Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
9-12
Public district
Dover, NH
Students enrolled: 1,432
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dover Senior High School 5

Posted September 14, 2014
- a community member
The school has a welcoming atmosphere and everyone is willing to help. The person below must be either a new student and is not used to the autonomy of high school. One thing that middle school did not teach was being assertive in your efforts a lot of poeple hold you hand in middle school this not reality or life you need to learn that you' re the one that is going to be the one that makes things happen in the real world. Not insulting the student below but just saying wlecome to how it may sometimes be. I do understand that self -start isnt everyones cup of tea. But than again in college they expect you to be there or fail how do they teach that too you? By holding your hand.Nope by you being independent and getting to know as many faculty members as possible. The faculty has always been very supportive of me I was in special ed by the way. Go DHS keep up the good work!

Dover Senior High School 2

Posted August 31, 2014
- a student
On a good note, some of the teachers are very helpful and students can go to them if there is an issue learning in the classroom. The deans are helpful depending on the student and the issue the student is having. Deans take hold of situations and fix them when they're presented. On a lower note, student fights happen often, bullying is an issue, many staff members are very rude (some even to the parents), including the school nurse, and some counselors don't even return calls until months later. Saw one teacher even flirting with several students. There are constant mix-ups with students' schedules, even when they had set up their schedule the previous year with a counselor. You definitely have to actively search for the right people to help you if you need it in this school, because the majority of them are not helpful at all in a number of situations regarding education, bullying, schedules, etc.


Dover Senior High School 4

Posted June 26, 2014
- a teacher
This school has a huge student services department which places paraeducators in classrooms to help all students academically and provide behavioral support to those who are coded for individualized education due to a disability. Dover High is very much a community in itself where students come from all walks of life and all abilities. The school offers so many opportunities for ALL students. College bound seniors can take advanced placement classes, other students can get a jumpstart on a trade like electrical and cosmetology. This school also has a unified program which teams kids with learning delays (Down Syndrome, Mental Retardation etc.) With mainstream students as mentors. Its great for the kids and the community. DHS has also taught kids who have been named as Presidential Scholars. Just last year, we had the Presidents choice for excellence in math so we are certainly doing something right!

Dover Senior High School 4

Posted March 08, 2014
- a parent
DHS/CTC has a very wide variety of courses allowing students to follow interests that may lead to careers. Students are able to take Honors, CP, Career & Vocational classes all in one building. They offer a variety of art & music courses as well as NH 1st all female engineering class. My children have attended Dover schools for 12 years, and while no school is perfect, Dover's are very good.

Dover Senior High School 4

Posted June 19, 2012
- a parent
Students are given the tools to succeed, but it is up to them whether they use them. Dover High students are successful in a variety of areas--winter colorguard, band, lacrosse, ice hockey, college acceptances-- and they are all given the same opportunities to succeed. Teachers do their best with only one exception that I can think of and students are expected to do their best as well.


Dover Senior High School
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
I think this school is definetly an 7 of 10 and is doing exceptionally well with all of the restrictions of budget..I am so impressed with the career technical program

Dover Senior High School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
They have a wonderfull school and great teachers! They are trying extremely hard to add wonderfull programmes to their Tech. Dept., against severe cut backs. Like a Nursing Programme. They would benefit greatly and put this money to good use.

Dover Senior High School
no rating

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
If your child has an IEP,and needs extra help unfortunately its not there for them. If been there and at the learning center that has two adults /12 students, and one stutent getting help? and try to tell me how your child is receiving the help he needs.??????????????? So why do we put our kids on an IEP! I rate this school poor because I dont feel my child getting the right education that he needs.......


Dover Senior High School 3

Posted April 24, 2009
- a parent
Good for kids who are strong enough to survive the peer pressure and self-start.

Dover Senior High School 5

Posted March 06, 2006
- a student
I absolutley loved going to Dover High. There are some many great teachers in all of the different departments, and I'm glad that I had some of the great ones. I'd highly suggest sending a child to this school for a wonderful education parallel to private schools, with no cost at all for local residents. The school provides plenty of opportunity for student involment and offers a wide variety of both courses and extracirriculars. I wouldn't have wanted to go to a different high school, and I'd highly recommend Dover. Sincerely, Kyle Stucker Class of '05

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dover Senior High School
25 Alumni Dr, Dover, NH  03820
(603) 516-6900
Last modified Dover Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dover Senior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. Top