Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Middle School At Parkside

Public | 6-8

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 17, 2014

not going to waste my time explaining. this school needs to get teachers on track or get rid of them.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 20, 2013

My son has been going to Parkside for almost 3 yrs now. The thing with middle school is. It's Sink or Swim. Your child can sit and do nothing for a semester and you won't get any word about it from "most" teachers. Check your child's bag every day. Have an agenda book with homework and teachers signatures and check it every day. The more involved you are as a parent makes all the difference. :)
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 12, 2012

I rate this school one star because the violence is not dealt with properly, the teachers are rude, and they never keep up there side of what you agreed to at meeting. My son fights me on going to school every day because how he is treated by students and staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 29, 2011

I was very surprised with Parkside last year. My son had a wonderful time there and a great earning experience. His Teachers were great and the Admin Staff exceptional. Afterschool and sports activities could be better, but over all really great environment. My son is excited to be in 7th grade at Parkside.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 27, 2010

I don't think Parkside deserves 3 stars,I feel 2 is more than generous. I had meetings with my child's teachers more than once and no matter what we agreed on they did not follow thru. My child went from an A to a D in a subject and although we had a 504 plan that I was to be notified if he went below a B, I didn't find out until progress reports came home. When I asked how that happened, I was told she hadn't had time to enter the grades from his work in her book.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 14, 2010

On a scale from one to ten, ten being the best I rate Parkside Middle School at a four. I am a proactive parent and my child is a high honor student. When he starts to slip I want to know about it and fast. This way I am able not only to help him but help the teachers as well. His teachers have all my contact numbers 24/7 and email. How does a child go from a B to a D without a boo from a concerned teacher. NO not Parkside I can count on one hand how many teachers are truely enthusiastic about their jobs. 'Sit and Don't be heard' is the parkside middle schools way of teaching. There was a glimmer of hope at one point the assistant vice principle Mr. Dangora but it is my understanding he got a pink slip. Too bad for Parkside!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2009

My daughter is now a wonderfull student thanks to many of the teachers at Park- Side Junior High.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 24, 2009

This school is horrible. Bad teaching and dirty school. Also way too many fights that are handled badly.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 7, 2008

Im now in the 8th grade and have been at Parkide since 6th. It's one of the better schools in Manchester. I love my teachers!
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 4, 2008

I hate this school. The teachers are rude. And there are way to many fights. This school is horrible.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 26, 2007

I like this school for most part. I just think there needs to be more extra curicular activities in the sports department. Other then that I think its one of the better schools around.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2014.

226 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
52%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

226 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
52%

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
52%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

234 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
39%

2013

 
 
50%

2012

 
 
49%

2011

 
 
40%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

234 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
49%

2013

 
 
49%

2012

 
 
47%

2011

 
 
42%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

205 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
46%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
42%

2011

 
 
45%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

205 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
54%

2013

 
 
48%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
51%
Science

The state average for Science was 32% in 2012.

228 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
16%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2014.

197 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
33%

2013

 
 
37%

2012

 
 
29%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students46%
Female47%
Male46%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)45%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
Multiracial63%
White (non-Hispanic)47%
Economically disadvantaged41%
Non-economically disadvantaged57%
Title I program (current)48%
With educational disability16%
Without educational disability55%
English language learners8%
Proficient in English51%
Non-migrant46%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students54%
Female60%
Male48%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)61%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
Multiracial69%
White (non-Hispanic)54%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Non-economically disadvantaged62%
Title I program (current)56%
With educational disability16%
Without educational disability65%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English57%
Non-migrant54%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students39%
Female43%
Male36%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
Multiracial45%
White (non-Hispanic)39%
Economically disadvantaged31%
Non-economically disadvantaged53%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability10%
Without educational disability48%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English40%
Non-migrant39%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students49%
Female58%
Male42%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)32%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino31%
Multiracial64%
White (non-Hispanic)54%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged66%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability19%
Without educational disability58%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English50%
Non-migrant50%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students46%
Female48%
Male44%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)25%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)53%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged54%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability23%
Without educational disability52%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English50%
Non-migrant46%

Reading

All Students54%
Female61%
Male48%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)40%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino44%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)58%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged58%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability13%
Without educational disability64%
English language learners22%
Proficient in English57%
Non-migrant54%

Writing

All Students33%
Female46%
Male19%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)26%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino28%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)35%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Non-economically disadvantaged37%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability5%
Without educational disability40%
English language learners6%
Proficient in English36%
Non-migrant33%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 89%
Hispanic 13% 4%
Black 8% 2%
Two or more races 5% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 64%N/A26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

75 Parkside Ave
Manchester, NH 03102
Phone: (603) 624-6356

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

St Casimir School
Manchester, NH


Holy Family Academy
Manchester, NH



Hillside Middle School
Manchester, NH




ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT