Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Webster School

Public | K-5 | 455 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted July 3, 2013

I graduated this school in 2012 and i miss it so much! The teachers are really there to support you and i felt totally prepared for middle school! I feel like the rules can be a little too strict but its better safe than sorry. The faculty works hard to ensure our safety and i think Webster has been underrated. Its a clean school and since it is up on the North end there is usually no trouble. I went to Webster from grade 1-5 and had a fantastic time! Parents, if you are thinking if enrolling your child at Webster, go ahead and do it! I made so many memories and learned so much on the way! ~R.C :)


Posted July 26, 2012

My son has been going to Webster street since kindergarden and Ive been beyond impressed. The school's special ed team ( along with his doctor) helped us diagnose and make a successful care plan ( IEP) for him to make achievement and success possible. I feel like he goes to a private school in lieu of the caring, helpfullness, hard work and encouragement from the staff. I wish Webster street went up to the 12th grade. I love all the staff and cant say enough good things.Thank you!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 21, 2012

This caring neighborhood school has everything my grandchild needs and wants. The teachers are dedicated to helping each pupil develop their potential, and enjoy learning. Students are treated as individuals, and cherished. My granddaughter in high school says this was her favorite school. Its always a pleasure to go there for events, and see the staff again. Thank you!


Posted January 10, 2011

i love this school...my son just started going there this year and i see a dramatic change in his school work ,behavior and peer relationships..!! His teacher is a very polite person and works w/ her students to better they're academic,social and peer relations..[skills ]..!! I have no complaints about Webster St. School..!! Thankyou
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 19, 2006

as a alumni. i love and miss webster dearly. im soo gratefull to have been placed into that school.as i look back , webster years have been the best in my life. webster school jump started my acting career at a young age. i learned to be confident and composed their. i love all the teachers dearly and give this school an A+++++!!!
—Submitted by a former student


Posted May 21, 2006

used to be a great school, but due to the 'Political Correctness' that the leadership of the school is trying to attain with 'students of different languages' and backgrounds, the entire school is holding back the majority.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 28, 2004

I have had kids at Webster since 1996. I have had very good experiences at Webster School, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend moving into the neighborhood. Mr. Dallaire is an excellent principal. If you have any kind of concer, he is approachable, reasonable, and always happy to help resolve an issue, as well as the teachers. I was involved in the PTO and/or as a room mother. The PTO is strong and active. I would give this school an A+.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 13, 2004

So far, I have been very pleased with Webster. I was hesitant to send my daughter to a public school in Manchester, I'm glad I decided to give it a try. The teachers are wonderful. I'm confident that my daughter is safe before, during and after school. Athletic activities and instrument lessons lack for lower grades but are available for 4th and 5th grades. The PTO is very strong and active. My daughter enjoys going to school everyday and has established quality relationships with both her peers and the school staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2014.

66 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
56%

2013

 
 
63%

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

61 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
66%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
67%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

76 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
58%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
53%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

74 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
67%

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
54%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2012.

98 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
37%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

70 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
55%

2013

 
 
54%

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
58%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
61%

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
64%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2014.

67 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
64%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
39%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students56%
Female50%
Male63%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino36%
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)65%
Economically disadvantaged50%
Not economically disadvantaged59%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability39%
Without educational disability60%
English language learners15%
Proficient in English65%
Not migrant56%

Reading

All Students61%
Female63%
Male57%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino40%
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)66%
Economically disadvantaged43%
Not economically disadvantaged71%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability30%
Without educational disability69%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English63%
Not migrant61%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female73%
Male45%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (not Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged40%
Not economically disadvantaged69%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability7%
Without educational disability70%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English62%
Not migrant58%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a

Reading

All Students64%
Female81%
Male51%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged44%
Not economically disadvantaged77%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability0%
Without educational disability82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English67%
Not migrant64%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students55%
Female56%
Male53%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged30%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability0%
Without educational disability64%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English64%
Not migrant55%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students74%
Female84%
Male62%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability20%
Without educational disability84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Not migrant74%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students64%
Female76%
Male48%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged36%
Not economically disadvantaged78%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability10%
Without educational disability74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English69%
Not migrant64%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 89%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 9% 3%
Hispanic 8% 4%
Two or more races 6% 2%
Black 5% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 38%N/A26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2519 Elm St
Manchester, NH 03104
Phone: (603) 624-6344

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Smyth Road School
Manchester, NH



St Casimir School
Manchester, NH


Gossler Park School
Manchester, NH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT