Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Grinnell School

Public | K-5 | 368 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted October 3, 2013

Grinnell is a fabulous school. I have two children who are currently enrolled. The teachers work tirelessly to ensure all students are taken care of. I am not sure why a parent would review it otherwise, clearly as they indicated they took school choice so they would not know how involved the administration is or how great the special education department is!!! One of my students is identified and I feel the special education department goes above and beyond! Big Kuddos to Grinnel!!! Keep up the great work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 16, 2013

You walk into this school and the air is so thick with poor morale, you can hardly breathe. The administration is not involved or ever seen around the school. A new administration and better special education department would help turn this school around... Otherwise, I'm sending my kids to school of choice.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 21, 2010

I couldn't be happier with Grinnell! The teachers are fabulous and the principal and assistant principal are also wonderful. I have one son attending Grinnell currently with another going in another year. We were given the option of sending our son to another district school, but I wouldn't change if you paid me. My son is flourishing at Grinnell and even though sometimes the school is depicted negatively, don't believe it. Go Grinnell!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 7, 2009

Grinnell is a wonderful school and I was very happy with the kindergarten program. Mrs. Wilson was an excellent and I felt my daughter was very lucky to have had her this past school year.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 4, 2008

Grinnell is a wonderful school, Our oldest daughter went there but since has moved on to west running brook. We have two other children the go to Grinnell and if anything things have improved over the years as far as better teachers, stability for the children, safety. My children feel safe and at home at school which is more than I could ask for. Mrs. Hill and Mr. Duchame, handle the school with and Iron fist and all the children that go there are considered as their children. I would not want my children in another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 28, 2007

I thought Grinnell was a great school at first. Then my son started having trouble in reading. His math scores were incredible, but in reading he struggled. Because he was diagnosed with hyperactivity (not ADHD) his teacher was pushing to have him medicated and coded - unnecessary by my son's doctor's medical opinion. But its still an issue. I would also like to comment on the PTA. I work the overnight shift. I also have a foster child, plus my son. I sleep about 4 hours a day. I would love to participate more, but such is life. Some people need to consider that. However, I don't think Grinnell pays much attention to their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 14, 2006

Grinnell is an INCREDIBLE school. I am very pleased with their attention to the students. They have a great special ed department! The class sizes are small and the teachers are fabulous!! I have had 2 of my children go from 1st through 5th grade there and I now have a daughter in the 3rd grade. I was contemplating on moving but decdided gainst it until my daughter finishes at Grinnell. Mary Hill, the principal, is a great listener and always willing to help out where she can. The PTA at the school is one of the best in the area. I would recommend this school to anyone who wants the best education for their child along with a great feeling of self esteem.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 8, 2006

This school is awesome. We now have two daughters that go there and it has been a wonderful experience. They've been involved with the Post Office program, chorus, some advanced classes and after school programs. The teachers and staff all seem to really be on top of all their students. If you're moving in to the area, I would suggest making sure you're in the right spot to go to Grinnell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2004

Grinnell is awesome, I have no complaints what-so-ever about the teaching staff. We love that school and are so glad that our children are a part of it! However, The PTA claims that you can just 'sign up and not do anything else'. But I took that last review as a dig. Some of us have to work, whether it be full time or part time, not all are lucky enough to stay home and donate all of their time to the school as much as we would love to. We have our lives at home and devote that time to our children. I know that we never miss an event our children are involved in, but do not have the extra time to help out at other events. The PTA has definitely done great things, but if that's the attitude among them, then I don't want any part of it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 28, 2003

Grinnell is one of the best elementary schools in Derry. There are some very committed and involved parents who comprise most of the PTA and all PTA related volunteer hours. Approximately 25% of the parents are very involved with the remaining 75% slightly to not involved at all. Many of the teachers have been there for years and volunteer much of their 'off' time to help out the PTA. The administrative staff has a great working relationship with the PTA and the PTA is welcoming to new members it is not clicky or snobby, which is nice. The worse thing I could comment about Grinnell would be the parents who are not involved with their children which affects all of us.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

66 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
59%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
47%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2012.

66 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
66%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
52%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

49 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
75%

2010

 
 
60%

2009

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2012.

48 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
49%

2009

 
 
63%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
67%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2012.

60 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
35%

2009

 
 
43%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students59%
Female54%
Male65%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (non-Hispanic)57%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability66%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English61%
Non-migrant59%

Reading

All Students63%
Female62%
Male62%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (non-Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged67%
Title I program (current)19%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability71%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English61%
Non-migrant63%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female81%
Male83%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged88%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Non-migrant82%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a

Reading

All Students71%
Female65%
Male75%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged60%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Title I program (current)33%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability76%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English70%
Non-migrant71%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Female81%
Male69%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Title I program (current)36%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Non-migrant75%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students80%
Female89%
Male73%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged76%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Title I program (current)42%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Non-migrant80%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students35%
Female56%
Male18%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)37%
Economically disadvantaged14%
Non-economically disadvantaged46%
Title I program (current)0%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability40%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English36%
Non-migrant35%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 85% 90%
Hispanic 6% 4%
Two or more races 5% 1%
Asian 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Black 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A25%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

6 Grinnell Rd
Derry, NH 03038
Phone: (603) 432-1238

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT