Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

4 stars
Based on 11 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


12 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Gilbert H. Hood Middle School 2

Posted March 25, 2014
- a parent
I'm a parent of a 6th grader in this school. I'm a bit concerned at the amount of work or lack thereof that is given out. She has literally brought math home work home 3 times this year. Last night her math homework consisted of 1 problem! Other homework days in other classes yield 10-15minutes tops when she even has homework. The school is not challenging these kids and I fear our student is not progressing to the level she could be at. Come on teachers, challenge these students. Get them thinking and ready for the next academic realm. If you don't use it (brain) you lose it or it will never grow.

Gilbert H. Hood Middle School 1

Posted April 11, 2010
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Gilbert H. Hood Middle School 5

Posted March 09, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Gilbert H. Hood Middle School 0
no rating

Posted October 26, 2009
- a student
hood middle school is awesome and all the teachers are too! i hope your kids go to hood

Gilbert H. Hood Middle School 1

Posted September 08, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Gilbert H. Hood Middle School 5

Posted July 31, 2007
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Gilbert H. Hood Middle School 5

Posted December 13, 2006
- a parent
Today I registered my daughter at Hood Middle school. I was very nervous because I had been told horror stories about it before. I was so happy and surprised to see how nice the staff were. The principal was great at making both of us comfortable. He was very caring knowing that this would be a hard transition for her and I as well. The teachers were very nice and friendly. I loved the seeing how the kids interacted with the 6th grade math teacher especially. They were learning and having fun! She cant wait to start.

Gilbert H. Hood Middle School 5

Posted July 29, 2006
- a parent
Gilbert H. Hood Middle School is a wonderful and exciting place for children to learn. I have moved throuhout the state of New Hampshire taking my children to different schools and this was by far their favorite and also mine. The teachers are friendly realationship with the students and are willing to do anything for them. Their academic policy is amazing and allows the parents to be involved with their children and what they are doing in school! Trust me you will never be dissapointed with this school. Every teacher my child had or has is wonderful and i have never had any problems with that school! Their sports are always the best in the state and the coaches want to build up thier players not put them down! I love this school and so do my children, trust me you will not be dissapointed! GilbertH. Hood Middle School ROCKS!!!!!!!


Gilbert H. Hood Middle School 5

Posted June 11, 2006
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Gilbert H. Hood Middle School 5

Posted August 25, 2005
- a student
Speaking as an 8th grader, the Gilbert H. Hood Memorial Middle School, was a great educational experience for me, as a student who just got promoted from there. Although the work can be tough, I think it was the best preporation for Pinkerton Academy, or high school in general. Even though I went to the Gilbert H. Hood Middle School for only one year, It was the best school I have ever attended. I came from Massachusetts, and comparing to that, New Hampshire School systems are far more organised, and well-kept. This School has teachers who care about more then their life. I believe that they care more about their students' futures then anything. Also, the field trips, and projects we did were very intersting, and fun.I think the disipline could improve a bit, but overall, I definately give the Gilbert H. Hood Memorial Middle School 5 Stars!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Gilbert H. Hood Middle School
5 Hood Rd, Derry, NH  03038
(603) 432-1224
Last modified Gilbert H. Hood Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Gilbert H. Hood Middle School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 12 reviews. Top