Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Presentation of Mary Academy

Private | PK-8 | 440 students

Our school is best know for Academic Excellence.

 

Living in Hudson

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $202,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 5 ratings
2013:
Based on 24 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

39 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 19, 2013

My son transferred to PMA a couple of years ago and it has been great. Yes it is expensive but you know you are getting a great school. My son had problems in the public schools and because the school denied the problems he ended up missing 40 days of school in one year. Since he has been in PMA he has only missed school when he has been extremely sick, which is under 10 days. He gets up and wants to go to school be he loves the school. I have the best mornings now because I know that he is in a great school and with great people. We both have felt welcomed by eveyone. It is a catholic school so yes there is a religion class and they do go to church but there is a big focus on the rest of the academics as well. They focus on everything so the children have a well rounded education. My son loves learning spanish too. Sr. Maria is involved with the children, she is at most events and she knows what is going on at all times. Sr. Maria and the rest of the staff are all wonderfull and they make you feel very welcomed. It was the first school I looked at and the only school I looked at for my son because I had know kids that had gone there when I was younger. I also am a proud parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

My three boys have attended PMA. My eldest son is now attending Bishop Guertin, doing wonderfully because of the academic preparation he received at PMA. We send our children to school to learn and have the knowledge they need to go out in the world and succeed. My healthy, eleven year old son unexpectedly passed away in his sleep less than three years ago. One of the few things I recall from that morning is Sister Maria being at my door. She knows each child by name. Sister offered my eldest son a place to sit and cry when he was having hard days missing his brother. Sister Maria made certain that every staff member was AED/CPR certified when we found out my youngest son, had the same unknown genetic condition that my middle child passed from, She did that to protect my child. When we send our children to school for the day or anywhere for that matter, we want to know they are safe and protected. My son told my husband and I that school is his safe" place. Education is important but don t we want our children to not only learn math and english but also compassion, kindness, and gratitude? In addition to the academics, our children learn values that help shape their character.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

My three kids started at PMA 4 1/2 years ago. Not once have we worried what teacher our kids would get because we have been happy with each and every one of them. The teachers and administrators are invested in each and every child there whether they are in their class or not. Yes the academics are rigorous and the kids are very well prepared, but I feel it is the tight knit family and supportive atmosphere that makes PMA the best.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

LOVE PMA!!! My daughter has been at the school since Pre-K and is now in 2nd grade and my son is in K. The teachers are wonderful!! My daughter is a bright girl and she is constantly challenged at school. I hear what my friend's children are learning in public school and she is learning a lot more. Sister Maria is so wonderful!!! She has the students best interest at all times. Ii also love the diversity of the school. I think my kids experience way more cultures at this school than they would at public school. Can't say enough positive things about PMA.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

We pulled our three children out of the public school system, and placed them in PMA. We could not be happier with the principle or teachers. Our children are thriving! The school is spotless. The education is excellent. Go see for your selves, do not go by what you read on the internet, it doesn't do the school any justice. The harsh reviews don't make any sense, they actually sound ridiculous. My children ADORE Sister Maria, the nurse, and all the teachers. It's like one big family. This school is a hidden gem!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

I absolutely love PMA. My daughter is in the Pre-K class and I couldn't be any happier with how much she has excelled going to this school. Her teacher is wonderful and always in contact should she have a question or just wants to let me know about something that had happened during the day. I wanted to have my daughter try this out before we decided to send her to Kindergarten at PMA so we have and our only choice is going to PMA for Kindergarten. She is so excited and she loves her teacher, friends and this school. It really is amazing how much she has learned and how much more she knows than some 6 year olds and she is only 4! Amazing, amazing, amazing is all I can say. If you are looking for a great school and education for your child I would recommend PMA over and over again.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 18, 2013

I have been involved at PMA for 10 years now and LOVE everything about the school. My daughter attended from Kindergarten and graduated last year and went on to Bishop Guertin High School where she is and honor student and feels PMA has prepared her well for BG. My son has attended PMA since he was 4 and is currently in the 4th grade and all his teachers have been caring and nurturing to him and have helped him in so many wonderful ways! I as a parent have been very involved with PMA for many years and will continue to be. I was here when Sr. Maria came to PMA and to me she has been a wonderful principal and has done so much for the school and for the students. I'm very satisfied and so glad my children have and do attend PMA I feel they have received and excellent education and have become well rounded individuals. People are always telling me what polite caring children I have and some comes from home but I do believe a lot comes from PMA and the wonderful teachers and staff. Thank you PMA I am a proud parent!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 16, 2013

This is our 4th year at PMA. This is a wonderful school. Our children have received an exceptional education. The teachers are all educated and caring, and Sister Maria, the principal, is wonderful. I have never seen a school where children "want" to see the principal. My children give her hugs every time they see her. PMA instills values and manners that children need (and do not always get these days). The school itself is beautiful, and also has a new playground and turf athletic field. We could not have picked a better school for our children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 4, 2013

This is the worst school for academic learning. My child learned more after switching to the town school than he did at PMA. If you want you kid to focus and excel more on the Catholic education then this might be the best school for you. The School focus is more on Catholic education than Math/Science/Reading. They would skip teaching you other subjects on any given day but would never skip the Religion class. Unproven and inexperienced Teachers are given a classroom who are learning as they go. The school is very filthy and kids are sick most of the time. Principal Maria is the most egoistic and rude person I have met. She treats the children as her own personal cleaners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2012

BEST Thing we have done for our KIDS! LOVE the School and Have had ONLY GREAT Experiences with Sr. Maria the Principal. Teachers are caring and AWESOME!!!! This is our 5th year and we are so HAPPY to have made PMA our School!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2010

This school has the best teachers and the best learning in the state of New Hampshire! Also their princepal: Sister Maria Rosa is the best ever! She never yells at you!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 15, 2009

My son has been at PMA for the past 4 years and will never send him back there again after this year. The principal doesn't see a need for a guidance counselor, doesn't have a full-time nurse (the one who was there left because of the new administration) and the classes are overcrowded. The principal is not very hands on and doesn't appear to take much stock in the opinions of the parents and children. If you are in the Nashua area and you are looking for a private school you are better off with Infant Jesus. I'm disappointed that I even have to give the school a negative rating, but I think people have the right to know. I can't endorse a school that fires a guidance counselor and hires a fundraiser.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 1, 2009

A great environment for a child! Love it ! The faculty and the principal are very helpful and caring ! Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2008

The school is wonderful and the teachers are great. Years ago, I would have highly recomend it to anyone. But not now. The administration has lost it's focus on education. It is not a nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2008

I'm a graduate of Presentation of Mary Academy and can say without a doubt that the education I learned opened so many wonderful doors in my life. Anyone who asks me where would I send my child, I tell them Presentation of Mary Academy.


Posted October 10, 2007

This is a great school with a very caring and attentive faculty that really go above and beyond the call of duty in many ways. The Sisters really add a friendly and distinguished atmosphere to the beautiful campus. I have 2 children in 2nd and 3rd grade and they look forward to going to school everyday. The academics and curriculum are challenging, the after school care and activities are great. Library, gym, music, art during school. The school is culturally diverse which is important in fostering tolerance and understanding of different cultures. Be aware you will need to spend time everyday to help your young child manage their education, this is the best part overall as far as I am concerned. Be involved and keep them positive about their work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 20, 2005

My daughter attended PMA for Kindergarten and is now in the 1st Grade. We are very happy with the quality of the academics. My daughter seems to be learning things that are taught in the 2nd grade in the public school. The teachers seem to really care about getting to know the kids as individuals and we feel like our daughter is in a very safe, nurturing environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2005

My children came from public ed. What my 1st grader is learning is what my duaghter learned in nashua school system in the first part of 2nd grade. The education is top notch, the teachers, and faculty are very warm caring and nurturing. All students k-8 can participate in school wide activities. Very innovated, up beat, ahead of its time.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

For 75 years Presentation of Mary has been educating children. The students are challenged and nurtured while building lifelong friendship during their nine years at PMA. My children are blessed to have attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 89%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 17% 3%
Hispanic 6% 4%
Black 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Portuguese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: French

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Sister Maria Rosa, pm
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (603) 595-9504

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Honors track
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Remediation
  • Title One
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Lacrosse
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Lacrosse
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: French
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Presentation of Mary Academy has been a pillar of Academic Excellence in the greater Nashua area for almost 100 years. It is presently the largest private Catholic elementary school in the Diocese of Manchester, NH. The commitment to Academic Excellence and the Spirtual development of each child remain its strongest characteristics. The school continues to improve its technology programs each year, as well as its sports programs with the addition of an artificial surf field on its 75 acres.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


5 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
50
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
102
Students typically come from these schools
Area Pre-schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bishop Guertin High School
Derryfield High School
Trinity High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

182 Lowell Rd
Hudson, NH 03051
Website: Click here
Phone: (603) 889-6054

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT