Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Private
Hampstead, NH
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hampstead Academy 2

Posted May 05, 2015
- a parent
Hampstead was not a good choice for our child. While the small school environment was good at times, it was also too small at other times. Sometimes there was not a big enough selection of friends with different interests. This was not necessarily a concern for our child most of the time BUT something to consider. Our main concern is the fact that the school has a very very poor math program at the middle school level which they have ignored for years, even after numerous complaints and requests from many parents for review. We supplemented at home with private tutors at an additional cost to our family. The problem comes down to loyalty among staff as opposed to hiring/firing when necessary. An age old problem with public schools that seems to plague this small school as well. This is not something our family thinks is what you "pay for". My child has now moved onto high school and is still suffering the effects of the poor math instruction and still continues with private tutors to try and play catch up. Although the school was a nurturing safe environment, it was not a school suited to a child moving onto a rigorous academic high school.

Hampstead Academy 5

Posted April 29, 2015
- a parent
My 2 children are currently students at Hampstead Academy and I cannot speak highly enough about the school. The teachers are excellent and the environment is nurturing yet stimulating. We have loved watching them thrive and grow in their time at the school. The school really does develop the whole child with exceptional visual and performing arts and STEM (science, technology and maths) programs. The school helps the children learn how to think and problem-solve creatively and to be enthusiastic and confident learners and citizens. I highly recommend the school.


Hampstead Academy 5

Posted June 03, 2014
- a parent
My daughter graduated from this school and has since finished both high school and college. Throughout highschool and her college years she was constantly applauded for her confidence, her dedication to work, her organization and her leadership skills. To this day the answer to all of this remains the same, Hampstead Academy. I would reccommend this school to every parent concerned that their child is not being challenged in their current school or that is looking for a nurturing and positive environment. The program is solid, the teachers dedicated, the classes accelerated, and the environment like a second family. Who could pass all that up when you want your child to be challenged, to be loved and to be successful?

Hampstead Academy 5

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
Hampstead Academy's motto is "educate the whole child." My son is thriving academically, but perhaps even more importantly the school is helping him to grow into an amazingly kind, thoughtful, independent and well-rounded young person.

Hampstead Academy 5

Posted April 22, 2014
- a parent
Hampstead Academy was the perfect solution for our son entering middle school. He's about to graduate, and we are very happy with the way he has grown over the past three years. The academics are excellent, but HA offers so much more. It's a real community, yet every child is treated as an individual, too, and celebrated for his or her accomplishments. The extra-curricular offerings are great, as well, with the school's teams going on to win state, regional, and national championships in Destination Imagination, Lego League, spelling, math, and geography contests, etc. It is very reasonably priced for a nondenominational private school. The sports teams are small, but enthusiastic. The one thing that could be done to improve the academic experience for students who enter later than 2nd or 3rd grade is to offer a class during the weekly activity period in academic schools, to help them get organized and up to speed with the school's expectations. His first year was very stressful because he didn't really have the skills to tackle time-management of long-term projects, multiple assignments, etc. He also didn't have the tech presentation skills other kids had.


Hampstead Academy 5

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
Hampstead Academy provides a fantastic educational experience for my daughter. She has been at Hampstead Academy since the 1st grade and has thrived with the challenging and diverse curriculum. The teachers are excellent, the class sizes small and all of the students get along very well with each other. I would strongly recommend Hampstead Academy to any prospective parents planning to send their child to private school.

Hampstead Academy 5

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
Hampstead Academy has proven to be a great transition for us from a public school system. Academic and extra-curricular achievement speaks for itself with their test scores and awards. None of this would be possible without a motivated student body, "involved" teachers and leadership. It would be nice for the school to expand its space to include a soccer / track and field facility.

Hampstead Academy 5

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
My child has attended Hampstead Academy for the past 6 years and we can not be any happier with the education they're receiving. HA is a tight knit community and the teachers understand each child's learning style and do a fantastic job with teaching to achieve the individual goals of each student. I wish they would add on grades 9-12 so we wouldn't have to leave.


Hampstead Academy 5

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
Hampstead Academy has been an excellent school for our bright, but overly sensitive son. His teachers have been excellent from Day 1, and he adores them, AND waking up each school day so he can go to school. I credit HA with furthering his love of school, and look forward to many years with these teachers and administrators. Excellent school, we couldn't be happier.

Hampstead Academy 5

Posted April 21, 2014
- a parent
Hampstead Academy is a small school with a remarkable wealth of resources and dedicated teachers. This year the school secured a set of Google Glasses and everyone in the school got to experience them. I appreciate the visiting authors and artists that are brought to the school to give the children a well rounded experience. And as a working parent, I take advantage of the after school program and intramural sports programs.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hampstead Academy
320 East Road, Hampstead, NH  03841
(603) 329-4406
Last modified Hampstead Academy is a Private school that serves grades PK-8
Hampstead Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 44 reviews. Top