Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Manchester Memorial High School

Public | 9-12 | 2012 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

10 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 21, 2014

This is a great school. The teachers care about their students and the preparedness of their students for college unrivaled in Manchester.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2011

This is a great high school Manchester could have. I'm so happy my daughter is attending this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2010

My son is a student at Memorial, he came from going to catholic private schools from 1-8 grades. I was a little nervous about public high school, he is in 10th grade now and I have been very happy with Memorial , he is an honor student and I would highly recommend this school
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 5, 2010

I think Manchester Memorial school is a great place to learn and interact friendly and safe
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 3, 2009

It is great school. The teachers are very caring.The students treat each other with reapect, no matter the grade
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 11, 2008

I've attended memorial for the past 3 years and i'm going to be graduating in 2009. I think we have spirit and pride but none of that compares to the amount of pride that other students from other schools in the city dish out. As for teachers: they have so much more spirit than they did. A new pool of young new teachers livens up Memorial and its classes so much and gives learning a new edge. Although our sports, besides track, aren't doing as well as we hoped, the music and art departments are excelling beyond belief. Even though most of us students complain about our school, Memorial is really a great school to spend 4 years at in preparation for college.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 17, 2007

I attended memorial from fall 2004 to spring 2008 and there is so much more spirit and and pride for Memorial now than the two reviews from 2005 and 2003 say. The teachers are fun and helpful, and our principle is awsome. There is a wide variety of classes to choose from and the music and art departments are some of the best. Memorial also has many different sports teams including swim and golf.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 12, 2006

I attended Memorial as a freshman for the 2002-2003 school year. The following year I moved to MI. The academic excellence I witnessed at Memorial was substantially higher than here in the Midwest. Currently I have no tracked classes so I am often left unchallenged. Also the many topics I covered in challenging classes at MHS are now being repeated as a Senior. Of course every school has downfalls, but now I have a better persepective about just how good I had it. The music and art classes are amazing, I only wish that I could have taken more. The Drama productions were just being brought that year, so that certainly was exciting being in the 1st Drama production in over four years. Parents aren't involved too much, but they really shouldn't be. High school is a place were we can begin to experience independence before going off to college.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted April 13, 2005

I went to Memorial from 2000-2004 and I believe that it is lacking in pride and spirit. A big part of it is lack of teacher interest also. The teachers teach the students well and do inspire them to achieve, but not to take pride in school activities, I often heard teachers groan about events or worse force students to attend events when they did not want to, increasing students resentment toward the school. However academically speaking the school is the best I have seen. I am currently working on my teaching degree and hope to apply to memorial to try to liven it up.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 10, 2003

The teacher quality and principal leadership for this school shines above evry other aspect of Memorial. Overall, Memorial is a decent school but lacks in spirit and pride. I graduated in the late '90's and had relatives who graduated years before me. When I was a child I would attend basketball, soccer, and baseball games. I can assure you that school spirit was not lacking. However, the years that I was there, spirit and pride began to decrease. I currently visit Memorial because of my job and the spirit for this school has declined since my days as a highschooler. Who know? Maybe T. Menswar can come back out of retirement and do things, 'the way that you're supposed to!!'
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2014.

426 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
21%

2013

 
 
24%

2012

 
 
30%

2011

 
 
25%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

424 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
68%

2013

 
 
69%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
66%
Science

The state average for Science was 33% in 2012.

437 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
26%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 54% in 2014.

424 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
52%

2013

 
 
39%

2012

 
 
45%

2011

 
 
39%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students21%
Female20%
Male23%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)4%
Asian43%
Hispanic or Latino2%
Multiracial10%
White (not Hispanic)26%
Economically disadvantaged11%
Not economically disadvantaged28%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability2%
Without educational disability25%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English23%
Not migrant21%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 218%

Reading

All Students68%
Female71%
Male66%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)46%
Asian84%
Hispanic or Latino57%
Multiracial60%
White (not Hispanic)71%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged76%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability23%
Without educational disability75%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English72%
Not migrant68%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 273%

Writing

All Students52%
Female60%
Male47%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)32%
Asian69%
Hispanic or Latino36%
Multiracial60%
White (not Hispanic)56%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged61%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability21%
Without educational disability58%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English55%
Not migrant52%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 273%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 89%
Hispanic 10% 4%
Black 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 3% 3%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 32%N/A26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

1 Crusader Way
Manchester, NH 03103
Website: Click here
Phone: (603) 624-6378

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Holy Family Academy
Manchester, NH


Trinity High School
Manchester, NH




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT