Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Gossler Park School

Public | K-5 | 390 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 19, 2013

My son loved all his teachers he is had in the last 2 years. the teachers letting me know how my son was doing throughout the week during the year. The teachers he had are all friendly and very understanding with my so who has adhd. My child thrived at Gossler park we will so miss the school because we had to move to the other side of town. He also loved the principals Ther crossing guard is also I play and she follows the rules. She is very friendly as will.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2013

I have 3 children that have attended this school. There have been a few good teachers but they dont unually last long. They just push the kids through until they move on to middle school. The bigger problem was that the kids kept coming home with HEAD LICE! Finally I moved just to get the kids out of that school! They've never been happier! They now go to a school where they are happy! They love the teachers, the school and their classmates! I f I ever have to move back, I will do everything I can to make sure my children DO NOT attend that school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 22, 2010

(continued) and he is very smart as well.he just a little hyper..lol his kindergarten teacher(s),he changed teachers in the middle of the year because the first one fell ill, were both wonderful ,caring and loving. they were a big help for his ajustment to school. i dont understand all you other parents, get involved and maybe youll see what these teachers do on a daily basus they really care for our kids,there is no excuse for not be envolved in your childs education,my husband and i both work full time and have 8 kids and trust me the schools know both of us! very well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 3, 2007

Part III Now the teacher is requesting to meet with us Parents. ( Re: see Part I and II )I have no problem with this. I was just wondering anyone had any suggestions or input that might be helpful at the meeting.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 22, 2007

I don't think that Gossler Park School is the best it can be.I have a son you has attended this school for 4 years and I can not honestly say that I am impressed.He has had one wonderful teacher since he has been there.My child has ADHD, and I believe that when it comes to actually helping children who need a little extra,they are not willing to give it their all.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 30, 2007

I have two daughters at Gossler this year one in third and the other in kinder and they are enjoying it so much. Mrs Blackwelder and Mrs Filipowicz are both great. The after school programs are great! And my hats off to Mr Adams! He surely is doing a great job!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 18, 2006

Gossler teachers are excellent and are very dedicated professionals. Parents in this area need to get up off their butt and start teaching their children respect! I have never seen such rude and lazy students in my life! It's pretty sad when my daughter comes home and tells me that only 4-5 kids in her class did their homework. As far as the comment of no extra-curriculum activities-LIE! The 21st Century program is great for keeping kids off the street and teaching them art-based skills! Gossler Park- keep up the great work and parents-start working with the school instead of against it! One word---respect....it starts at home!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 4, 2006

my daughter just attended her last year. she is now going to parkside. she has been going there since kindergarden. the school has helped her soooooo much. the principal,mr adams, and the ptg has all put a big spot in her heart. violin,pepsquad,and just helping the school. i myself think that the school has improved sooooooo much it is ecxellent. on the last day my daughter came home crying because she is going to miss the school sooooo much. 'that school is and will be my favorite' she says all the time
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 6, 2006

I really think that the school as a whole does the best ir can with what it is given. My daughter has attended her first 2 years at the school and they have both been positive! She has Mrs Hamilton (who is retiring-best of luck) who was absolutely the best. This year in first grade she is doing wonderful. I do feel that the PTG does the best it can as most of the families are working and unwealthy. Other schools have lots of volunteers andgreat extra-curricular activities but they also are dealing with different families in levels of education and financially. Mr Adams, I feel is doing the best that he can and has cleaned up the school alot since I was young! Keep up the good work and to those of you bashing the school, when was the last time you volunteered?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 3, 2005

Gossler is a poor school and the general population of kids is poor. Some of the teachers are excellent but most of them are tired. My children all attended classes there and were lucky to have the few excellent teachers. Yelling is a common practice among the teachers when dealing with the students. At lunch the kids are treated as though they are in military school where they're not allowed to talk to their neighbor. If I could have switched schools I would have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 8, 2004

My child has ADHD and although his teacher was very accomodating and patient, I felt the other staff they had on hand were downright lazy sometimes. I asked for advice in vain and never felt like I had the whole story as far as my rights and my childs rights. I felt that the absolute minimum was done to help him academically and emotionally at times and when things got done it was because I suggested it and made them implement it. They have no... I'll repeat it... no extracurricular activities for children below third grade and the PTG apparently is strictly for fundraising purposes and don't really accomplish anything. I gave up after just a few months.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2004

I too am highly frustrated with this school. I have lived in Manchester my whole life and am now looking to abandon my roots for higher ground. This school needs a major overhall and has much need for improvement. I understand that most of the teachers give their all and love the students but this town does not give them the means to accomplish their goals. My daughter is severly under challenged and I feel the need to find a home and school more suitable for her. Shortly put, ' Their hearts are in the right place but the money is not.'
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2004

There are so many issues that the school has. Your not allowed enough words to explain the total frustration you encounter when dealing with the PTG and staff. So far the teachers my child has had, one was great the other was horrible. I'm moving just to get my child out of that school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

67 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
55%

2009

 
 
55%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2012.

68 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
51%

2010

 
 
52%

2009

 
 
46%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

50 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
48%

2011

 
 
60%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
50%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2012.

52 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
50%

2010

 
 
53%

2009

 
 
49%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
57%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
60%

2009

 
 
57%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
40%

2009

 
 
38%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female54%
Male54%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
White (non-Hispanic)61%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged58%
Title I program (current)55%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability57%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English54%
Non-migrant53%

Reading

All Students57%
Female56%
Male59%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino69%
White (non-Hispanic)56%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged63%
Title I program (current)57%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability61%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English58%
Non-migrant57%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students48%
Female62%
Male33%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino50%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)48%
Economically disadvantaged46%
Non-economically disadvantaged60%
Title I program (current)48%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability54%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English54%
Non-migrant48%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a

Reading

All Students58%
Female68%
Male46%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)65%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Title I program (current)57%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability65%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English62%
Non-migrant58%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
Female54%
Male50%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)62%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I program (current)51%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability60%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English57%
Non-migrant54%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students51%
Female57%
Male42%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino47%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)52%
Economically disadvantaged47%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I program (current)49%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability60%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English54%
Non-migrant51%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students40%
Female57%
Male17%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino34%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)48%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I program (current)37%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability48%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English45%
Non-migrant42%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 62% 90%
Hispanic 13% 4%
Two or more races 12% 1%
Black 8% 2%
Asian 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 75%N/A25%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

99 Sullivan St
Manchester, NH 03102
Phone: (603) 624-6327

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Benedict Academy
Manchester, NH



Parker-Varney School
Manchester, NH


St. Casimir School
Manchester, NH



Beech Street School
Manchester, NH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT