Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Goshen-Lempster Cooperative School

Public | K-8 | 159 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted today

Fantastic school with great staff! My sons graduated from this school and now have both graduated from college. This little school really did help prepare them to be good citizens and responsible life time learners.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 8, 2013

We moved here from a larger city where 1/2 day kindergarden was all that was avalabile. With in weeks of starting here my child was reading and I believe that if we had stay in the town we came from this would not of happened. I also like that as a partent I have an open dilogde with my childs teachers. I can email or call them with any questions I have about the class work or my childs behavior and I hear back from the teachers ASAP. The teachers here really take the time to get to know the familys of their students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2011

We moved here about 6 years ago and I would do it again in a heartbeat. The new principal is providing the leadership this school has been sorely lacking in for quite some time. In addition to Mr. Peterson's enthusiasm and integrity, he also brings a standard of decorum not seen in the school building for years. One third grade teacher in particular turned my daughter around and made learning a valuable tool for her. The teachers are fabulous. If only the parents would become more involved in a positive manner we could see substantial progress in our school climate. My older daughter graduated from GL two years ago and is in the top 10% of her class in high school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 19, 2010

This school is improving by leaps and bounds. The new Superintendent that came on board last year and the new Principal have made a huge difference. We are into our 4th year at this school and honestly have nothing negative to say about it. The teachers are outstanding and they put heart and soul into their work, all at a rate of pay much lower than other schools. Usually people writing reviews are t the ones that have something negative to say. Thank you Goshen-Lempster staff. Keep up the good work!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2009

I was already to write a 3 star review of this school, saying unfortunately it is horribly underfunded. With more money maybe they could afford better materials... Then I read the money spent per student section of this site. They are getting what the best schools in the area are per student!!! The school is falling apart, materials and extra curricular activities are non existent, and the over all attitude seems to be, we just don't have the funding to do a good job. State average per student spending is 11,000, Goshen Lempster gets 13,000! In their defense, it is a low income area, so the teachers have more to deal with than more affluent areas, and some of the teachers are great. But over all, the curriculum is sub-par, and the school just doesn't do it... we're moving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

We moved to NH from NY 10 yrs ago. I thought that a smaller school would give more attention to the children. I was sadly surprised by the lack of intrest the teachers had in the students, execpt for a very few. My 4 children went through this school and if I had to do it again I would not buy a home in this district. There was not much in the way of stimulation for the kids. They were all pretty bored and were not challanged. They also seem to be more interested in suspending the child instead of dealing with what ever issue came up. This includes 1st graders on up. They leave all discipline to the parents who are not there by suspending the child for minor infraction. We had many conversations with the pricipal and teachers. These just left us fustrated. Do not send your kids here.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2008

After finally settling down after seperating from the military I can honestly say that this is the worst school my kids have ever been in. The teachers take no disciplinary actions aqainst the children at the school and they run amock. Like one parent said - it is a struggle just to get my kids to go to school everyday. Atleast I know that Lempster is not the only one as the small town schools in the surrounding area are the same. We have had more discussions with the principal and teachers at this school then we have ever had with all 4 of our children combined before we moved to Lempster. If I had known what I was putting my kids in ti I would NOT have bought a house and moved to this town.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 23, 2007

This school this year is 200% better than it was the last few years. The principal has done great things with the students in the beginning. but towards the end of the year he was starting to act like the old principal. there is one teacher and one aid that should not be there for the way they have been treating the students. I love the new gym teacher he is great with the children and listens to them and treats them all with respect. the new 8th grade teacher is great also. very kind and has taught some kids better than the last one. keep up the good work and do something about that teacher and aid. you know who they are.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 10, 2007

School is absolutely fantastic. Everything anyone could ever want in a small town school. The teachers really take time to care foe each student and go out of their way to get them the assistance they need
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 1, 2007

This school has been a big disappointment. As my daughter graduates from 8th grade this year she is looking forward to next year as a freshman in a new school with new teachers. It has been a daily struggle just to get her to want to go to school. The teachers over the years have seemed to lose interest in encouragement for the students that need it the most! Besides gym class a couple times a week, I think the only sport the school offers is a co-ed multi-aged field hockey team. The school doesn't seem to support this, it has been run by a volunteer for as long as I can remember. They seem to have no desire to get sports of any type moving and every time someone asks for something, they simply don't want to put out money or ask for any, nor ask for volunteers.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

23 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
100%

2009

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2012.

23 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
80%

2009

 
 
100%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

17 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2012.

17 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
52%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

16 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
55%

2009

 
 
24%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

16 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
79%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
41%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2012.

16 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
31%

2009

 
 
24%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

18 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
29%

2009

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

18 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
72%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
29%

2009

 
 
52%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2012.

16 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
33%

2010

 
 
56%

2009

 
 
33%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

16 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
50%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
53%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2012.

17 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
48%

2010

 
 
55%

2009

 
 
27%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2012.

17 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
74%

2010

 
 
55%

2009

 
 
40%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 67% in 2012.

17 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
47%

2009

 
 
13%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students87%
Female84%
Male91%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (non-Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged84%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Non-migrant87%

Reading

All Students87%
Female91%
Male82%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (non-Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged100%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Non-migrant87%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students83%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Non-migrant83%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a

Reading

All Students77%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Non-migrant77%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students75%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Non-migrant75%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students75%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability73%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Non-migrant75%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students31%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)31%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged40%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability33%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English31%
Non-migrant31%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female67%
Malen/a
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability66%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English66%
Non-migrant66%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students72%
Female83%
Malen/a
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%
Non-migrant72%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)69%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability71%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English69%
Non-migrant69%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students50%
Femalen/a
Malen/a
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability50%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English50%
Non-migrant50%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female58%
Malen/a
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)65%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English65%
Non-migrant65%

Reading

All Students77%
Female84%
Malen/a
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability87%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Non-migrant77%

Writing

All Students47%
Female58%
Malen/a
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)47%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability54%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English47%
Non-migrant47%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 99% 90%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Asian 0% 3%
Black 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Hispanic 0% 4%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A25%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

29 School Rd
Lempster, NH 03605
Phone: (603) 863-1080

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT