Advertisement
Advertisement

Holy Family Academy

Private | 7-12 | 71 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Manchester

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $174,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,045.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 6 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 24, 2011

HFA is a lousy school---both academically and socially and would control how you live your Catholic faith if they could.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

Holy Family Academy provided our son with an excellent classical education in the Catholic tradition! His teachers were wonderful witnesses of the Catholic faith and amazing teachers as well! His high school education at HFA served him well in college and in his military service. We are very grateful to Holy Family Academy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2011

Excellent, unique, challenging, and authentically catholic, are only a few of the words I can use to describe Holy Family Academy. This year was bittersweet because it was our sons final year at the academy. He began in the 7th grade and just recently graduated. Being somewhat of a shy boy, the Socratic method of teaching has helped in building his self-esteem and confidence. His writing skills are top notch, and he is capable of carrying on an intelligent conversation, as well as to think on his feet. Another plus was that we never had to worry about what he was being taught (or not taught) about the catholic faith. The theology doesn t get any better than what he was taught here. In fact he has taught us a thing or two. The staff, administrators, and parents all have a common love of their catholic faith. We have always felt as parents that it is our job to help get our children to heaven, and Holy Family Academy has definitely been a gift from God to help us along the way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 14, 2011

Our daughter had a wonderful experience at HFA. Great education, strong Catholic identity, nice student friends, etc. Her professors in college were amazed at her writing ability as well as the scope of the books that she read during her years there. Really prepared her for life.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2011

As a parent of two students who graduated from this excellent school, I am very grateful for the wonderful education and formation that my children received! They were very well prepared for college and for life. The teachers are extremely dedicated and excellent role models for the students. My daughter often said that Holy Family Academy was like a "second family" to her. Thank you for all that my children received and the support that I was given as a parent in my efforts to raise and educate my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 13, 2011

Having my two youngest graduate from here, I am nothing but pleased. The school supported me and I them. Their education was excellent. Most importantly they learned tons about their Catholic faith and were reinforced in their faith. The teachers and administration cared deeply and were readily available to discuss any issue.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 22, 2010

School hierarchy exhibits a holier than thou attitude and is not interested in hearing criticism or opposing views. They prefer parents shut up and pay their tuition. High teacher turnover. School is very weak in Science and Math. Not a school I would waste time and money on. Here is a link to the website for the website where you'll find the most recent list of the top 50 Catholic Schools, according to the Acton Institute: http://www.chshonor.org/roll/index.php?year=2008 . You won't find Holy Family Academy on that list. The only time Holy Family Academy made the top 50 list was in 2006. In that year 1300 schools were invited to participate in the survey to rank their school, but only 300 schools responded to the survey.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

We love Holy Family Academy. We've been blessed with such wonderful teachers and families that make this school what it is today. This school has earned top 50 out of 1300 Catholic schools in the country. We are so thankful to have such a great school for our children. God Bless!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 92%
Asian 3% 2%
Hispanic 1% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Black 0% 2%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Special education / special needs

Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Specialized programs for specific types of special education students
  • Specific learning disabilities

Resources

Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Manchester
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

49 Ashland St
Manchester, NH 03104
Phone: (603) 664-7247

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hillside Middle School
Manchester, NH


St. Casimir School
Manchester, NH






ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT