Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
8 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly disagree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Not enough (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Ineffective (1 response)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 16 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Jewett School 1

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
The curriculum doesn't even touch the superiority of other NH elementary schools. My son attended Jewett in first and second grade and I was saddened by the plateau he hit when he exited 2nd grade. The teachers seemed uninterested with parent concerns, the assignments and school work given to the children is below the desired curriculum in the northeast and sadly, the students are getting the short end of the stick at this school. The neighborhoods surrounding Jewett have gone downhill while crime is increasing and this is why we moved away from Manchester. The best decision we made was to move to Nashua last year where our son attends Bicentennial. He has excelled in less than a year here and is reading and writing past grade level :)

Jewett School
Develops empathy: Disagree

Posted October 04, 2015
- a parent
A lot of the children here were rough, there were daily disruptions in the classroom from unruly students, a lot of name calling and disrespect in general.


Jewett School 5

Posted September 17, 2012
- a parent
I love this school. I love all the teachers. They have all gone above and beyond to not only be there for my boys but also for me. When my oldest son was in 2nd grade he started at Jewett. I had homeschooled him for first and he was with me at the day care I worked at for Kindergarten . When he was entering 2nd grade I could no longer homeschool him because we couldn't afford for me not to work so he had to enter public school. I was terrified for him because he is small for his age. I was afraid of him being picked on, bullied, being overlooked and more. Mrs Lise LaSalle was his 2nd grade teacher and I praise God for her. She was very sensitive to his needs and mine as well. Ever since I have had nothing but praise for the teachers. In 4th grade he had Mrs. Valerie Tarbell and she also worked very hard with him and had the patience of a saint. He's now in 5th grade and so far doing well. I also have a son in 2nd grade. They both are doing remarkable and I drop them off everyday know they are in good hands and safe. I have nothing bad to say about this school!!! I will cry the last day of school this year when my son will be moving on to Southside.

Jewett School 5

Posted February 20, 2011
- a parent
Great school. The parents are involved. All the teachers our son has had have been great. The Principal is wonderful and you can see he truly takes pride in his school.

Jewett School 5

Posted May 25, 2009
- a parent
I am a parent. Test scores are not the end all be all for a school. I have had three children attend Jewett School. The teachers care, it is a small school and all children are valued and well cared for. My children are safe. My children learn here. This is a great Manchester School.


Jewett School 5

Posted August 01, 2008
- a parent
I love this school. My children love this school. My oldest son has and IEP plan and they have followed it since we transferred there 2 years ago. Both of my children have made excellent progress since being there.

Jewett School
no rating

Posted March 30, 2008
- a parent
I am disgusted with this school! My son has a learning disability and although he has an IEP and goes down to the resource room 2x's a day he has not made anhy progress in over 2 years! He is in 3rd grade for the 2nd time and is still reading at a 1st grade level...disgusting! They see there is a problem but are not doing all they can in my opinion to address this severe problem! They more or less just let him slide by! Communication is a very big problem also! I am very disappointed with this school!

Jewett School
no rating

Posted February 10, 2008
- a parent
I love this school, the teachers are wonderful, I waited to purchase a home until I found one in this school district.


Jewett School 5

Posted September 18, 2007
- a parent
I love this school. my mother is on the district improvement commitee for the manchester school and jewett is one of the best

Jewett School 4

Posted January 10, 2006
- a parent
A great elementary school. Big sense of community in this school. Some great teachers that go beyond just the expected. Of course, there are some that need to be replaced, but the dedication of the others far outweigh the few less than desireable ones!

Nearby schools

Jewett School
130 South Jewett St, Manchester, NH  03103
Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 16 reviews. (603) 624-6336
Last modified Jewett School is a Public school that serves grades PK-5. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top