Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Northwest Elementary School

Public | K-5 | 678 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 2 ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 10, 2014

I love this school. My kids have been going here since 2012-2013 school year. All the teachers my children have had were and are simply amazing. The before and afterschool activities are wonderful. The school and play grounds are clean and safe. There are too many activities to list that they do at this school. And all the children are welcome to attend everything. The principal is great as is the assistant. Both very involved and know the kids well. I have nothing negative to say about this school. Very happy parent
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 20, 2012

I love this school this is the best school my children have ever gone too I love the teachers and the principals are great too they are very involved with the kids and with the parents too im so happy my kids go to a school that cares and i cant wait to start a nother year with you guys
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2011

We love Northwest Elementary! We were unsure at first having heard all the negative press about public schools, especially city schools, but are sure we made the right decision. The administration is warm, friendly and encouraging. They truly care about the school and its students. Our kids have had fantastic teachers so far and look forward to going each day. The school encourages parental involvement, offering many community activities which are well attended.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2011

The staff is amazing. They are warm and friendly and challenge the students to do their best work. Great community atmosphere. Supportive principal and teachers. There is a lot of excitement for reading at this school! We love it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 23, 2009

I am a mother of 3 children. My oldest now in middle school, started at Northwest. I have been a parent of a child in this school for 6yrs now and Love it lots!! The staff is warm, inviting, and keep my children feeling at ease throughout their day. My 3rd child is about to start this school in September and I am looking forward to MORE memories here at the school....
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 9, 2009

My daughter attending this school for 2007-2008 year it was wonderful. Now she is at a new school and I hate it
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2006

The teachers are great, the school is new and everything about it is top-notch. I love having my child go to Northwest.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

97 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
65%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
71%

2009

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2012.

97 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
67%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
67%

2009

 
 
70%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

89 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
61%

2011

 
 
61%

2010

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
69%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2012.

89 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
60%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
63%

2009

 
 
67%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

90 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
62%

2011

 
 
55%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
62%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

90 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
70%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
58%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2012.

90 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
41%

2009

 
 
38%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students65%
Female61%
Male70%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino57%
White (non-Hispanic)65%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Title I program (current)65%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability68%
English language learners57%
Proficient in English67%
Non-migrant65%

Reading

All Students67%
Female63%
Male72%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
White (non-Hispanic)64%
Economically disadvantaged53%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Title I program (current)67%
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability72%
English language learners56%
Proficient in English69%
Non-migrant68%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students61%
Female53%
Male69%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino45%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged51%
Non-economically disadvantaged71%
Title I program (current)61%
With educational disability20%
Without educational disability66%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English61%
Non-migrant61%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a

Reading

All Students60%
Female60%
Male62%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino35%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged56%
Non-economically disadvantaged66%
Title I program (current)61%
With educational disability10%
Without educational disability67%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English65%
Non-migrant60%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students62%
Female57%
Male67%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)65%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Title I program (current)63%
With educational disability25%
Without educational disability68%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English65%
Non-migrant62%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students70%
Female69%
Male71%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Non-economically disadvantaged72%
Title I program (current)71%
With educational disability25%
Without educational disability77%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English73%
Non-migrant70%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students41%
Female46%
Male36%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)40%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Non-economically disadvantaged44%
Title I program (current)41%
With educational disability25%
Without educational disability43%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English40%
Non-migrant41%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 90%
Hispanic 10% 4%
Two or more races 8% 1%
Black 7% 2%
Asian 4% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 54%N/A25%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Schoolwide program (SWP)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

300 Youville St
Manchester, NH 03102
Phone: (603) 624-6321

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Gossler Park School
Manchester, NH




St. Benedict Academy
Manchester, NH


St. Casimir School
Manchester, NH


Webster School
Manchester, NH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT