Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Jaffrey-Rindge Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 347 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 5, 2014

I feel that all the schools in the Jaffrey Rindge Cooperative School district fail to support children with learning & attention issues. They refuse to recognize/diagnose issues to avoid paying for support. I have a daughter with dyslexia and I had to take her out of the school system to get the diagnosis because they school continued to say she didn't have it. All 4 of my children are homeschooled now and are getting the best education that fits their learning styles!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 16, 2013

Over the years I have been in the middle school I was an honors student in 6th grade than an average grade student in 7th and now in 8th grade I'm currently failing. It may be my A.D.H.D. But the school didn't really give me any special chances for any assignments which makes me really frustrated and I wish that the school could just go a little easier on the kids with A.D.H.D. Or A.D.D.


Posted January 2, 2013

Most of the teachers are nice, the gifted program could be better, but the principal is awesome, the food is great, and staff willing to help. They need to put more emphasis on bullying prevention, but other than that a great school!


Posted October 5, 2012

My daughters love JRMS and have enjoyed developing into a more independent school life from grade school to middle school, as well as embracing the social skills it takes to develop new friendships with the kids from Rindge. Watching them evolve into young women who are beginning to really contemplate their future careers and dreams has been wonderful, so I thank both JGS and JRMS staff and educators for their roles. This year is especially difficult for us, as my mother is terminally ill and I am unfortunately in NC for an unexpected and extended absence. The teachers and staff have been my lifeline to remain involved in the girls' academics and stability during this difficult time, as well as to their dad and his fiance for their constant understanding and support. Can't say enough how grateful I am to all involved. Regards, Dea Banish
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 3, 2011

We came to Jaffrey from out of state and were concerned how our daughter would fit in and how well she would do in her academics. We were very pleasantly surprised to find that JRMS, its staff and administration were totally supportive. Our daughter loves it here and has truly bloomed under the firm guidance of the JRMS faculty. Although she is shy, she has become an "A" student, and never ceases to amaze us at what she has learned. She will be entering a Private High School this fall and was required to take the SSAT's. Once again we were pleasantly surprised to see that she scored in the 98th percentile nationwide. We attribute that not only to her hard work, but also to the terrific instruction and support she has received at JRMS. Our sincere gratitude to all concerned.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 15, 2010

The new Principal is so much better!! He actually knows who each kid is and seems to be able to really relate to the children. I still don't think that these kids are ready for High School when they graduate and should be a little more prepared.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2010

This is a great school I LOVE IT HERE!!!!!! The teachers make you feel welcomed. They are kind and nice and they take the time to have you understand something untill you completely understand it. Jaffrey Rindge Middle school has alot of activities too. They have great lunches too. Jaffrey Rindge Middle School IS A AWESOME SCHOOL I LOVE IT HERE!!!!!!!!!!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 17, 2009

The theatre program rocks! And there are lots of good people working in the school! And tons of great kids!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 5, 2009

Its an ok school. Most of the teachers r excelent teachers (especialy in the 6th and 7th grade). JRMS deffinetly puts a lot of work into getting students involved, although i must agree with saying that sports gets to much enphasis and kids seem to be quite inferior to other groups. The classes are pretty good and teachers work VERY hard in to trying to make them enjoyable. Homework can deffinetly be a problem here IMO because some pods give there students a lot of homework.It can be hard to handel.but JRMS is good about moving kids around if they're unhappy.lbnl JRMS has been thru tons of building and yet the art class isin a crowded modular. JRMS needs to put more focas in ua's this year because the happiness factor in ua is rediculusly low.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 12, 2008

For the most part, the teachers work hard to provide a quality education. They don't always have the resources they need, especially with regards to technology, but they build great relationships with their kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 8, 2008

Awful.The teachers don't always know what they are talking about, the building is falling apart, and there are almost no Gifted and Talented programs in place. The school also places to much emphasis on sports.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

121 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

121 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
71%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

128 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
70%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
71%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
67%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
74%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
69%

2009

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 67% in 2012.

110 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
50%

2009

 
 
32%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female76%
Male81%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Title I program (current)80%
With educational disability13%
Without educational disability88%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Non-migrant80%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female87%
Male79%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Title I program (current)81%
With educational disability20%
Without educational disability90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Non-migrant81%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students73%
Female79%
Male67%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged73%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability29%
Without educational disability80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Non-migrant73%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students73%
Female87%
Male61%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged71%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability29%
Without educational disability80%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Non-migrant73%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female68%
Male56%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)62%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged65%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability37%
Without educational disability66%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English61%
Non-migrant61%

Reading

All Students74%
Female90%
Male62%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Non-economically disadvantaged81%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability37%
Without educational disability83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Non-migrant74%

Writing

All Students50%
Female71%
Male33%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)52%
Economically disadvantaged32%
Non-economically disadvantaged58%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability21%
Without educational disability56%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English50%
Non-migrant50%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 95% 90%
Two or more races 2% 1%
Asian 1% 3%
Black 1% 2%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A25%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Conant Way
Jaffrey, NH 03452
Phone: (603) 532-8122

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Patrick School
Jaffrey, NH




Trinity Christian Academy
Peterborough, NH




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT