Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dover Senior High School 2

Posted August 31, 2014
- a student
On a good note, some of the teachers are very helpful and students can go to them if there is an issue learning in the classroom. The deans are helpful depending on the student and the issue the student is having. Deans take hold of situations and fix them when they're presented. On a lower note, student fights happen often, bullying is an issue, many staff members are very rude (some even to the parents), including the school nurse, and some counselors don't even return calls until months later. Saw one teacher even flirting with several students. There are constant mix-ups with students' schedules, even when they had set up their schedule the previous year with a counselor. You definitely have to actively search for the right people to help you if you need it in this school, because the majority of them are not helpful at all in a number of situations regarding education, bullying, schedules, etc.

Dover Senior High School 4

Posted June 26, 2014
- a teacher
This school has a huge student services department which places paraeducators in classrooms to help all students academically and provide behavioral support to those who are coded for individualized education due to a disability. Dover High is very much a community in itself where students come from all walks of life and all abilities. The school offers so many opportunities for ALL students. College bound seniors can take advanced placement classes, other students can get a jumpstart on a trade like electrical and cosmetology. This school also has a unified program which teams kids with learning delays (Down Syndrome, Mental Retardation etc.) With mainstream students as mentors. Its great for the kids and the community. DHS has also taught kids who have been named as Presidential Scholars. Just last year, we had the Presidents choice for excellence in math so we are certainly doing something right!


Dover Senior High School 5

Posted May 28, 2014
- a community member
Dover High is wonderful school! Despite the negativity of low test scores.The school itself has a lot of idenitified and 504 students with in it walls more funding needs to be put in the hands of special education and better organization. Why? you may ask, because our students students deserve it! We have a wonderful new principal Peter Driscoll who had the pleasure of having for three years as a teacher my self who is top notch and great person all around. He will bring ideas to DHS as well as a renovations that are much needed to get the school to 21st century learning and technology standards . The culture itself is about mutual respect tolorance and automy if you want your children who will be adults before you know it (might I add) to have these values I strongly encourage you too send your kids here! In the end the faculty is very caring and committed adminstartion has a strong a leader and people of whom I respect for and the school will be updated within the the next few years. What more could ask for? Go DHS!

Dover Senior High School 4

Posted June 19, 2012
- a parent
Students are given the tools to succeed, but it is up to them whether they use them. Dover High students are successful in a variety of areas--winter colorguard, band, lacrosse, ice hockey, college acceptances-- and they are all given the same opportunities to succeed. Teachers do their best with only one exception that I can think of and students are expected to do their best as well.

Dover Senior High School 1

Posted March 30, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.


Dover Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted October 04, 2009
- a parent
I think this school is definetly an 7 of 10 and is doing exceptionally well with all of the restrictions of budget..I am so impressed with the career technical program

Dover Senior High School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
They have a wonderfull school and great teachers! They are trying extremely hard to add wonderfull programmes to their Tech. Dept., against severe cut backs. Like a Nursing Programme. They would benefit greatly and put this money to good use.

Dover Senior High School 0
no rating

Posted May 27, 2009
- a parent
If your child has an IEP,and needs extra help unfortunately its not there for them. If been there and at the learning center that has two adults /12 students, and one stutent getting help? and try to tell me how your child is receiving the help he needs.??????????????? So why do we put our kids on an IEP! I rate this school poor because I dont feel my child getting the right education that he needs.......


Dover Senior High School 3

Posted April 24, 2009
- a parent
Good for kids who are strong enough to survive the peer pressure and self-start.

Dover Senior High School 2

Posted May 28, 2008
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to inspire and support families to champion their children's education - at school, at home and in their community. We are a national non-profit with offices and programs in Oakland, Milwaukee, Washington D.C. and Indianapolis.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dover Senior High School
25 Alumni Dr, Dover, NH  03820
(603) 516-6900
Last modified Dover Senior High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dover Senior High School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 16 reviews.