Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Southside Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 861 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

13 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 6, 2014

Beware of this school! My child started 6th grade this year and it has been nothing but a nightmare! Bullying or being bullied is a way of life there and the staff is either completely clueless or they just don't care. Unless your child is an A student you will have your work cut out for you! The classes are over-crowded...I'd really like to know where the student to teacher ratio came from because it's not accurate. There are gangs and fights break out in the bathrooms. There is an armed police officer on site at all times. If your child needs extra help or has an IEP you are in for an exhausting fight to get them to do their jobs. If we could pull our child from this school we would.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 25, 2013

This school is like a bad TV movie: "Uncontrollable kids and the teachers who support them." The academics aren't much better, in fact they're fine for 4th through 6th grade level- far below what they should be. Why is that? Is the curriculum district-wide? And why has the public not been updated on the serious violent incidents which have occurred there for the past two years? Do the kids still have to use the "buddy system" to go to the bathroom? The local paper stopped writing about it. for some reason. Hmm...
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2011

This is my first year here and so far i like it. but its only been like 5 days so ya but i dont mind it there the kids here are awesome :) like me haha jk but i like it here much better then a private school


Posted April 1, 2011

this school do not have competent teachers, however its assistant principal is very professional and dedicated.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2010

My son is in the 6th grade here and I feel like I want to beat my head against the wall every day. 2 teachers so far have taken the road of humiliating and demeaning my child in front of the class. He has an IEP and Learning disability. They have no idea how to teach and only encourage the strait A students. Threats of violence and violence abound with no care really. I have even had a police report because a gang member from South Side threatened my house and us. I would sell my house and move just to get away if I could in this market. If you send you child here beware. I want to just pull my son out and home school him. The staff at this school fights me every step of the way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 31, 2010

A perfect school for anyone who lives their in Manchester, New Hampshire
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 19, 2010

I think southside is an amazing school. I am glad my daughter goes there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2009

I think that southside Middle school is great, the faculty teaches very well, they do not tolerate trouble, and they provide a good learning enviornment.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 30, 2008

Don't send your kids here! I am attending Southside for my second year, and there is no respect from any students. Fighting over differences happens too much... my friends and I are labeled as 'outcasts' and constantly picked on! The adults don't care about this, therefore I wouldn't recommend this scool.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 24, 2008

hey i think its a great school my brother got a very good learning experice so i love the school im going in too sixth grade there so i love the school and its not overcrowdedand parents are notified by the events that happen and they do care about the school so get over it cause those r not true
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 10, 2008

This school does not care about the students. There is no effort made to help the children learn. The teachers cause more disruption to the classes than the students.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 7, 2007

This school is not a very good learning environment, but the teachers try to do their best. The school is way too overcrowded.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 19, 2006

Not a great school! Parents are not notified in a timely manner of events that take place at the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

230 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
52%

2011

 
 
52%

2010

 
 
57%

2009

 
 
51%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

231 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
53%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2012.

278 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
51%

2011

 
 
44%

2010

 
 
43%

2009

 
 
36%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

278 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
57%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
51%

2009

 
 
41%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2012.

257 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
46%

2011

 
 
43%

2010

 
 
42%

2009

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2012.

257 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
68%

2010

 
 
58%

2009

 
 
47%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 67% in 2012.

255 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
55%

2009

 
 
31%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students52%
Female52%
Male51%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)37%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)53%
Economically disadvantaged45%
Non-economically disadvantaged59%
Title I program (current)40%
With educational disability9%
Without educational disability61%
English language learners5%
Proficient in English56%
Non-migrant52%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 256%

Reading

All Students62%
Female67%
Male58%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)47%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Title I program (current)58%
With educational disability18%
Without educational disability74%
English language learners9%
Proficient in English68%
Non-migrant63%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 267%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students51%
Female44%
Male59%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)29%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino29%
Multiracial30%
White (non-Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged37%
Non-economically disadvantaged68%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability13%
Without educational disability58%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English60%
Non-migrant51%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 225%

Reading

All Students57%
Female61%
Male54%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)41%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino38%
Multiracial60%
White (non-Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability7%
Without educational disability67%
English language learners17%
Proficient in English62%
Non-migrant57%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 283%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students46%
Female45%
Male46%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)23%
Asian67%
Hispanic or Latino39%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)50%
Economically disadvantaged38%
Non-economically disadvantaged53%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability16%
Without educational disability54%
English language learners14%
Proficient in English50%
Non-migrant47%

Reading

All Students70%
Female75%
Male66%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)54%
Asian75%
Hispanic or Latino70%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)72%
Economically disadvantaged64%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability33%
Without educational disability80%
English language learners31%
Proficient in English76%
Non-migrant72%

Writing

All Students55%
Female68%
Male43%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)55%
Asian67%
Hispanic or Latino52%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)55%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged59%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability14%
Without educational disability67%
English language learners24%
Proficient in English59%
Non-migrant56%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 65% 90%
Hispanic 17% 4%
Black 10% 2%
Asian 4% 3%
Two or more races 4% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 53%N/A25%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

140 South Jewett St
Manchester, NH 03103
Phone: (603) 624-6359

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools





Holy Family Academy
Manchester, NH


St. Casimir School
Manchester, NH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT