Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Manchester West High School

Public | 9-12 | 1358 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted November 16, 2013

I am currently a senior at west and I must say they did a great job because when I started freshmen year I was struggling so they placed me out of district into a private school where they rebuilt my confidence and taught me ways to cope with my anxiety and after being at this place for 2 years I came back to west in the middle of junior year and because of where I was credit wise from doing well in the private setting I am now a senior set to graduate early from west high school. P.s the teachers and assistant principals are awesome highly recommend this school for residents of Manchester.
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 8, 2013

I graduated from West High School in the year 2012, and I have to say, it was the worst experience of my life. I was not prepared for college AT ALL. Once I got there, I was immediately overwhelmed by the workload. I was always told I was a smart girl, but now I'm a 19 year old college dropout working at Walmart as a cashier and still living with my parents. My friends and I always used to joke about how 2/3 of the student body would be college dropouts. I never thought one of them would be me.


Posted March 28, 2009

I am a senior at West currently. The school has provided me with the a great education. I am in the decision process of my college search and I have several phenomenal schools to choose from. West provides its students with a quality education if they are willing to do the work and take the rigorous classes! Although the school's extracurriculars may be going down hill a bit due to Bedford students leaving, it can easily rise back up again if more Manchester and Hooksett students are willing to keep it alive. I take offense to some of the comments made here and am willing to vouch for the school West is. An education is what you make of it and anyone can learn and become successful if they work for it. In addition, the teachers are easily accessible and encourage their students to do well!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 28, 2009

I am a senior at West currently. The school has provided me with the a great education. I am in the decision process of my college search and I have several phenomenal schools to choose from. West provides its students with a quality education if they are willing to do the work and take the rigorous classes! Although the school's extracurriculars may be going down hill a bit due to Bedford students leaving, it can easily rise back up again if more Manchester and Hooksett students are willing to keep it alive. I take offense to some of the comments made here and am willing to vouch for the school West is. An education is what you make of it and anyone can learn and become successful if they work for it. In addition, the teachers are easily accessible and encourage their students to do well!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 6, 2008

My oldest daughter attended West. I felt that most of the staff seemed overwhelmed by the students. The expectations for the students were not high and there was no guidance offered. We had a handful of teachers that really seemed to care, but also many that seemed to be just doing their job without any real interest.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

I am currently a Senior at West. I have read the other reviews on this site and I find them to be insulting and untrue. The School is not in the best shape, however it is anything but gross(except for a few broken ceiling tiles). The students at west are not all from non college families as stated. There are plenty of AP and college prep courses, as well as qualified teachers to teach them. The rules are not to lax at all and It is rare to find students wandering the halls or doing inappropriate things after school. I like West, even if I hate school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted May 1, 2007

West is not a good school. The school doesn't care about its students and the general area is gross.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted June 6, 2005

I have to say this school has not met up to our expectations. The 2 good things are the ROTC and Band groups. Our guidance counselor was very helpful, but like Mr. Baines, the current principal is not available and we could never make an appointment. The students have the run of the building. After school they hang out wherever and are found hugging, kissing, etc., very inappropriate.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2005

All three of my children attended this school as well and I have to say I am not quite as pleased. My oldest now 28 was not at all guided when looking into her future I guess because she didn't ask to be...my middle child a bright over acheiver with personality galore was not worked to her potential due to the lack of AP courses offered and and my youngest at the time principal Baines was called he would not return phone calls.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 17, 2004

It's a blue collar school in a blue collar part of town - on fundamentlas, standards are high and children are expected to perform - however, there needs to be more emphasis on college to help these kids do better than their parents -Enrollment in AP or college prep courses is low and the classes themselves are few in number - more guidance towards college enrollment is needed from the staff - most of these kids don't come from families with university backgrounds - this school is the only exposure to the possibility and potential of a college education - lower middle class expectations produce lower middle class citizens - these kids are smarter and deserve better than that - this school can and should do more to lift these kids out of this working class community.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted August 31, 2004

All three of my children attended WEST, and all three of them got into Harvard Law School. All of the teachers focus on the students, and always help out. The safety is supurb, and there are also two to three vice cops at all times in the school. The teacher quality is extremely high, which makes WEST one of the best public high schools in New Hampshire for academics. The Parents are always involved when needed, and the extracurricular activities are endless.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 16, 2004

I have attended this school and it is overall a pretty decent school. We have great math and science departments and the other departments don't fall to far behind. We usually send at least 2 kids to Harvard every year and they do well. We also have a lot of school spirit usually.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 37% in 2012.

239 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
19%

2011

 
 
23%

2010

 
 
19%

2009

 
 
15%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

239 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
53%

2011

 
 
62%

2010

 
 
60%

2009

 
 
56%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 41% in 2012.

235 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
21%

2011

 
 
27%

2010

 
 
39%

2009

 
 
22%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students19%
Female16%
Male21%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)15%
Asian17%
Hispanic or Latino11%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)20%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Non-economically disadvantaged20%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability4%
Without educational disability23%
English language learners6%
Proficient in English20%
Non-migrant19%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students53%
Female56%
Male49%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)40%
Asian0%
Hispanic or Latino43%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)56%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantaged61%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability22%
Without educational disability60%
English language learners0%
Proficient in English58%
Non-migrant53%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students21%
Female26%
Male17%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)20%
Asian10%
Hispanic or Latino16%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)21%
Economically disadvantaged16%
Non-economically disadvantaged23%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability2%
Without educational disability25%
English language learners7%
Proficient in English22%
Non-migrant21%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 75% 90%
Hispanic 11% 4%
Black 7% 2%
Asian 5% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 47%N/A25%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9 Notre Dame Ave
Manchester, NH 03102
Phone: (603) 624-6384

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Liberty Harbor Academy
Manchester, NH



Holy Family Academy
Manchester, NH



Trinity High School
Manchester, NH



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT