Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Parker-Varney School

Public | PK-5 | 525 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 3 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 8, 2013

My three brothers and I attended Parker Varney 10+ years ago. We all loved it. My teachers rocked, and from what I can remember the rest of the staff was fantastic. (To those of you still there, I hope all is well!) Some of the faculty became like family to my family. It breaks my heart to see these reviews, and to see how things have changed so drastically. I hope that things can turn around for the best, and that Parker Varney can provide the awesome education and assistance to the current and future students as it has in the past. Best wishes, Emily Hunter


Posted January 21, 2012

Poorly organized school. Do not hear positive things about the office staff or certain classroom teachers. If you have an option to send your student somewhere else, take the other option.


Posted October 15, 2011

I must admit, the new principal is no better then the last. Takes everything for her own self credit. Assigns staff to do "projects" for her political gain. Does not put children first. Uses her time to triangle herself between staff and parents complicating small issues and not focusing on the larger outstanding ones. The principal was called by the Union to a meeting with the Superintendent. 100% of teachers spoke up to have the principal removed showing documented accounts of where the students were not put first. The district has shown no effort to follow through with the requests of the teaching staff. There was an extremely large sum of money granted to three schools. Under the grant circumstances the Principals were to gather from teachers what the money should be used for to increase student achievement to help us be no longer a school in need of improvement. The principal at Parker Varney gathered no information from teachers. She used the money for her choosing. She mad poor decisions that are directly affecting student achievement and test scores. The Special ed staff are wonderful at Parker Varney as well as Art Music PE and Teachers that were educated out of state.
—Submitted by a teacher


Posted May 31, 2011

I went to PV as a child and for as long as i can remember PV is the school i always disliked. Yes i was a problem child then but my parents tried to work with me the best they could with my ADHD without putting me on medication. The school had refused to keep me there if i wasn't on medication. So when my parents did put me on some they hassled my parents everyday asking if i had taken it that morning. Also my teacher (who by the way still works there) use to bribe me with candy to keep me quite and behave all day. Now is that a way to teach a child by bribing. I understand that my parents could have taken more time to work with me on my ADHD but the teachers didn't either. Also the principal when i was there once grabbed me by the armsand dragged me when i was misbehaving. At that point if a child is that bad you should call their parents not take matters into your own hands. Which is why now my child will NOT be going to PV


Posted May 19, 2011

Just like any school Parker Varney has its own set of issues. However, the new principal at the school has been doing an outstanding job of working to address the strengths and weaknesses of the school in order to move forward in a positive direction. As a hesitant parent going into the school, I have found that the curriculum is very challenging. I have found that my child has progressed extremely well in reading and writing and her math foundations are very strong. The teachers work hard there. If there is one thing I can say, it is that there should be more parent participation. However, I think that this will come with new initiatives that are coming forward in the near future. I think PV is a great place to learn and proud to have a child that goes there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 25, 2010

Staff wise this school is split into 2 camps. Leadership by the Principal is not there, his primary focus is personal not professional. The school has the staff and the students to be a really great school. The drive and direction from the top is not their. Children are labeled and disrespected. Not a positive learning environment for the kids.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 26, 2010

The school is in need of improvement. Parents are not encouraged to be involved with the school. The focus is on behavior and not on learning and education. Teachers for the most part are very good. Admininstration needs work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

I have 2 children who have attended Parker Varney school my daughter who is now in jr. high and my 7 year old son who attends now and they have done so much for them learning wise. My daughter has learning problems and she has done so well since she went to this school. My son is doing amazing there and I would recommend Parker Varney to anyone.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 2, 2004

My child has attended Parker-Varney four years. The principal and vice principal as well as all the teachers are outstanding. There are plenty of activities for the kids. We have a wonderful reading and writing program, with assemblies for kids of all grades to share their work. I would like to see more parent involvement but there is a strong group of parents that attend the PTG. Safety and discipline has always remained a high priority at Parker-Varney. There are many safety measures there. I am a very proud to say that my child attends this school!
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

72 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
60%

2009

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2012.

71 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
45%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

59 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
56%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
50%

2009

 
 
43%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2012.

58 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
48%

2009

 
 
48%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
38%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
56%

2009

 
 
42%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2012.

65 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
8%

2009

 
 
20%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students53%
Female52%
Male53%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino15%
White (non-Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged64%
Title I program (current)56%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability55%
English language learners24%
Proficient in English60%
Non-migrant53%

Reading

All Students63%
Female62%
Male64%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino31%
White (non-Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged69%
Title I program (current)65%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability67%
English language learners44%
Proficient in English68%
Non-migrant63%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
Female54%
Male57%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino27%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Title I program (current)62%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability59%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Non-migrant56%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a

Reading

All Students55%
Female56%
Male55%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino27%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantaged74%
Title I program (current)60%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability60%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English69%
Non-migrant55%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students43%
Female45%
Male41%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)37%
Economically disadvantaged34%
Non-economically disadvantaged55%
Title I program (current)43%
With educational disability27%
Without educational disability46%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English45%
Non-migrant43%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students42%
Female45%
Male38%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)36%
Economically disadvantaged33%
Non-economically disadvantaged52%
Title I program (current)40%
With educational disability27%
Without educational disability44%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English46%
Non-migrant42%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students8%
Female13%
Male3%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)4%
Economically disadvantaged3%
Non-economically disadvantaged14%
Title I program (current)5%
With educational disability9%
Without educational disability7%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English8%
Non-migrant8%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 90%
Hispanic 18% 4%
Two or more races 8% 1%
Asian 4% 3%
Black 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 51%N/A25%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

223 James Pollack Dr
Manchester, NH 03102
Phone: (603) 624-6338

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St. Benedict Academy
Manchester, NH


Gossler Park School
Manchester, NH


Bakersville School
Manchester, NH


Memorial School
Bedford, NH



Beech Street School
Manchester, NH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT