Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
/ / / School Profile

PK-12|Private
604 students
Follow

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
53 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (2 responses)
characters left.
There are 77 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Portsmouth Christian Academy
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
Both of my kids have had a homework most nights, but is has be manageable for them. They are both good students, so it is possible that other students would find the homework level a challenge.

Portsmouth Christian Academy
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
I saw this in my son during his junior year. He was so determined to take a specific class, which would then require a higher level English class, that he went to the English teacher and talked with him about being accepted into the honors level English. He worked very hard and was able to secure a seat the following year in AP English.


Portsmouth Christian Academy
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
One way that I see respect being built is in the schools support of our military. There are special presentations and teaching that really helps the students respect all that the military does for our country.

Portsmouth Christian Academy
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
Yes, the students in the high school complete 50 hours of service each year. Some pack shoe boxes for Operation Christmas Child, other provide music to the elderly in nursing homes, others take missions trips serving in soup kitchens or helping the poor in Guatemala or Belize. One group of students started a club to work with some new students from the Congo, providing homework help. This is just a glimpse at some of the great things going on at PCA.

Portsmouth Christian Academy
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
Students are held accountable, but are treated with an opportunity to redeem themselves. We all make mistakes and the school does a good job working with the kids to make it right.


Portsmouth Christian Academy 5

Posted January 11, 2016
- a parent
We have found the faculty at PCA to be incredibly accommodating and kind over last five years. We have two very different students; PCA has provided excellent differentiation and we couldn't be more thankful. In our experience, we have seen the love of Christ shown each day. They have had opportunities to serve the Lord with their talents and gifts. From the small groups, to Chapel, to optional bible studies there is plenty of ways to plug in to grow in faith outside the required bible classes. My kids have found they are able to talk about real life issues and struggles with their teachers. That, is something you cannot duplicate. Now, at the high school level, our kids have been challenged with honors and AP level classes in all areas. I cannot recommend PCA enough.

Portsmouth Christian Academy 5

Posted September 13, 2015
- a parent
This is a school that truly cares about the WHOLE child. The staff and faculty are extremely approachable and the administration LISTENS when parents speak. Two of my children have attended and I wouldn't send them anywhere else.

Portsmouth Christian Academy 1

Posted September 13, 2015
- a parent
The parent who posted on January 24,2014 hit the nail on the head. I could not have said it better. The school is full of hypocrisy and judgement. The worst experience our family has had and a VERY unresponsive administration..


Portsmouth Christian Academy
Teacher effectiveness: Effective

Posted September 13, 2015
- a parent
Teachers are effective as they can be given the restrictions placed by administration. Many good teachers, but also several very bad teachers.

Portsmouth Christian Academy 5

Posted April 30, 2014
- a parent
We moved to the Seacoast area from Maryland last summer and finding a great school for our 2 daughters (7th/10th) was our highest priority. After touring the school, meeting with both admissions and administration, we selected PCA for the 2013-2014 school year. Our experience thus far has been incredible. Both of our daughters are loving the school and enjoying all the opportunities it has to offer. They are being challenged academically and the Biblical worldview that we were looking for is woven throughout the curriculum. We look forward to a long relationship with the PCA community! You will love this school!

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Portsmouth Christian Academy
20 Seaborne Drive, Dover, NH  03820
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 77 reviews. (603) 742-3617
Last modified Portsmouth Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Top