Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Sanborn Regional High School

Public | 9-12 | 725 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 6, 2014

The school has made wonderful improvements. Kids are interested in learning because the teachers care. There are several elective choices which gives students a broad education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 10, 2013

This school is horrifying. First off, lets talk about the physical school. The buildings air conditioning has been 'broken' for three years now. There is also no heat in the winter time, which is also apparently 'broken.' When students and parents complained, there was assurance that it would be fixed. Three years later, it still isn't. The building is fairly new, so there are no other major problems other than the temperature. (which by the way, makes for an extremely uncomfortable learning environment.) Next, we can talk about the schedules. They are extremely untimely and in no way beneficial to anyone's learning standards. They constantly change which causes much frustration among students. Now lets talk about the staff. The teachers aren't too bad (Except for a special few) but even if you had a problem with them, nothing will be done about it! The guidance department is most of the time unwilling to help with educational related things or make schedule change. Sanborn overall is not a prime choice to send your child to unless you would like them to be extremely uncomfortable & have their needs ignored.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 10, 2013

tbe below rating is for a different school, my mistake and I don't know how to remove it. I know nothing about this town or school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2011

Usually when I thought about Public Highschools, not a lot a great things came to mind. But now as a Freshmen, Sanborn has showed me that not all of them are bad. Sanborn has a great and friendly vibe as well as pride. Even the teachers are very kind and still teach us well. I find myself loving school more each day I go.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 1, 2010

CAN NOT BELIEVE A 30 MILLION DOLLAR HIGH SCHOOL WITH NO AIR CONDITIONING ! 3 STOOGES HAD THEIR HANDS IN BUILDING THIS SCHOOL
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 23, 2006

I am a junior at the high shcool and love being there. Yes the buildings are top notch but hey we are getting a brand new 30 million dollar school! I couldnt ask more. The teachers are great all educated and the students adn staff are great and spirited and have sanborn pride. The sports at our school are wonderful to with a soccer team that has one 3 out of the 4 state championships. There is nothing wrong with our school other than the fact of the buildings but that will all change next school year and you will all be wondering why your kids dont go there.... `R.K.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 7, 2005

'Sanborn has provided a learning environment for many kids to achieve in. while the facilities are not the best the campus setting provides students to get out and stretch their legs between classes instead of staying in cramped hallways like in many schools. the teachers at Sanborn are all top notch and provide all students with the opportunity to become the best there is. Sanborn will begin to make a very big name for itself in the coming years and it is great to see how all the students achieve so much. Sanborn is ready and with a new school on the way it is likely to become one of the best schools in the state. Town officals and residents need to be more open to the fact that Sanborn Students are some of the best and will continue to be there with just a little support.'
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 2, 2004

This school is really what you make of it - like most schools. The facilities, while not top notch, are still superior to many schools and still provide a suitable academic environment. I graduated from Sanborn 7 years ago, attended an excellent university and have been able to persue all of my goals. Th school and the teachers provided me with a strong educational background which allowed me to excel. The building of the new school in the coming months will further propel this school into becoming a well-known, outstanding academic institution. It takes more than a school, however, for a student to excel. And parents that are forever critical of the school should also look at themselves. The vast majority of my classmates are doing very well for themselves and the school played a part in all of our success.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 2, 2004

This school offers a number of AP classes for its students. Though current facilities are becoming insufficient, a new high school has been voted on and approved. Most importantly, students get a good education here, if they want it.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2004

I also pulled my children from this school. I think the teachers are dedicated. I think the parents are concerned. I think the inability of the town to manage itself by balancing a tax base is the culprit. The schools and children suffer because of the lack of funding. Elected offcials seem to be protecting thier own in-town businesses or property by being anti-new business development. It's sad. This town needs a professional manager.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2003

since the parents do not want to fund a new high school the state of NH is considering closing the high school. 70 teachers have left in the last 3 years. that should tell us all that there is a problem somewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2014.

173 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
29%

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
31%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

173 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
79%

2013

 
 
77%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
82%
Science

The state average for Science was 33% in 2012.

169 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
34%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 54% in 2014.

173 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
36%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
61%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students33%
Female35%
Male31%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)34%
Economically disadvantaged17%
Not economically disadvantaged35%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability6%
Without educational disability39%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English33%
Not migrant33%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female86%
Male72%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Not economically disadvantaged82%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability31%
Without educational disability90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Not migrant79%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students53%
Female63%
Male40%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)53%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged55%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability13%
Without educational disability62%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English53%
Not migrant53%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 98% 89%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 14%N/A26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17 Danville Rd
Kingston, NH 03848
Phone: (603) 642-3341

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT