Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

3 stars
Based on 16 ratings

Let others know what you
think about this school


18 reviews of this school


This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Southside Middle School 1

Posted February 06, 2014
- a parent
Beware of this school! My child started 6th grade this year and it has been nothing but a nightmare! Bullying or being bullied is a way of life there and the staff is either completely clueless or they just don't care. Unless your child is an A student you will have your work cut out for you! The classes are over-crowded...I'd really like to know where the student to teacher ratio came from because it's not accurate. There are gangs and fights break out in the bathrooms. There is an armed police officer on site at all times. If your child needs extra help or has an IEP you are in for an exhausting fight to get them to do their jobs. If we could pull our child from this school we would.

Southside Middle School 1

Posted March 25, 2013
- a parent
This school is like a bad TV movie: "Uncontrollable kids and the teachers who support them." The academics aren't much better, in fact they're fine for 4th through 6th grade level- far below what they should be. Why is that? Is the curriculum district-wide? And why has the public not been updated on the serious violent incidents which have occurred there for the past two years? Do the kids still have to use the "buddy system" to go to the bathroom? The local paper stopped writing about it. for some reason. Hmm...


Southside Middle School 3

Posted September 09, 2011
- a community member
This is my first year here and so far i like it. but its only been like 5 days so ya but i dont mind it there the kids here are awesome :) like me haha jk but i like it here much better then a private school

Southside Middle School 1

Posted April 01, 2011
- a parent
this school do not have competent teachers, however its assistant principal is very professional and dedicated.

Southside Middle School 1

Posted April 21, 2010
- a parent
My son is in the 6th grade here and I feel like I want to beat my head against the wall every day. 2 teachers so far have taken the road of humiliating and demeaning my child in front of the class. He has an IEP and Learning disability. They have no idea how to teach and only encourage the strait A students. Threats of violence and violence abound with no care really. I have even had a police report because a gang member from South Side threatened my house and us. I would sell my house and move just to get away if I could in this market. If you send you child here beware. I want to just pull my son out and home school him. The staff at this school fights me every step of the way.


Southside Middle School 5

Posted March 31, 2010
- a student
A perfect school for anyone who lives their in Manchester, New Hampshire

Southside Middle School 2

Posted March 15, 2010
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Southside Middle School 5

Posted January 19, 2010
- a parent
I think southside is an amazing school. I am glad my daughter goes there.


Southside Middle School 1

Posted October 04, 2009
- a student
This review submitted without content.

Southside Middle School 1

Posted September 30, 2009
- a parent
This review submitted without content.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2014 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Southside Middle School
140 South Jewett St, Manchester, NH  03103
(603) 624-6359
Last modified Southside Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 1 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Southside Middle School Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 18 reviews. Top