Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Highland-Goffes Falls School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 2, 2014

My school is awesome!!! I love the way that the teachers really care for the children,and keep the parents up to date on what's going on.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2013

I loved going to this school I attended this school for kindergarten - grade 5. The teachers are nice. The only Thing I hate about this school is even if only a few kids misbehave the whole class gets disiplined durning recess time. Other than that I think this is the best elemantry school in sau 37.


Posted May 18, 2013

This school and its educators leave a lot to be desired. However the PTA and parents are very active if you can fit in w them. Don't expect to be told anything you will always have to find out yourself. If things don't come home or get to school be prepared for your child to be blamed even tho more often then not its the teacher who loses the papers or just never hands them out. They say they do not punish the group when a few students misbehave but that is not the case at all. So if there are problem kids in your childs class who will not listen the class as a whole is usually penalized. But when confronted they always deny that from happening. The class size is far to big and if your child needs or has a 504 plan or IEP believe that it will not be followed nor will your child be provided with whats in it. Alot of the teachers just don't care. Not to mention they hv such high number of students in each class w 10 or more on 504 plans and IEP's in reality how can they teach all of those kids differently then all the others. So its not exactly their fault but regardless of that the school as a whole is very lacking. Manchester school district is not a good school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 17, 2011

We love this school! The principal, assistant principal and PTA are very involved. Teachers are available, and the children are in a very safe place and are encouraged to enjoy the learning process. 2 kids in, we are very happy!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2008

I am very happy as is my child at Highland Goffes Falls. As stated below I don't really like the open air concept of the classrooms. But, somehow they make it work. I enjoy all the family activities they have to offer. If I had to change anything it would be the walls and the lack of playground supplies/equipment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2008

I love this school and it's teachers , as do my 3 boys .
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2008

Mr. Paul is a wonderful principal. He really cares about the children and parents. If I had to say one negative thing about this school it's the open concept. I have a child with difficulty concentrating and I think the openess of the school distracts him. But I really like the education that he is receiving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 10, 2007

Couldn't ask for a better school for my children!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 13, 2006

Of all the schools in sau 37 HGF outshines them all. As a former casemanager for severely emotionally disabled kids and a mother to a son who has a disability I could not choose a better enviroment for my son. They actually listen to me..and Mr. Paul thinks that the child comes first(how novel) Love the school, love the principal and my son's team.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 23, 2006

This school is execellent! The teacher welcome you into the classrooms to volunteer. My child has liked all of her teachers. I think the kindergarten needs to be longer than 2 and half hours but the teachers pack a lot into that time. Great School in Manchester!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2006

This school is fantastic. The principal is so dedicated to the kids I cant say enough how wonderful it is to have someone you know is devoted to my childrens education. There are a couple of teachers that the school could do without but all in all I just love this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2006

I teach at Highland and as a member of the staff am very involved with parents. My staff members work hard and are committed to student learning. We are also open to working with parents to improve their children's/child's learning.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted January 3, 2006

This is a school where the principal is 'all about the students'. Parents are always welcome to join in helping in various commitees or classroom assitance. My children have/are attending and we always feel welcomed. Each year I see ways in which the school has improved.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 28, 2005

Highland is a tough school to get involved in. the teachers are also tough to get along with.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
57%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
71%

2011

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

99 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
50%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
59%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

93 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
64%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2012.

99 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
26%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
53%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
47%

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
67%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2014.

78 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
44%

2012

 
 
47%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students57%
Female66%
Male49%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)59%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability31%
Without educational disability61%
English language learners30%
Proficient in English62%
Not migrant57%

Reading

All Students64%
Female71%
Male57%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino21%
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability23%
Without educational disability70%
English language learners30%
Proficient in English69%
Not migrant64%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female56%
Male49%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino30%
White (not Hispanic)54%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability21%
Without educational disability58%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English55%
Not migrant53%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a

Reading

All Students54%
Female56%
Male51%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino20%
White (not Hispanic)55%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Not economically disadvantaged63%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability21%
Without educational disability60%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English58%
Not migrant54%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female53%
Male55%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)56%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged62%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability15%
Without educational disability62%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English56%
Not migrant53%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students58%
Female57%
Male58%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability8%
Without educational disability67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English60%
Not migrant58%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students46%
Female59%
Male31%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)49%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged57%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability8%
Without educational disability54%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English48%
Not migrant46%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 76% 89%
Hispanic 10% 4%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 36%N/A26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2021 Goffs Falls Rd
Manchester, NH 03103
Phone: (603) 624-6334

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Jewett School
Manchester, NH


Green Acres School
Manchester, NH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT