Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
10 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Neutral (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 17 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Frances C. Richmond School 5

Posted May 09, 2016
- a parent
This is an excellent school for the academically driven kids, precisely what I'd like my kids' school to be!

Frances C. Richmond School 4

Posted December 08, 2014
- a parent
This is probably a better middle school than most but there are some major issues that may be true of all schools. The homework is absurd. Children are overwhelmed. My child is learning things that I did not learn until medical school. There's no reason for this much pressure and this much learning. The school is very "clique"ey. If you're not into sports you will not be a member of the "in" crowd. On the other hand the faculty is very supportive and there are not athletic teams, so the sports heroes are not able to become sports "gods". Biggest complaint is that many 6th graders should still be in elementary school. I don't know why middle school starts at 6th grade instead of 7th. Electives are wonderful but the homework is so overwhelming that my child can't do electives.


Frances C. Richmond School 1

Posted January 08, 2014
- a community member
VERY clique-y. Faculty will tell parents what they want to hear and then if the parents change their mind so will the faculty. Be very weary about sending your child to this school.

Frances C. Richmond School 5

Posted June 04, 2013
- a parent
Middle school can be a difficult experience for kids-- the hormones, the growing responsibility and increasing independence-- but the teachers and administrators at RMS make what can be difficult years into great ones. The school is academic, however, the electives provide opportunities to explore, learn new skills and have fun. Examples of electives include Theater for Young Audiences, Yoga, Woodworking (with a master craftsman), Snack Shack (cooking and selling snacks) and Quizbowl. All creative and fun! The school takes bullying very seriously as well-- bullying is not tolerated and the school takes a proactive approach to reducing the incidence of bullying.

Frances C. Richmond School 5

Posted December 19, 2012
- a parent
I currently have a child that attends the Richmond Middle School. I can honestly say I couldn't be happier. The school is physically divided into three teams: 6th grade, 7th grade and 8 grade. Each team has their own wing of the building and EVERY teacher personally knows your child. In fact, the team meets briefly every day to discuss the children and their particular needs for the day. I know this first hand because I have a child who has some special needs. Although he is an excellent student, he sometimes needs extra help socially & emotionally. The teachers regularly team up to make sure he's pulled through the day comfortably and successfully. Furthermore, the head of this team and his guidance counselor check in with me a few times a quarter. Mind you, not because I asked or insisted. It's because they have HIS best interest in mind. So the review dated 6/3/12 must come from a very unhappy insatiable person, because it is IMPOSSIBLE to find flaw in this school. I kid you not. This has been the most mind blowing experience I have had with a school and I am extremely grateful for all that the administrations and teachers do! Oh and the cafeteria food ROCKS!


Frances C. Richmond School 1

Posted June 03, 2012
- a community member
This school is a horrible place. The teachers do not teach although there are a few exceptions. The school believes homework should consume a student's life. Do not send your children to this prison.

Frances C. Richmond School 5

Posted December 12, 2008
- a student
Wonderful staff and electives. The children seem to enjoy that school a lot. The food is wonderful but a little much. The library has a wonderful books for tweens, teens and young adults. Two computer labs a elcetive room with 6 ovens. I want everyone to know this school is perfect. It is cool, when the students had reached over 500 caned food items for Heaven the princlible had a rap off! This school is a 5 stars

Frances C. Richmond School 5

Posted January 30, 2007
- a parent
We have lived in several good school districts and this middle school is the best. It fosters a learning environment that is wonderful for the age group it serves. The class schedule seems confusing but is well suited to the attention span of kids this age and the electives are wonderful. I hope when the new principal comes on board in 2007, he/she carries on the great philosophy and curriculum. SMJ


Frances C. Richmond School 5

Posted June 17, 2005
- a student
This is a fabulous school for all kids who want to learn. The teachers are enthusiastic about what they teach and are happy to help. Parents can participate as much as they may want. The academic subjects are taught very well! For example, year 8 students read classic stories such as To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee and Romeo and Juliet. Students may sign up for as many art, music and sports programs as they wish.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Frances C. Richmond School
63 Lyme Rd, Hanover, NH  03755
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 17 reviews. (603) 643-6040
Last modified Frances C. Richmond School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 10 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top