Advertisement
Advertisement

St. Anthony School

Private | PK-6 | 160 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Manchester

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $135,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,045.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars


Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

6 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2009

I have two children that go to St. Anthony's, and the education they are receiving is outstanding. The curriculum is challenging and they both have been reading way above grade-level since kindergarten. The proof is in their standardized test scores, which are far above average across the board. In addition, the school enforces orderliness and discipline so that all children may focus on learning and not be distracted by any bad behavior in the classroom. There are a lot of other things I could spend my money on, but there is nothing more important than making sure my kids are getting the best education possible in a safe, caring environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 19, 2009

I am a step mother of 2 students in St. Anthony School, I am not impressed. I don't care for the lunch program. We have some discipline issues and I don't think the school has enough resources to handle it, the same child I don't feel has been chalenged enough, she has shown some early reading skills at age 3 and now at age 6 doesn't seem to be any further along than anyone else including my three public school students. 2 out of my 3 children were reading fluently out of K and neither of our St. Anthony students were as fluent. That is not a judgement on the ability of the students it is a judgement on the school. I deal with both schools being an involved step mother and all I see is tuition going up and the quality going down. 3 stars is being generous.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 30, 2008

I have one child in St. Anthonys school - attending from K-4 - she loves the school and we know that she is challeneged there. Her curriculum far exceeds the public schools. We're very proud of the school and the excellent programs and community that we have found there. She will be staying there and our 2 other younger children will also attend. I cannot say enough good about this school, it's truly a great school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 31, 2005

My daughter started school at St. A's this yr as a pre-k student. So far I can not say enough about the school and teachers! The per-k teachers are so wonderful and dedicated to each student. My daughter looks forward to schoo everyday and 4 mths into the school yr she has already learned so much! Its an all around terrific school!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 26, 2004

My son has been a student at St. Anthony School from grades 1-5 and will continue next year through grade 6. It will be difficult to leave the school behind as we journey on to middle school. St. Anthony School has been a most fulfilling experience. Every teacher is dedicated to providing the best education and guidance possible to each child. The ratio of teacher to child has ensured my son receives a level of quality that is not seen in other schools. It has been a wonderful experience and is a superb foundation for future learning years. I would highly recommend St. Anthony School to other parents seeking quality education for their children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 8, 2003

Three years ago when our oldest child was to start kindergarten we moved to Manchester. As parents we visited both public and catholic schools and got feedback from some of our friends. We found the difference to be very obvious, a much smaller school with strict discipline is a must for todays children. I would highly recommend St Anthony's, from the principal to the teachers and volunteers they are very involved with every student.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 77% 92%
Asian 12% 2%
Black 8% 2%
Hispanic 3% 3%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Manchester
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

148 Belmont St
Manchester, NH 03103
Phone: (603) 622-0414

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Hallsville School
Manchester, NH


Jewett School
Manchester, NH


Wilson School
Manchester, NH


Beech Street School
Manchester, NH



Bakersville School
Manchester, NH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT