Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Campbell High School

Public | 9-12

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted December 19, 2013

This school takes money charges the students for the most ridiculous things like parking at the school, Also the school lunches are the worst food they have ever eat in there life, its rotten under cooked and u get hair in it. The superintendent of the school will only give a delay or call off school due from inclement weather conditions if alvirne highschool is to do it when our town is so much smaller and has less plows so the streets are too dangerous to drive on Students have had car accidents for this reason. The faculty is the worse such as an example of a teacher thinking another one is a smoker just cause he coughs n tells him to stop smoking.


Posted June 1, 2013

Friendly, great, fun, exciting, good, small, neat, and just a great place to be overall
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 1, 2013

Although this small school seems nice at a quick glance, if you look at the Budget the results are less than satisfactory. The teachers are on strike, classes like " creative Cooking " don't have money and are largely funded by donations. Classes are being cut and students like me are suffering. Classes have to be taught in the hallways because some rooms have extreme temperatures higher than the rest of this school. some rooms you have to put a jacket on in and some are 115. For such a wealthy town shouldn't there be a nice school?
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 12, 2012

i am a freshman at campbell and my two older sisters both graduated here-one sister was in its first graduating class and the other was in the class of '07.Now here i am class of 2015 and i have seen this small school grow over the years.it is the most amazing school,we have some of the best sports in our division,friendly and interactive teachers,organized rules and activities,and so much more than you could ever ask for.the quality of the education you can get campbell is top notch,and the environment is great!its a perfect size of about 150 kids per class and about 550 in the whole school-seriously,EVERYONE is friends with eachother!its really great,i am moving soon and i am so sad to be leaving it,and as i am on the search for a new highschool myself to the area where i am moving-i must say,no highschool compares to campbell!its perfect.
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 5, 2012

Campbell is one of the greatest schools I have ever attended. NO THE BEST! I am at Pinkerton "Academy" Now and I can honestly say that Campbell beats it hands down. The school is small and focused. Students have well deserved freedom in choosing which courses they would like to take to fufill the requirements. It is a great way for students to connect and learn about their interests in each subject. Campbell is close-knit and provides the enviroment for students to have more stable relationships with their friends and teachers. Drama is minimal, bullying is extremely rare, and if present is quickly eliminated through the standing relationships of friends and connections to one another. It says in other reviews that students are held back from little credit shortages, but this is not true they are kept in the lower grades advisory, but this is just like little families to discuss and work on any issues present. If a student needs extra help or is dislexic there is a place they can go any time of the school day and even after school to work in the program needed. Students are trusted more and may go to the library during lunch or work in the computer lab. Campbell Rocks!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 31, 2010

@Previous parent. "If your going to keep the child back in a grade make it known in there report cards just like the old day of school." Get involved with your child's education, that way you will know what is going on in the school without the administration holding your hand. The teachers at this school are fantastic. If the parents put in half the effort the teachers did, this school could really be something special.


Posted June 14, 2010

Not happy at all with this school 250 children only 120 have graduated from schoool.. that is very sad. And they claim to be the lowest in drop out ya right.. Some kids where told that they really don't like to be in school so why don't you just drop out and get your Ged..(quote from your Asst. principal) Also a chid is left behind if they don't have enough credits to get to the next grade level. If your going to keep the child back in a grade make it known in there report cards just like the old day of school. I think they shoulc just make this school into a one room school house like back in the old days.This way parents won't be upset to see that there child is not in the senior spot in the year book.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

Love this school and community. My three children have succeeded with hard work, caring teachers and involved parents.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2009

Maybe the reason discipline targets students that are not involved in school activities is because those are the students who have nothing to do and are the ones causing trouble. I'm also a senior here and we have great teachers, sports and activities. Your student will only get out what they put in, so stop blaming the school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 27, 2009

Parents, somethings do need to be improved but it is what your child puts into it. Our extracurriculars are great and sports are too. It is truly whether or not your child wants to go to school or not in the first place. I'm a senior here and I see no problems with teachers at this school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 17, 2008

Students with minimal to moderate learning needs often go unchecked. Evidence of students failing a grade level and still being promoted to next grade level. discipline is often inconsistent targeting students who are lesser known or not involved in school activities. Communication with admistration is difficult and inefficient, with the parent often left hanging in regards to progress or next steps,calls frequently left unanswered.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2006

Academic program is improving. Outstanding extracurricular programs, including drama and sports.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 5, 2004

Teachers here really care about their students. They always go the extra mile to help each student to acheive.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2014.

115 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
48%

2013

 
 
34%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
39%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
89%

2013

 
 
85%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
76%
Science

The state average for Science was 33% in 2012.

123 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
46%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 54% in 2014.

114 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
62%

2013

 
 
45%

2012

 
 
39%

2011

 
 
40%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students48%
Female53%
Male44%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)47%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged49%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability50%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English48%
Not migrant48%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students89%
Female96%
Male84%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)90%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged91%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Not migrant89%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students62%
Female67%
Male58%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)61%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Not economically disadvantaged64%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability63%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English62%
Not migrant62%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 89%
Hispanic 2% 4%
Two or more races 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Highlander Ct.
Litchfield, NH 03052
Phone: (603) 546-0300

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Merrimack High School
Merrimack, NH


Brentwood School
Merrimack, NH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT