Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 18 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Dublin Christian Academy 1

Posted September 20, 2014
- a community member
I was a student at this school during the 2000s: continued-- ...and in the past, ethiopian Orthodox believers. They are militantly legalistic with following the rules versus providing compassion & big picture Christianity to these kids who are far away from home. Most of the kids who graduate from this school do not* continue to practice this form of Christianity, & in fact, quite a few renounce Christianity completely. When i was there, the best education I received was from the English & Math department. Every single teacher who taught those subjects well at the time are no longer there. History & Civics are taught horribly skewed from a conservative perspective. In fact, conservative politics is woven into the students religious education seamlessly. The science curriculum was abysmally taught from instructors untrained in those fields. The biology teacher has had no background in biology in college. The rest of the sciences are taught by an instructor who's notorious among students for his sub-par teaching skills. I can say from experience it was not fun re-learning chemistry, physics, & biology from scratch in college. Try to find a better school for your child.

Dublin Christian Academy 5

Posted July 11, 2009
- a student
They teach the foundations of the Bible and train kids for Christian Leadership. Great extracurricular activities on the side!


Dublin Christian Academy 5

Posted March 05, 2009
- a community member
This review submitted without content.

Dublin Christian Academy 5

Posted August 11, 2008
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Dublin Christian Academy 4

Posted June 21, 2008
- a student
I am a Dublin grad. and will give the pros and cons.Cons: First, freedom of expression is hampered, partly because of the lack of diversity. Second, dormitory students, those residing in the dorms on the weekends, are somewhat neglected; these kids who are especially far away from home could use extra attention and concern from the faculty. Third, it is difficult to make decisions for oneself as a Christian (decisions like purposing to read one's Bible daily, making Biblical standards of music) because as a boarding student, those choices are made for one. Although, unlike most dissenting students, I respect the standards the school takes. But I believe, they ought to try a new approach intraining Christain leaders by giving the students chances to make biblical choices instead of attempting to regulate every aspect of the students' lives. Pro: My experience at Dublin changed my life dramatically for the better.


Dublin Christian Academy 3

Posted April 03, 2008
- a parent
Steadily increasing tuition costs and elimination of 'mulitple child per family' and 'early pay' discounts have driven many families away from dca. Although this school offers much in terms of extracurricular experiences, such as chorale, drama team, and sports, the disconnected board and administration needs to understand that food and mortgage payments must take priority over private schooling. In tough economic times, a reduction of tuition rates will actually bring in more revenue by allowing more families who would like their children to have a christian education to do so (think conservative politics!) although, overall, this is a good christian school, a good many of the staff (also disconnected from the outside world), exhibit pious and judgemental attitudes toward some students and 'outsider/off campus' families. Unfortunately, the only option for christian schooling in the area!

Dublin Christian Academy 1

Posted February 18, 2008
- a parent
The dorm life isnt good. Theres mold on the ceiling and the rooms are very small. The schooling is very good but some of the teachers and a little weird

Dublin Christian Academy 2

Posted December 23, 2007
- a student
Some of the teachers are wonderfull! Like Miss Robers, Mr Eric, Mr Jenkin and a couple other teachers.


Dublin Christian Academy 5

Posted December 13, 2007
- a parent
As a former student and parent of two recent graduates, DCA enabled me to achieve postgraduate degrees, compete in the global business world and provide my children with a quality private college education. DCA provides a faith based education lost and long forgot. However, change can be good for example: DCA would do well to bring in a younger mix to its aging board, build alumni programs to improve communications, rotate the position of student dean and establish a student feedback forum that includes parents and faculty. The president of the school is fully aware the school needs to improve the living standards of its talented faculty, recruit and support new hires, create ways to attract and retain students, engage alumni in fund raising events and provide a quality education to our young who need a sense of true north.

Dublin Christian Academy 4

Posted December 09, 2007
- a community member
I attended Dublin Christian Academy from the sixth grade through graduation. There are many things both good and bad that can be said about the school and the faculty and staff. Lets face it many kids today are terrible when it comes to standards, and this is a school that has plenty of them, but so does life. Some of the faculty are outdated in thinking but all are there because they want to see young people become outstanding respectful educated adults. Its not for everyone, but for those who can appreciate the strictness and see the ultimate goal it is worth it.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Dublin Christian Academy
106 Page Rd, Dublin, NH  03444
(603) 563-8505
Last modified Dublin Christian Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-12
Dublin Christian Academy Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top