Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Derry Village School

Public | K-5 | 468 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 7, 2013

My grandson goes to this school - Excellent! from the classrooms to the teachers to the principal! Even the before/after school program - EXCELLENT. Came from the city and what a major difference. He looks forward to school each and every day. The staff is so involved with each and every student. Top Notch!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2011

My son has an IEP he cane from another school that they were not able to keep him for even two hours a day. I have been extremely impressed with all of the staff at Derry Village. They are top notch!! My son is thriving! He goes to school everyday for the whole day and actually enjoys school! They are amazing! I would certainly recommend this school to any parent.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2007

We are familiar with many schools over our life and this school might be the best school I have ever had the pleasure to be a part of. My child was formerly enrolled in a private school and after a comfortable interview with Mr. Miller (principal) we decided to enroll our child at Derry Village. The four blocks of learning program is exceptional, the teachers are fabulous, and the special education program is second to none. Staff - from teachers, to aides, to special ed staff, to management - show every day that they really want to help the kids excel in academics - as well as being kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 8, 2007

my child has attend this school for two years. the school has encourage the students, open to parent evolvement. strong reading program, integrated curriculum,weekly music, art, gym, technology in addition to chorus, band....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2006

My wife and I are very happy with DVS. This is our daughters 2nd year, and she cannot wait to go to school every day. Kudos to Mr. Miller and Mrs. Saucier.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 11, 2004

I think it is very disciplined and structured as well. Sometimes maybe even over disciplined, if that's possible. I love this school. My son has had 3 great years here so far, and I will be sad when he has to go on to middle school. I feel as though he belongs to a community there, more and more each year. He has recieved remarkable services academically, as well as socially, and I have no complaints.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 15, 2004

It has no dicipline and no structure.
—Submitted by a teacher


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

66 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2012.

66 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
61%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

79 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2012.

79 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
84%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
84%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2012.

94 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
78%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female78%
Male71%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (non-Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged79%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Non-migrant75%

Reading

All Students81%
Female85%
Male76%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (non-Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Non-migrant81%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female73%
Male74%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability0%
Without educational disability88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Non-migrant73%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female81%
Male74%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability15%
Without educational disability91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Non-migrant79%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female79%
Male71%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Non-economically disadvantaged78%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Non-migrant76%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female90%
Male72%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Non-migrant81%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students63%
Female83%
Male41%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%
Non-migrant63%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 90%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Asian 1% 3%
Black 1% 2%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 24%N/A25%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

28 South Main St
Derry, NH 03038
Phone: (603) 432-1233

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Grinnell School
Derry, NH







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT