Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Presentation of Mary Academy

Private | PK-8 | 440 students

Our school is best know for Academic Excellence.

 

Living in Hudson

Situated in a suburban neighborhood. The median home value is $202,300. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 24 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

38 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 20, 2014

Wow, PMA and Sister Maria has outdone themselves. There was an average of about 1 review a year till Feb 2013 and then after 1 negative review Sister Maria got her minions to fill it up with nothing but positive reviews. I concur with the parent of the negative review. This just proves the point for me how the school is run. Enough said.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2014

I can easily say that the leadership qualities of the school's head, Sr. Maria Rosa, are extremely poor. Unfortunately, Sr. Maria is very two-faced. It is typical of her to act in such a way around parents of the school, and further on act in a completely different manner around the students(Rude, degrading, etc.). Although I am a firm believer in structure there is no need for her shallow treatment of even the oldest students at PMA. She has parents of the school fully convinced that students are in an enabling and nurturing environment which is very untrue. Sr Maria has two primary focuses- Fundraising and decorating the interior of the school. She takes little to no interest in the school's academic program whatsoever. Unfortunately, the school, under the power of Sr. Maria, is ran like a business with a main focus on money. If you're looking to keep your child/children at PMA until eighth grade, I would advise you not to. Overall the academic program is solid but standard; PMA is absolutely nothing special.


Posted June 6, 2014

I took my daughter out of hudson public school (5th grade) in October of this year and sent her to PMA. The public school is full of bully kids and drama. She LOVES PMA. The other kids, teachers,and principal were the best helping my daughter through the transition of a new school. My daughter has learned so much this year we can't wait until next year!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 13, 2014

Please read all the comments.... Funny??? Sister Maria's name is mentioned to be so wonderful over and over.... what's the chance of that. Sad to see she writes her own reviews to hide her nonsense, and all on the same date too, not very bright either...Hello parents... Don't waist your time... go elsewhere...your children will not be happy around her....loved school until she came to town:(
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

My daughters have been attending school there since pre-kindergarten and are now in third and fourth grade. I am always excited to have my children share their day and learning experiences. This is truly an educational community in the fact that my daughters' pre-K teacher follows up on their learning, grades, and if they have adjusted bad habits, like talking during class. The teachers and administrative staff are continually looking to improve the school academically and through extracurricular activities. I have always been impressed with their handling of situations and their communication with parents is top notch. My family is part of the PMA learning community and I value that each day. Parents are encouraged to get involved appropriately and have never felt that my concerns were unheard or not dealt with properly. I have the utmost respect for the teachers, paraprofessionals, and everyone else who works in the school. Thank you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

I am quite shocked to see negative comments regarding PMA. My daughter has been going since second grade (we transferred her from public school), she is currently in the fourth grade and is truly prospering from the wonderful education. Although demanding, it is fair and the kids excel based on this . If you are looking for a school with an excellent academic program as well as a sense of family and community, you can not go wrong here. We love PMA and my son will be joining the PMA family next year in kindergarten.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

I myself graduated from Presentation of Mary and feel very blessed to be able to send my two children to PMA. I have two daughters who have been at PMA since they started Kindergarten..now one is in 5th grade and one in 3rd. I believe the academic program is challenging while at the same time my children are learning values that with the proper education will promote them to be strong women. My youngest daughter has had some issues with 3rd grade math and I must say her teacher was AMAZING at communicating with me and helping my daughter learn in the various ways she needed to excel. Sometimes you don't realize a great school or a great teacher until something goes wrong. My daughters will graduate from PMA and I am proud to say I did too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 20, 2013

PMA is a great school with a strong focus on academics. Their demonstrated commitment to academics is why we send both of our children there. Most other schools just talk about it. PMA teachers are top notch and really foster strong parental involvement in all aspects of the school activities. We love that our kids have homework and actually bring their books home to study. Discipline is a core theme interwoven into all aspects of education for each student. Self-discipline, accountability, and focus are just some of the traits PMA teaches and nurtures. The school administration is top notch. Sister Maria is tireless in her dedication to PMA. The campus is beautiful with easy access to Rt 3. The new field and planned new gym are nice additions but the core focus is still on academics. Tuition for two children is a challenge but we consider it the best money spent as we are investing in our children s future. Fundraising is near constant and parking is a bit rough but these are trivialities when evaluating what is important. We feel confident we are preparing our children to excel in high school, college, and in a globally competitive world.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

My kids transferred to PMA in the middle of the school year from another local catholic school a few years ago... Our family was IMMEDIATELY welcomed with open arms....the academics at PMA are VERY rigorous and the teachers are always revising their curriculum to reflect new information, teaching methods, and technology. Administration from local Catholic High Schools has told me that children from PMA are VERY well prepared for High School and have the study skills and organizational skills to help ease their transition to High School..... PMA promotes activities that teach students to take personal responsibility and to give back to those in need. PMA expectations are high because they strive for excellent character and academic development of all their students. The faint of heart need not apply! And I mean that as a compliment !!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

