Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile

4 stars
Based on 14 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


16 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Hampton Academy 5

Posted December 28, 2013
- a parent
Great school! Nothing middle about it! Principal has made a huge difference for kids and staff.

Hampton Academy 1

Posted November 29, 2010
- a parent
There needs to be more accountability placed on the administration and staff regarding academic performance and the handling of student:student issues. I strongly believe parents must share accountability for their children's academic performance and social behavior. The current academic staff seems unmotivated and incapable of providing a well structured academic environment. Teachers have strayed away from teaching students "real world" academics, in favor of teaching students to be better "test takers". The teachers are not completely at fault for this change, as State Standards for NEAWA and NECAP expectations are nearing impossible achievement rates with such diverse populations of academic learners. The environment of the school is in my opinion, as an actively involved parent, stressful and hostile for both teachers and students, making it an even harder environment to teach and learn in successfully. Over the last eight years I have witnessed student:student assaults both verbally and physically. Continued on next post-


Hampton Academy 1

Posted November 29, 2010
- a parent
Many teachers, although not all, appear to turn a blind eye to the "less" intense physical assaults (e.g. pushing, shoving, elbowing). I can only surmise that this is result of a lack of positive administrative leadership. The Academy has seen a great deal of administrative turn over-eight principals within six years! Many children suffer at the hands of bullies needlessly. The current administration is either unwilling or ill trained to deal with the issue of bullying. I have volunteered at other middle schools my older children attended in other towns, and while bullying was still an issue, albeit much lower in occurrence, once bullying was reported and substantiated, reasonable consequences for such action (punishment fitting of the action) were dealt with in a swift and responsible manner. I have yet to see or hear from other staff and parents that bullying is being addressed properly, or in some instances at all.

Hampton Academy 5

Posted September 12, 2010
- a community member
unfortunately it seem that the majority posting reviews have liberal,touchy/feely problems with what appears to be a very good school....my gawd,complaining about LOCKERS and those crowded COLD hallways---or your kid has academic problems,so it's the school's fault ?--get a grip on yourselves or go visit an inner city public junior high....if you dare.

Hampton Academy 5

Posted October 07, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.


Hampton Academy 0
no rating

Posted June 08, 2009
- a parent
While the majority of teachers are wonderful the grading guidelines are unrealistic. One day late on homework and the students get 1/2 credit (which is a 50). No if, ands or buts. This can bring a students GPA down in a split second. I am sad to say that the focus seems to be on teaching kids 'lessons' rather than working with the students to learn. Communication is virtually non-existant unless pursued by parent. School board has their fingers in too many pots. The school has lost their focus on what should be important; Kids and their education. Can't wait till my student is out.

Hampton Academy 5

Posted April 20, 2009
- a student
ok... this school is amazing ! i get to see all of my friends and hang out with them during classes ! but not just that the teachers are verry nice and they can hellp you with anything that you need. i would reccomend this school to ANYONE who is lookiing to go to a new school !

Hampton Academy 0
no rating

Posted February 13, 2009
- a parent
The librarian is a very nice lady. She knows what shes doing and she is very intelligiant.


Hampton Academy 2

Posted December 22, 2008
- a parent
Middle school years are tough enough socially, but when you add apathetic teachers to the mix who are poorly supported by their adminstration and school board, it makes it even more difficult. Our child had a challenging transition here and we abandoned the school for another mid-way through our experience. Our child struggled with some learning issues and we found we received little support from the adminstration. Kids can fly through with high grades here, but this is little indication of what they are really learning. They have a relatively new principal, and hopefully he is turning the place around before we are faced with the decision to send our second child here in a couple of years.

Hampton Academy 5

Posted December 20, 2008
- a teacher
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Hampton Academy
29 Academy Ave, Hampton, NH  03842
(603) 926-2000
Last modified Hampton Academy is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 8 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Hampton Academy Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. Top