Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
19 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 26 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Woodman Park School 5

Posted January 19, 2016
- a parent
We have two children at Woodman Park Elementary & both children are excelling. Each child was identified as a little-more advanced reader and therefore I was asked if they could put them in a special group for children reading just a bit faster compared to their classmates. I was thrilled. On the flip side - if a child is struggling, Woodman Park does have amazing Title 1 teachers that are assigned to give your child 30+ minutes of extra reading help during the day. Mr. Boodey is loved by all the kids and we have had nothing but wonderful teachers. Woodman Park has many UNH interns as well, I have no idea why WPS is rated low on greatschools.org.

Woodman Park School 4

Posted August 23, 2015
- a parent
Woodman Park has its challenges, no doubt, but each staff member is dedicated and rises to the challenges. The administration is top notch, and the school runs smoothly and every just seems HAPPY! My kids love being students there. It does have a great deal of diversity but teachers handle it well and students are learning from it! In my opinion, Woodman is the warmest and happiest school out of all Dover elementary schools.


Woodman Park School 5

Posted April 08, 2015
- a parent
We've been very happy with the progress my daughter has made at this school over the past few years. She is much further along academically than we thought she would be when she came in from an other district a few years ago. The teachers do a really good job here with what they have available. The school population does have their challenges, but the school does the best they can to overcome the challenges the kids face in a manner that does not single out the kids. The community in the school is very strong and Mr. Boodey is an excellent principal.

Woodman Park School 5

Posted August 12, 2014
- a parent
Due to budgetary constraints, Dover, as a city, has its issues with providing everything that our students need to thrive. Our teachers are consistently asked to do more with less. Despite this, the teachers, staff, and students at Woodman Park thrive. There is no more cohesive teaching team in the district. There is not a principal that comes close to having the capabilities and level of fairness and caring that Patrick Boodey possesses. True, WPS has a high population of students in financial need. True, there are many students that need extra help to achieve their highest potential. True, the standardized tests that measure the "success" of our schools does not provide accommodation for many of our students. But, when you walk down the halls, meet the principal, talk to the educators, and converse with families, you will undoubtedly find that the overwhelming majority are in love with Woodman Park School and would not (and do not, as permitted by WPS's Title 1 status) choose to send their children anywhere else in the district.

Woodman Park School 5

Posted April 29, 2014
- a parent
This school has been a blessing for my son. They have done every possible thing to provide the best education possible for him k-4.


Woodman Park School 1

Posted March 27, 2014
- a parent
I have had nothing but problems with this school! If it wasn't mid year I would move my child in a heart beat! They blatantly disregard doctors notes, when a parent talks to them one on one and don't care if your child needs a nurse unless they are throwing up!

Woodman Park School 5

Posted January 21, 2014
- a parent
This is my daughter's third year at Woodman Park School. When I saw the ranking of this school, I was shocked. Mr. Boodey, the Principal, is top-notch. He was the recipient of the Principal of the Year for the state of New Hampshire. As a volunteer parent with the amazingly active PTO and in my daughter's classroom, I see first-hand his involvement with the teachers, parents and most importantly, the students. He attributes the success of the school to the passionate and dedicated teaching staff. This school is one of the few schools in the area to be granted interns from UNH. Their criteria is high, and Woodman Park exceeds expectations on so many levels. The school is always hosting events to bring the students together with their families. There is an openness to every person who enters its doors. The student population is diverse, and gifted students are challenged just as students who need extra are helped. Given the choice of the 3 elementary schools in Dover, I would hands-down choose Woodman Park. This school wins on all levels. This school is a 10 out of 10 ranking in my opinion.

Woodman Park School 5

Posted May 29, 2013
- a parent
My 5-year old daughter goes here now and she is thriving! The staff and teachers are amazing and so willing to find away to help her and they have. The principle is great! he knows most of the kids by name and is outside rain or shine to greet the kids every morning. We just moved out the district and it broke my heart to think of pulling my daughter from this school that I am going to drive her everyday so that she can keep going here rather then another school. Only thing I don't understand is how the districts are set up doesn't make much sense to me but I love this school and so does my daughter.


Woodman Park School 5

Posted May 10, 2013
- a parent
This is an amazing elementary school. Principal Boodey does an excellent job, as do all the teachers. The PTO is extremely warm & involved. We have loved all five years of our son being here.

Woodman Park School 1

Posted November 06, 2011
- a parent
The school office staff is very rude. It seem they need get more "education" before they can educate the children. The K teacher does not understand the children developmental issue. Parents involvement very low. No wonder NECAP test always the lowest in the district.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Woodman Park School
11 Towle Ave, Dover, NH  03820
(603) 516-6700
Last modified Woodman Park School is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 2 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Woodman Park School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 26 reviews. Top