Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Portsmouth Christian Academy

Private | PK-12

 

Be sure to visit

 

Living in Dover

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $196,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,140.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 11 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

48 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 4, 2006

PCA is an outstanding school. Coming from a public school with a very high amount of special needs this school is a breath of fresh air. The teachers are nuturing and caring. Both of our daughters teachers came to their music recitals and go the extra mile for the children. They feel that while the kids are in their class they are family. The academics is top notch. They have grade level but also advanced and excelerated classes for reading and math. I did not find that in public school! Comuter lab teaches even the youngest ones to type - a skill needed today. Extracurricular activites are great from jump roping to homework club. Instument lessons are right on campus, too. Parents are involved! You want to be at the school because it is so inviting. Our experience at this school has only been a postive one.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2005

The school is nice in quality, however tuition is unreasonably high and the education is not nearly as good as it is played up to be. I have two children enrolled in the school; one in high school and one in the junior high. The lower school dress code is madenning, to be honest. However, some of the people are nice, and it is good to be in an envirnment where you know everyone's name.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2005

I have three chilren at the school, one in the highschool, one in the junior high and one in the elementary. PCA has been such a blessing to our family. Our children have grown, academically, emotionally and spiritually. I would not have them anywhere else!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 6, 2005

PCA is an amazing school. It is so wonderful to be able to drop off my child and know he is in a safe place where values taught at home are carried through at school. The after school programs are outstanding. My son swims, takes music lessons, karate and 'mad science' afterschool without the extra transportation on my part. The teachers truly care and most have advanced degrees. The school is constantly seeking to improve. As parents, we see the results of this and are well informed. I love to volunteer and feel so welcome at this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 20, 2005

PCA does offer structure in the classroom which is needed in todays learning as well as God. But honestly the academic are no better then our Maine public schools if I had to compare. Chilxtracurricular which I am slowley finding out. To keep my two children in PCA is because of the religion aspect.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2005

The academic programs are alright in quality, but quite limited in quantity. Music includes just the basic band and chorus, Art is only 1 class until highschool where the choices are a little more varied. Sports are interesting, including soccer, volleyball, basketball, tennis, track, cross-country, and ski-club. Unfortunately they exclude the major sports of football, cheerleading, lacross, field hockey, and many others. Extracurricular activities are also quite limited due to schools loss for money. Parents are somewhat involved as volunteers in the lower school (i.e. making copies for the lazy teachers) but once the children are in highschool the parents are barely ever seen.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2005

This is a great school. My three kids attend, with the oldest in junior high. Expectations are high, but always with encouragement, support, and love. Most of all, kids are always reminded that God always loves and cares for them; they are never alone. Teacher/parent and school/parent communication is fantastic. Academic achievement is top-notch. check it out and compare it to public and other private schools!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 6, 2005

PCA is the BEST school ever, my daughter loves it!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 80% 89%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 11% 3%
Two or more races 4% 2%
Hispanic 3% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Black 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Christian
Associations
  • ACSI

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20 Seaborne Drive
Dover, NH 03820
Phone: (603) 742-3617

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Garrison School
Dover, NH





St Mary Academy
Dover, NH



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT