Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Beech Street School

Public | K-5 | 607 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

18 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 13, 2010

GReat school..... everyone works hard and they hold kids accountable.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

This school is the most welcoming school is state. I have had to move alot and my kids have had to go to alot of schools... they are doing very well here.. Principal knows all the kids names and checks in on them on a regular basis. Counselor helped my kids adjust to this school and help out with some personal problems we all were having. Very helpful school... they are only rate low because of one test... that is not fair
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 7, 2010

not fair to give one because of one test... Everyone tries.. Principal helps kids .. teacher work really hard counselor helps kids with problems
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2009

This school offers more programs and provides more opportunities to all the children that go there. They start with morning programs and kids can go early to have a story read to them. This is important since some don't even have books at home.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 9, 2009

Great school in poor neighborhood. Should be one of the model schools in the country. Princple is involve and their all the time. The kids love her and this year she started a principle book of the month and reads it to all the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2009

Alot of the kids don't speak English but they work hard at teaching them. The teachers and the principal help all kids no matter what.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 13, 2009

School is very good,teacher,secretary and principal very,very helpful. My children love school and I want my children to stay at Beech Street School to get a very good education
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

Beech street school has a wonderful principal who loves all the children and makes them work real hard. The teachers are wonderful and helpful.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

Beech Street School makes every child feel important and like they count. The Principal makes all the kids feel special and smart and she tells she expects them all to graduate from high school even kids who don't even speak English. She tells them she wants them to go to college
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2009

Teachers go above and beyond. They give kids hats, mittens, coats and clothes when they need them. They teach them and make the kids work real hard. The math this year I couldn't do but my kid knew it and explained it to me
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 1, 2009

If you have not gone to this school you might not like it. Once your kids go you see how great it is... even though it is located in poor section it gives a great education to all
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2006

This year every class is using Responsive Classroom and teaching children to be respectful of others. It is located in a poor area but the Principal, teachers and support staff care alot of the children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2006

My children are doing very well at Beech Street School. They love their teachers and the teachers work very well with them. I do not like they have classrooms outside and the children have to walk back and forth into the school. Everyone cares about the school and the principal is very welcoming.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2006

My children love this school and they get a good education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 21, 2006

Neighboorhood school, very welcoming, great teachers and principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2005

I'm a mother of two children who attended this school. The youngest was removed from school due to safety concerns. The principal has little to no understanding of these children, and more often then not refuses to work with parents. The teachers (for the most part) are dedicated and caring. It was a sad day for the school when the previous principal retired. loss of the kindergarden graduation was very upsetting (but has not been the only program eliminated since the current principal began)rules and discipline are important, but the principal needs to remember these are young children, many who come from poor and/or broken homes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

I am the mother of four children who have attended or are attending this school. I feel our children are not getting the education they deserve from the teachers or staff for many reasons. First, the classes are over crowded. We now have two portables and are expecting more. Second, the neighborhood surrounding the school is one of low income and I feel that is looked down upon by most of the staff and teachers. A lot of parents in the area have given up and the teachers don't seem to care that not only have the parents given up, but the children have to sensing no one really cares. There have a handful of teachers that do seem to care and like what they have chosen to do, but not enough to make me feel comfortable in the fact that I don't have many options as to where I live right now and where they go to school. If I did, it wouldn't be here, and it wouldn't be that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 16, 2003

Overall I love the school. As far as parent involvement there isn't much there are just a handfull of mom's who help out as volunteers. The principle is ok but needs improvement. There is no Kindergarten graduation or 5th grade graduations. The principle feels that there shouldn't be because she doesn't want the kids to feel that it's the end. Which is ok but Kindergarten wouldn't have known that. I would have like to see them do a graduation for our children in the kindergarten class. They deserve it.


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

97 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
32%

2011

 
 
46%

2010

 
 
43%

2009

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2012.

91 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
40%

2010

 
 
49%

2009

 
 
46%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

91 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
37%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
44%

2009

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2012.

85 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
45%

2010

 
 
39%

2009

 
 
51%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

86 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
24%

2011

 
 
30%

2010

 
 
37%

2009

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
36%

2011

 
 
36%

2010

 
 
39%

2009

 
 
37%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2012.

80 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
24%

2009

 
 
31%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students32%
Female28%
Male38%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino34%
White (non-Hispanic)34%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Non-economically disadvantaged31%
Title I program (current)33%
With educational disability17%
Without educational disability36%
English language learners28%
Proficient in English32%
Non-migrant32%

Reading

All Students45%
Female49%
Male41%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)67%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
White (non-Hispanic)51%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I program (current)45%
With educational disability22%
Without educational disability50%
English language learners43%
Proficient in English44%
Non-migrant46%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students37%
Female27%
Male41%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)28%
Asian12%
Hispanic or Latino44%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)48%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Non-economically disadvantaged40%
Title I program (current)33%
With educational disability18%
Without educational disability39%
English language learners21%
Proficient in English47%
Non-migrant37%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a

Reading

All Students43%
Female48%
Male39%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)36%
Asian33%
Hispanic or Latino43%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)46%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I program (current)39%
With educational disability27%
Without educational disability44%
English language learners24%
Proficient in English54%
Non-migrant43%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students24%
Female20%
Male29%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)23%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino10%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)48%
Economically disadvantaged25%
Non-economically disadvantaged23%
Title I program (current)26%
With educational disability15%
Without educational disability26%
English language learners3%
Proficient in English43%
Non-migrant26%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students36%
Female40%
Male32%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)39%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino26%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)52%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I program (current)37%
With educational disability8%
Without educational disability42%
English language learners4%
Proficient in English57%
Non-migrant36%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students24%
Female23%
Male23%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)34%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino7%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)37%
Economically disadvantaged23%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I program (current)24%
With educational disability8%
Without educational disability26%
English language learners14%
Proficient in English32%
Non-migrant25%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
Hispanic 36% 4%
White 30% 90%
Black 20% 2%
Asian 7% 3%
Two or more races 7% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 93%N/A25%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

333 Beech St
Manchester, NH 03103
Phone: (603) 624-6314

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Wilson School
Manchester, NH


St. Casimir School
Manchester, NH


St. Anthony School
Manchester, NH


Bakersville School
Manchester, NH


St. Benedict Academy
Manchester, NH


Hallsville School
Manchester, NH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT