Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
5-8
Public district
Dover, NH
Students enrolled: 1,131
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dover Middle School 2

Posted June 16, 2013
- a parent
We transferred our children out of this school. It was not a happy place for them.
2 people found this helpful

Dover Middle School 5

Posted September 30, 2012
- a parent
We transferred our student from a private school for 5th grade this is his second year and we couldn't be happier with the teachers, principal and dean of students. Alll are very welcoming, obviously love children and love to teach. How refreshing!! The academics are challenging and they do accomodate all levels of learning very well. We absolutely LOVE DMS!


Dover Middle School 5

Posted June 08, 2012
- a parent
transferred here after we moved from MA, The teachers are great and my son is thriving at this school compared to the one in MA. He is on an IEP and is learning so much more. Would recommend this district.

Dover Middle School 5

Posted May 30, 2012
- a parent
My child transferred to DMS after an unpleasant few years in a private school. I regret not transferring her earlier. All of her teachers are amazing, the building is beautiful, the administration seems strong and organized, she's challenged and happy there. Very grateful!

Dover Middle School 1

Posted October 05, 2011
- a community member
I never liked this school, I had an IEP and the homework was never modified and i had like 3 to 4 hours of it at night! If you didn't get it all done your teachers scolded you and said you would never pass high school which when i went to high school it was actually easier then it was at middle school strange but true. The teacher's only wanted to help the smart students because it easy to teach the smart students they teach themselves the culture is sterile and uninviting no one smiles for some reason?! no one wants to help you if you have any issues of social and emotional nature. Overall a very uninviting school its like military academy no one is allowed to talk while on the way down to lunch in the fear of offending anyone in the other classes and if you do talk you are scolded not a very warm school at all most of the staff hate teaching students that may have ADHD or anything then is different then they normally teach the teacher would have students with difficulty out in an out of district placement setting if they could. No empathy for students and there struggle's and always wondering who going to get yelled for next!


Dover Middle School 4

Posted June 24, 2009
- a parent
This is a great school. Teachers make learning fun for the students. There are lots of intermerals and in-school activities for the kids.

Dover Middle School 4

Posted February 12, 2008
- a student
This is a nice school. I believe the school setup is great, the after school programs are ok, and the lots of the teachears are very encourageing.

Dover Middle School 3

Posted January 10, 2005
- a parent
The quality of academic programs is wonderful. The availability of extracurricular activities is mediocre. the level of parent involvement is above average. If you have a child that is of an ethnic background this is not a good school to attend.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dover Middle School
16 Daley Dr, Dover, NH  03820
(603) 516-7200
Last modified Dover Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 5-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Dover Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top