Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
15 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Somewhat effective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Currently, most people answered Teacher (1 response)
characters left.
There are 24 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Alvirne High School 1

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
Lack of leadership pretty much says it all. This lack of leadership is backed 100% by the local school board. Regardless of what happens inside these walls it is covered up and lied about top down. Students are never where they belong, and never held accountable. Teachers have no support and are thrown under the bus consistently. Because of this chaos there is rampant drug problems, bullying, sexual harassment, and fighting. Consider another school option.

Alvirne High School
Grateful to: Teacher

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
Many of the older teachers who have tried to keep students on track and keep expectations up in the face of adversity


Alvirne High School
Amount of homework: Not enough

Posted March 27, 2016
- a parent
Expectations are not held very high. If a student complains the least little bit about anything school related rest assured it will be nullified.

Alvirne High School 1

Posted June 24, 2014
- a parent
As the parent of an Alvirne student I am disgusted with what goes on what goes on in this school. My daughter has been bullied for two years now and nothing gets done. Mr. Beals just brushed it off like it was nothing. Recently a student created a hit list . Students don't feel safe. K

Alvirne High School 2

Posted June 23, 2014
- a teacher
The school has deteriorated fast over the last two years. There is no leadership within the building. The principal has no interest in communicating with staff. He acts like one of the kids, and lets them do whatever they please. This has created a mess. Grafiti on our building in and out, more fights, more drugs, alcohol at events, etc. There is no accountability for students. And no support for staff. Alvirne was the best place to work and learn until Principal Beals arrived.


Alvirne High School 5

Posted April 19, 2013
- a community member
It has an ANDII :D She is an awesome and amazing girl :3 to to to to to to to to to is that 15 words yet?

Alvirne High School 5

Posted October 27, 2011
- a student
I love Alvirne it is the best school I've gon to so far! Everyone is so nice and welcoming. Ecspecially Mr.Lane!

Alvirne High School
no rating

Posted December 09, 2009
- a student
Alvirne High School is a wonderfully developed school. Aside from the lack of public funding, Alvirne is very involved in the community and takes a great deal of pride in its students. It has a brilliant principle, Mr. Lane, and it has a fa nominal academic curriculum. Alvirne is a public high school that has a vocational wing which boasts an onsite farm, restaurant, florist, kennel, Hallmark store and much more.


Alvirne High School
no rating

Posted July 30, 2009
- a parent
I have to say I am pleased with this high school. My daughter's teachcers this year were FABULOUS! I cannot show or express my appreciation and respect for all them. They are there when you need them, and the staff will help you to succeed if you do ask. They were patient and caring and I have to say Thank you to all of you. The principal is in every acitivity. His involvment have made AHS a better place to be and to learn. I have hope for the football team. The director of the Sports department very caring and professional. The extracurriculums actvities and clubs are there for everyone to join. Please do, they are fantastic and you meet so many people and make your HS experience a memorable one.

Alvirne High School 5

Posted May 21, 2009
- a student
I transferred to Alvirne my junior year and was absolutely blown away. Coming from a smaller, less established school, i was impressed by all of the class options and levels as well as other opportunities in sports and clubs. I found Alvirne to be much better suited to my needs and I feel it prepared me well for college. The teachers, principal, and guidance staff are all willing to listen and help if you are willing to put yourself out there and ask. I'm incredibly happy with everything I got out of Alvirne in my time there.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Alvirne High School
200 Derry Rd, Hudson, NH  03051
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 24 reviews. (603) 886-1260
Last modified Alvirne High School is a Public school that serves grades 9-12. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top