Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Hampstead Academy

Private | PK-8 | 190 students

Hampstead Academy is best known for a challenging and diversified curriculum.
 
 

 

Living in Hampstead

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $225,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,120.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 9 ratings
2013:
Based on 4 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 30, 2009

Too over protective. The teachers are a bit too strict & the education is less than average. The public schools are better. Hampstead keeps growing the cost.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 21, 2009

'Educating the Whole Child' is what makes hampstead academy a great school. The teachers address the needs and talents of each child by offering drama, music, sports, art, chinese, latin, spanish, ... but the emphasis on math and science is what has impressed me most of all. Each class in involved with a community service project and my child learned how to knit hats for children in a local shelter. The graduates are accepted into the schools of their choice. What a wonderful place to grow up.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2009

Love the Drama and Music programs. Several years ago, the school offered Chinese and my son is enjoying it very much. He also takes Latin and Spanish. Many after school sports programs are being offered now including baseball, softball, cross country, basketball, golf, swimming and skiing. The school works to develop the whole child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 30, 2008

Hampstead Academy has been the best experience for my two children. The drama, music and art programs are exceptional. In comparison to other private schools, Hampstead Academy's tuition is affordable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 1, 2008

Our daughter attended HA for many years and although the teachers are great, the cost was phenomenal. Every year tuition increases and it just got too expensive. All the parents that I dealt with were nice but I only knew a few of them. I hope the school continues to grow but I hope it will go back to its educational roots rather then trying to be a profit making institution.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2008

The teachers are very caring, knowledgeable and love sharing in the educatinal growth of your child. The schools continues to enchance the extracurriculum programs for the various interest of the cildren and due to family feedback.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 31, 2008

Hampstead Academy is an excellent school for my daughter. This is our fourth year at the school. The teachers are great, the students are highly motivated, and the facilities are top notch. There is a nice mix of students from many surrounding towns. We love that there is a bus to and from Windham. I couldn't be more pleased.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 30, 2008

My child has attended Hampstead Academy since nursery school and will go to third grade next September. The class size is very small - imagine ....16 children with 2 teachers in the classroom! The teachers are wonderful, caring and professional. Love the music, art, drama and science programs. Great school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2008

Although I do have some concerns regarding the practical application of the philosphy HA preaches of teaching to the individual child - anyone that has a different learning style is somewhat on their own. Diversity is not the issue - particularly in the current K class. In fact, as far as the boys go, my average white, blue- eyed boy is in the minority!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 5, 2008

We were disappointed with the school. Look closely at what their philosophy is and what they actually do in practice. Their class sizes are large in the upper school because they combine classes for math and other subjects so the actual teacher-student ratio is higher than actually reported to parents. The local public school kindergarten had a 16-1 student-teacher and Hampstead Academy had 26 kindergarteners!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 3, 2008

good school, however some teachers are a tad bit condescending, and i would recommend not having your child go to HA from kindergarten seeing as most of the children i know who did that have had a hard time adjusting to life outside of the affluent, white, slightly paranoid bubble. the school also has zero diversity. I feel the urge to bring a big black man with me to hampstead sometime, and see how quickly the police are called.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

My daughter attended Hampstead Academy for 8 wonderful years. What makes this school a perfect place is the caring and talented teachers... Art, Music, Drama and the after school activities serve to enhance a top notch academic program. The families are close and we formed many lasting friendships.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2008

I have to agree that the parents are very cliquey. My daughter is in preschool right now, and I can already see the different cliques forming with the parents and the students. It makes me very uncomfortable. The teachers seem nice, but I do not like the atmosphere created by the parents of always having to one up each other,
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 16, 2007

Of course the students do great. H. A. will only take in the brightest high achieving students. If you do have any difficulties in any subject, your child will get the boot. Also this school is extremely cliquey. Teachers have their favorites and the students are very aware of it, these are the kids that excell.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 9, 2007

Hampstead Academy is a school worth paying tuition. The teachers are absolutely amazing, and the students are kind and respectful. My child has been there for 10 years (kindergarden and preschool)and sh is graduating 2007, which is this year. Hammpstead Academy is a great opportuity to enhance in academic and atheletic skills!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 22, 2007

My oldest son attended grades 6-8 and tested into grade 10 honors 1 courses in Geometry and Spanish as well as other grade nine honors courses (history and biology) in the high school he now attends as a freshman. HA is well worth the tuition. There are plenty of opportunities to participate in different activities and team sports, although the school is by no means a sports power house.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2006

At Hapstead we can say nothing else than... amazing results from my child. she has been there since 1st grade and I can not believe the turn out of my child. The teachers there are amazing, and could not get better. my child is very smart and understands more than i thought she would learn. Wonderful school from my point of view. -Could not be more pleased with the turn out!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted February 25, 2005

Our daughter has been at Hampstead Academy just about 2 years. We are more then pleased with the teachers there. They seem to have a real understanding of the children and work hard to meet the needs of every child. They make time to speak with parents at any time if it is needed. I feel the school is organized and a very safe place to be. **********
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2003

Great facilities, caring staff, and small teacher student ratios.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 89%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
Dance teacher(s)
Gardening teacher(s)
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Reading specialist(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by school staff Chinese (Mandarin)
French
Russian
Spanish
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Awards

Academic awards received in the past 3 years
  • Verizon App Challenge (2014)
  • Destination Imagination (2014)
  • FIRST-LEGO League Champion (2014)
Community service awards received in the past 3 years
  • Unicef (2014)
  • American Diabetes (2014)
  • American Heart Association (2014)

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Extra learning resources offered
  • Differentiated learning programs

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Engineering
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Technology club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Visual arts
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language and culture club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
Clubs
  • Gardening
  • Girls on the run

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:15 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Samuel S. Richards
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
  • richards@hampsteadacademy.org
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Special schedule
  • Block scheduling
  • Extended/longer school day
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAEYC
  • NIPSA
Fax number
  • (603) 329-7124

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Accelerated credit learning
  • Core knowledge
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Hybrid
  • Individually guided instruction
  • Project-based
  • STEM
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Engineering
  • Environmental
  • Foreign languages
  • Humanities
  • Mathematics
  • Music
  • Performing arts
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Technology
  • Visual arts
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Cooking/Nutrition teacher(s)
  • Dance teacher(s)
  • Gardening teacher(s)
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • French
  • Russian
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Differentiated learning programs
Transportation options
  • Bus Transportation
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Multi-purpose room ("cafegymatorium")
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Golf
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Fencing
  • Golf
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Sculpture
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Jazz band
  • Orchestra
  • Vocal lessons / coaching
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
  • Technical design and production
  • Video / Film production

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Art club
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language and culture club
  • Gardening
  • Girls on the run
  • Math club
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Technology club
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Family atmosphere Caring, professional staff Diverse population Low Student-Teacher Ratio Character Education High Standardized Test Scores
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


4 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
35
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
100
Students typically come from these schools
Public
Private
Home Schooled

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$4000 - $17000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Philips Exeter
Philips Andover
Pinkerton Academy
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

320 East Road
Hampstead, NH 03841
Website: Click here
Phone: (603) 329-4406

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools


Atkinson Academy
Atkinson, NH






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT