






The Community School
South Tamworth, NH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT