Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
14 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 15 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Griffin Memorial School 5

Posted September 13, 2012
- a parent
I have one child at GMS and one now in the middle school. Could not be happier with the school, teachers, education and staff. Testing scores are among the highest in the state and the staff/teachers are committed to providing a quality education. Fantastic school!

Griffin Memorial School
no rating

Posted March 17, 2010
- a parent
This is an update to some of the older submissions (2006 and 2007) which are somewhat out of date. The district has come a long way and we have a great superintendent. The elementary school building is old but they have gradually been bringing it up to current code and updating as far as they are able to. It does have space issues but they have moved grade 5 to the middle school which has helped. Also enrolment is predicted to go down in future years (and has already started). It was reported recently that the middle and elementary schools are some of the best in the state academically. The high school has been instituting programs with surrounding communities and districts aimed at improving chances of less academic students to obtain their diplomas. This means improved career/ further education opportunities for these students.


Griffin Memorial School 4

Posted October 05, 2009
- a parent
I believe that the staff do a fantastic job overall due to not just knowledge but genuine caring for the kids and the community. I also believe that, despite the nay sayers, we need a new school unless we intend to 1. Put far more $ than its worth into repair and maintainance in the old school or 2. continue on the current path until the not too distant future finds ALL of our elementary students being schooled out of portables because we refuse to put the $ needed into repair and maintainance into the old building instead of into building we can be proud of.

Griffin Memorial School 5

Posted October 03, 2009
- a parent
griffin memorial school is the bomb!! the teachers are great!!! the kids are great!!!! we rock!!!

Griffin Memorial School 5

Posted March 03, 2009
- a parent
I have 2 boys: my older boy went 4 years to GMS and I loved everyone of his teachers, The Special Ed there is the verey best. they are saints! The teaches and staff get it right. The building is not maintained as it should be...but I think that they are making it look shabby so they can get the voters to build a new one!


Griffin Memorial School 5

Posted November 25, 2008
- a parent
GMS is a wonderful small to middle sized suburban grammar school. The teaching staff is very good and they are strong on literacy and reading while currently improving math curriculum. The extras are wonderful: chorus, organized kickball and chess at recess, etc. The supporting staff is excellent (school nurse, guidance counselor, and special ed staff). Any problems the school is encountering lies more with the community...parents blaming the teachers and system, residents not voting in a new school building, and the community at large not wanting to grow our municipal groups (ie., moving beyond volunteer fire personnel, getting our own EMT and ambulance, expanding our police personnel, etc) with tax dollars. It's also a community with many 55+ communities, which families relocating should consider.

Griffin Memorial School 5

Posted March 18, 2008
- a parent
School building is in good shape. It has the same problems as any older house has, but nothing that can't be corrected. There are no safety issues. It does need a professional organizer to show the staff how to organize their clutter. They would find much more space. Teachers are great and the nurse is an angel.

Griffin Memorial School 4

Posted February 06, 2008
- a parent
I love Griffin Memorial School my pre-schooler attends Griffin and the teachers are absolutely wonderful with him. We love Mrs. Samantha, Mrs. Katie, and Mrs. Donna in Pre-K. Thank you so much for the Tender loving care you give these toddlers.


Griffin Memorial School 3

Posted June 07, 2007
- a parent
I find the Teachers & Staff are wonderful, also the school Nurse. The Principal is so very nice, But he doesn't like to deal with any 'confrontation' such as all the bullying that goes on at the school. Academicly the teachers are doing their job well. The school lacks the space & tool's they need, such as 'Computer's' and a 'Safe Building'. I am not comfortable sending my child to an unsafe place on a daily basis. I now feel as if the State of NH need to take over the building of a new and safe school.

Griffin Memorial School 3

Posted May 30, 2006
- a parent
The staff & teachers are nice. Most are friendly. Some concerns about the strict standards in the music department, making it hard for a child with ADHD to enjoy the benifits of music when you are told staright out that they expect nothing less than perfect behavior. Anyone with experience with a child with ADHD, knows that perfect is not going to happen alot of the time. The building is very old & the air quality is concerning.

Nearby schools

Griffin Memorial School
229 Chs Bancroft Hwy, Litchfield, NH  03052
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 15 reviews. (603) 424-0078
Last modified Griffin Memorial School is a Public school that serves grades PK-4. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 5 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top