My daughter is a kindergarten student at PMA. I had researched many private schools in the area and during that time I read some of the negative posts. I was skeptical at first, so I began questioning mothers in the grocery store that had children with the school uniform on. I NEVER heard a bad comment. My husband and I made a appointment to tour the school and were very impressed with the condition/cleanliness of the school. My daughter had a very hard time for the first few months (separation anxiety) and the school (especially her teacher) could not of been more positive and kind. Even through her anxiety my daughter has amazed me by how far she has come academically. I volunteer often and have gotten to know Sr. Maria and I can say that from everything I see, the bad reviews are completely wrong. She expects respectful and responsible students but does so with love and even a bit of humor. Other than a great education ( both academically and in religion) isn't this why we enroll our children into private school? My husband and I are extremely pleased with PMA and are proud to tell people we are part of this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

I have found nothing but excellent education and love at PMA. My daughter has been there from kinder all the way through middle school, and I now have another child starting her education there as well. My children has received the utmost excellent education from experienced teachers and I would not have it any other way for my children. Sister Maria is kind and does get things done, but like I read before, I doubt as well, that there would not be an athletic field and beautiful playground if it wasn't for Sister Maria. She has helped our family in many ways, and we will continue to recommend PMA to other families.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

We love PMA! Originally we were just going to use the school for full day kindergarten for our oldest but once we were members of the PMA family we couldn't imagine any of our 3 children going anywhere else. It is such a loving and nurturing environment yet the children are held accountable for their actions and taught to be caring, responsible, socially conscience members of society. PMA has very high academic standards but the wonderful teachers are there every step of the way to help and encourage the children to reach higher and achieve more. And I cannot say enough wonderful things about the principal, Sister Maria. My children just adore her, as do I. She is so involved in every aspect of the school....she's there to greet the kids in carline, to pick up the mess with the kids after lunch, to set up tirelessly for every school event, dance, fundraiser, etc., or just to give a child a hug in the hallway as they run up to fling their little bodies at her legs! PMA just wouldn't be the same without her! I can say with unwavering confidence that my 3 children are getting the best education, both academically and spiritually, in Southern NH. Thank you PMA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

I switched my child from a public school to PMA last year and have not looked back. My child was welcomed with open arms and we feel that PMA has a rigorous academic environment that is very broad-based. My daughter brings home her textbooks to study and we can actually see what she is learning. She loves her teacher and although my child is shy, she is starting to make many friends and loves learning Spanish. We have found the administration and prinicipal, Sr. Maria Rosa, to be wonderful, caring and very involved positively with the school. She has been nothing but kind and loving to my child and we love that she is learning about all subjects, including religion. I believe that you have to find the right fit for your child and sometimes that means you have to look to a private school, as we did, and we do not regret our decision. We love PMA!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

We LOVE PMA and highly recommend this school for its high standards in academic excellence and for its wonderful sense of community among the children, teachers, parents and staff. Our children have attended PMA for almost 4 years and we know its the best decision we have made for both of them. The teachers all genuinely care for each student and raise them to high standards not only academically but also socially and morally. Sr Maria Rosa is our wonderful principal who has done so much for our students. Her main priority is for the well being of each student. She strives to make sure the school is always progressing forward in all aspects and has raised funds to install Smartboards in each classroom, build a new playground and added a top notch athletic field to help grow our athletic program. Above all we LOVE the community at PMA. Parent involvement is often encouraged and we've gotten to know many wonderful families whom we know call friends through volunteering and participating in the many school events. If you want a school that expects the best from your child but also offers the best then PMA is for you!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

Our family chose PMA as our school nearly 10 years ago and we are still going strong there with 3 children. It's not financially easy for us to have 3 tuitions to budget for, but I know without a doubt that we have made the right decision to give our children the gift of education at PMA. They are excited to tell me about their days when I pick them up from school. They are earning excellent grades and are eager to learn thanks to the wonderful and well-qualified teachers. They are happy, safe and well-cared for during their school day. Most importantly, the focus on faith as the center and purpose of everything they do has helped nurture my kids into spiritually and socially responsible individuals. Sr Maria has boundless energy -she does indeed care about the students. She has sat down with each one of my children at report card time to review their grades and to give them feedback and encouragement. As our oldest prepares for graduation this year, we look back on the years and ask ourselves, "was it worth it?" And our answer is always, "yes, definitely!" I could say much more, but in short, PMA is a great school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

I just read the negative reviews on PMA on this website and I feel like they are talking about a different school. I currently have two children at PMA and one that graduated last year. My oldest son is thriving in a very competitive high school and carrying honors level classes. He was very well prepared. I feel that the academic rigors and strong Christian based education have made him the well rounded person he is today. He readily admits that the background he received at PMA made the transition to high school easy. When people ask me about PMA I always say that it has worked for each of my children in different ways. Sister Maria has always been there for us with sound advice, forward thinking direction and much needed hugs. No school is perfect, however, there are so many positives at PMA they completely outweigh the negatives. If you are considering a private school I recommend you visit the school and feel the excitement and joy that I feel every time I walk through the halls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

We LOVE PMA. We transferred to PMA from another Catholic School after a very bad experience. My children were welcomed with open arms, and both have blossomed at the school. Sister Maria is a wonderful principal who cares about each student. I find the teachers to be involved, engaged and keep us well-informed. I don't regret for a second our decision to move my children to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

We love PMA! It was an easy decision to send our children there after touring the school and meeting Sr. Maria and the staff. The quality of the education and the passion of the faculty and sister Maria to nurture and develop the students is amazing and inspiring. We look forward to many years of being part of the PMA family/community!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

I have had 3 children attend PMA over the last few years and it was the best decision I could have made. The education that my children have received has been top notch. The language and specialist classes offered by the school included in the tuition has been beneficial to all 3 children. My 4 year old is coming home each week and teaching us all her new spanish words and songs that she has learned in Pre K. It is amazing how the staff and other PMA families have treated us. It is wonderful to see how these kids all get along so well in and out of class. I would recommend PMA to anyone who is looking for a great school that strives to provide educational excellence!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

My son transferred to PMA a couple of years ago and it has been great. Yes it is expensive but you know you are getting a great school. My son had problems in the public schools and because the school denied the problems he ended up missing 40 days of school in one year. Since he has been in PMA he has only missed school when he has been extremely sick, which is under 10 days. He gets up and wants to go to school be he loves the school. I have the best mornings now because I know that he is in a great school and with great people. We both have felt welcomed by eveyone. It is a catholic school so yes there is a religion class and they do go to church but there is a big focus on the rest of the academics as well. They focus on everything so the children have a well rounded education. My son loves learning spanish too. Sr. Maria is involved with the children, she is at most events and she knows what is going on at all times. Sr. Maria and the rest of the staff are all wonderfull and they make you feel very welcomed. It was the first school I looked at and the only school I looked at for my son because I had know kids that had gone there when I was younger. I also am a proud parent!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 72% 89%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 17% 3%
Hispanic 6% 4%
Black 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Assistant principal(s)
Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
ELL/ESL Coordinator
Gifted specialist(s)
Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Math specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
Reading specialist(s)
Security personnel
Special education coordinator
Teacher aid/assistant teacher
Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff French
Spanish
Portuguese
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • Special education coordinator

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Mathematics
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Foreign languages
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Staff resources available to students
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: French

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
  • Swimming pool
Clubs
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Honors track
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
Staff resources available to students
  • Gifted specialist(s)
Clubs
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 7:45 am
School end time
  • 2:30 am
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 6:30 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Sister Maria Rosa, pm
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (603) 595-9504

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Direct instruction
  • Honors track
  • Standards-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Foreign languages
  • Mathematics
  • Religious
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students
Foreign languages taught
  • French
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • Basic - the school offers or partners to provide services based on the needs of individual students

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Assistant principal(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • ELL/ESL Coordinator
  • Gifted specialist(s)
  • Instructional aide(s)/coach(es)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Math specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Priest, pastor, or other religious personnel
  • Reading specialist(s)
  • Security personnel
  • Special education coordinator
  • Teacher aid/assistant teacher
  • Tutor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • French
  • Portuguese
  • Spanish
Extra learning resources offered
  • Acceleration
  • Remediation
  • Title One
  • Tutoring
Transportation options
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Learning lab
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
  • Swimming pool
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Lacrosse
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Track
  • Volleyball
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Field hockey
  • Flag football
  • Golf
  • Judo / Other Martial Arts
  • Lacrosse
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Track
  • Volleyball

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Design
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Theory
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Community service
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Foreign language club: French
  • Girl scouts
  • Homework help/study buddy club
  • Martial arts (judo, tae kwon do, karate, etc)
  • National Honor Society
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Presentation of Mary Academy has been a pillar of Academic Excellence in the greater Nashua area for almost 100 years. It is presently the largest private Catholic elementary school in the Diocese of Manchester, NH. The commitment to Academic Excellence and the Spirtual development of each child remain its strongest characteristics. The school continues to improve its technology programs each year, as well as its sports programs with the addition of an artificial surf field on its 75 acres.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


5 out of 10students were accepted for the 2012-2013 school year.


Students accepted for the 2012-2013 school year
50
Applications received for the 2012-2013 school year
102
Students typically come from these schools
Area Pre-schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$4000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
Yes
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Bishop Guertin High School
Derryfield High School
Trinity High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

182 Lowell Rd
Hudson, NH 03051
Website: Click here
Phone: (603) 889-6054

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT