Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

The Derryfield School

Private | 6-12 & ungraded | 389 students

Our school is known for its outstanding college-preparatory day school program.

 

Living in Manchester

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $174,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,045.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 4 ratings
2013:
Based on 3 ratings
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 30, 2014

Be careful sending your child here. Note that after a negative post there is a flurry of positive 5 star reports. Gee, do you think someone from the school tells someone to post glowing reports? Check out the colleges many graduates go to. Never heard of many of them? No surprise. They encourage out of area small school that are easy to get into, with minimal clout after graduation
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2014

I am a 1982 grad of DS - both my kids attend DS. I credit Derryfield with creating the amazing people my children have become. They have learned so much in class but that is the least of their accomplishments. Each of their teachers have proven that they are as invested in my child's education as they are - as we, as parents, are. Yes, both the academic education and excellent coaching are very important an impressive but pale in comparison to the life experiences Derryfield has offered them. Experiences range from working with the local grade school children of our newer citizens to incredibly extensive travel (China, South Africa, Costa Rica, Peru, New York and Washington DC). My Junior is passionately searching for her ideal college. The guidance she is receiving is world-class. From my own experience and listening to others, when Derryfield students arrive at college they are have a tremendous edge on other students due to their preparedness for this next step. There is no finer independent day school in the Northeast.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2014

My three children have attended The Derryfield School since early middle school. Each brings an entirely different learning style, set of interests and personal style, and Derryfield has met and exceeded my expectations for all of them. Academically, they have been challenged and supported with an innovative curriculum and extraordinarily dedicated and talented faculty body. This is really the crux of Derryfield's excellence. A positive, healthy social environment, extraordinary fine arts, athletic, international and other extracurricular opportunities have also benefitted my children in all grades. The college application process was very positive on two fronts. The staff in this area are incredibly knowledgeable and supportive to parents and students alike, and the process for us has twice resulted in admission to exceptional colleges that are a wonderful match. We are delighted our children have had the opportunities this school offers, and cannot speak highly enough about the caliber of education received.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 24, 2014

The worst school ever, it was a big mistake, we put our kid in there early to help her succeed in life but in return she lost all her passions and became an elitist with an entitlement mentality. She is never good enough for that school they don't have GPA or class rankings and colleges don't know much about them. Your chances of getting in to a good college is equally proportional to the amount of contributions you make for the annual fund. Every other kid is a child of a faculty and only those kids and their friends get and A. I have a collection of badly written papers from kids who are on Honor roll, where as well written papers get a lukewarm B. I have ruined my child's chances of ever going to a good college. Don't waste your money, there are plenty of good public, charter and parochial schools in the area that truly care. Please don't send your child to Derryfield. They don't even play division 1 sports... no competitions that your kid could be proud of.. hardly any awards for the kids from this school in any field... they barely get out of their cozy little comfortable campus. Like frogs in a well they are content in their world but when the kids come out, god help them!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 25, 2013

This school provided a supportive yet challenging environment for my son. He was always textbook smart in the public schools, but moving to Derryfield challenge ideas and analyze rather than learn by textbook. The teachers are an integral part of their day and my son's confidencd, skills and ability to advocate for himself effectively has become a huge part of who he is as he heads for college. Derryfield was a great choice for our family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2013

This is a great school where students receive an exceptional education experience. Teachers are willing to take time out to work with students individually. My 16 yo told me that Derryfield was a major milestone in her life. Look at the college acceptance list on the website. Top schools accept these kids. Visit the school, you'll realize what a wonderful place it is.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2013

Challenging, supportive environment that has given my two children a chance to grow academically, motivationally and personally. This school has been the best gift I could give to my kids and I am confident that their lives will be altered by the experience.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 19, 2012

We know a lot about The Derryfield, having two recent graduates. The school is overrated. What a number of years ago was a Manchester area school that sought to provide local students with a better education than offered in the public arena has turned into a liberal led mediocre academic experience. For a number of years there was no Headmaster, then the slot was filled by a nice man with no vision for the school. He recently departed. So what filled the void was a number of agendas, generally by liberals. What has fallen by the wayside is excellent academic teaching. The teachers are below average. They often have favorite kids, based on the amount of adoration shown to the teacher by the student. Exams are very subjectively graded. If you are a brown nosing student, you are more likely to do well. SAT's? Study on your own, and begin early. The feeble prep course matches the lack of SAT instruction given during the school year. The classes are getting weaker. Most people who now apply to the Derryfield are accepted. Sports? Yeah. Everyone is a star. They think that field hockey, Soccer, tennis and the like are really sports. Out of characters, could go on .Think about it please.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 27, 2012

I entered this school as a 7th grader and enjoyed it up until 2/3rds into my 8th grade year. the people around me began to change and I didn't feel as safe as I once believed myself to be from bad influences. I found out that my teenage brother had begin to smoke due to peer pressure at derryfield, and you were sheltered if you hadn't made out with a boy before. I realized that a lot of highschool kids did drugs, and a few 8th graders did as well! I also wanted to switch out of derryfield before freshman year because I felt as if I don't belong with the mean self-centered people at Derryfield. Everyone has so much money that they treat it as if it is insignificant. People I once thought were my friends pressured me to change because they weren't satisfied with my quiet, unslutty attitude. The teachers there are great except for the fact that they don't really care if the kids are learning or not. I highly recomend not going to this school because it isn't worth the insane tuition or painful highschool years, despite the fact that going to DS could help you get into a better school. -student


Posted March 4, 2011

Growing up, I was always at the top of my class and was very successful academically as well as in extracurriculars. I applied to Derryfield for high school and was accepted. Excited to go, I was very quickly disappointed. The teachers did not really care about the students and the worst of them all was the dean: A complete joke! As for the kids, they were so aware of how much money they had and were completely oblivious of any other standard of life. My friends who were scholarship kids (aka not the richy rich kids) were completely segregated from my other groups of friends (whose fathers had more money than God). It was sad that money got in the way and at a time in your life where you are supposed to be developing your character, I started to see how shallow the school was all because of money. I transferred out after one semester. I was accepted to each college I applied for including 3 Ivy League schools. I can tell you that the kids who graduated the same year at Derryfield, most were only accepted to subpar schools. I'm glad I got out. I know I would not have been able to get into the colleges I applied to had it not been for transferring!


Posted December 1, 2010

This school is a real gem, it has exceeded every expectation of our family. Most importantly, my son loves every moment he is at school. He is inspired, challenged, and is welcomed for his special talents. If your serious about education, DS is the place to be!!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2009

It's the school that encouraged me to challenge, question, think and care.


Posted May 8, 2009

In it's almost 50-year history, The Derryfield School has earned a reputation for excellent teaching with extrordinary results. Students are respected for their individual talents and encouraged to be their best. 100% of the graduates attend college, but more importantly, they attend the colleges of their choice. If you are serious about your child's education, The Derryfield School is worth a look.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2007

This is the best school ever!! The teachers are excellent and the kids that go there are awesome. They really seem to care about their students, and you don't feel out of place there at all, everyone is so welcoming, and accepting. I really love how they trust all of teh students, and genuinely care. I would highly recommend this school.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 89%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Black 2% 2%
Hispanic 2% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

College readiness and student pathways

Students typically attend these schools prior to attending this school Hampstead Academy
Shaker Road School
local public or parochial schools
Percentage of students going to 2-year college 0% (2013)
Percentage of students going to 4-year college 100% (2013)
Percentage of students going to the military 0% (2013)
Percentage of students going to vocational programs 0% (2013)
Percentage of students going directly into the workforce 0% (2013)
Colleges most students attend after graduation Cornell University
Bates College
Middlebury College
Read more about resources at this school
Source: Manually entered by a school official.

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
College counselor(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School psychologist
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Staff resources available to students
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Visual arts
  • Architecture
Clubs
  • Math club
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Clubs
  • Art club
  • Literary magazine
  • Student newspaper

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Clubs
  • Foreign language club: Chinese Club

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • School psychologist
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Gym

Gifted & talented

Instructional and/or curriculum models used
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Clubs
  • Debate
  • National Honor Society
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:45 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:15 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 6:00 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Dr. Mary Halpin Carter
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Nonsectarian
Associations
  • NAIS

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Advanced placement courses
  • Classical (e.g., focuses on the "classics")
  • College prep
  • Gifted / high performing
  • Honors track
  • Internships
  • STEM
  • Virtual school
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • None
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Chinese (Mandarin)
  • Latin
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None
Vocational or skills-based training offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • College counselor(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
  • Poetry/Creative writing teacher(s)
  • Robotics/Technology specialist(s)
  • School psychologist
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • Career/college counseling
College preparation / awareness resources offered
  • College prep programs/courses during the year
  • College presentations or information sessions
  • SAT/ACT prep classes
  • Summer college prep programs
  • Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Transportation options
  • Buses to select towns
  • Buses/vans for students only
School facilities
  • Access to farm or natural area
  • Access to sports fields
  • Art room
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • College/career center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Performance stage
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Baseball
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Equestrian
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Nordic Skiing
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Swimming
  • Tennis
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Crew / Rowing
  • Cross country
  • Equestrian
  • Field hockey
  • Golf
  • Ice hockey
  • Lacrosse
  • Nordic Skiing
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
  • Softball
  • Swimming
  • Tennis

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Architecture
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
  • Photography
  • Printmaking
  • Sculpture
  • Textile design
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Dance
  • Drama
  • Improv
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Amnesty international
  • Art club
  • Community service
  • Debate
  • Empower (Womens' Club)
  • Foreign language club: Chinese Club
  • Habitat for Humanity
  • Lesbian, gay, transgender club
  • Literary magazine
  • Math club
  • Medical Club
  • Mock trial competition club
  • Model UN
  • National Honor Society
  • Recycling club
  • Robotics club
  • Social Media Ambassadors Club
  • Student council/government
  • Student newspaper
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

School culture

Dress Code
  • Dress code
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
More from this school
  • Derryfield is accredited by NEASC and belongs to independent school member associations NAIS, AISNE, and ISANNE. While 100% of our graduates attend 4-year college, over 80% are admitted to one of their top 3 schools. One-third of Derryfield's students receive need-based financial aid or merit scholarship. In 2012 Derryfield was granted a $2 million grant to endowed financial aid for gifted and talented students who require need-based aid. Come visit!
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What are your chances?


8 out of 10students were accepted for the 2013-2014 school year.


Students accepted for the 2013-2014 school year
135
Applications received for the 2013-2014 school year
160
Students typically come from these schools
Hampstead Academy
Shaker Road School
local public or parochial schools

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2014-2015 school year
$30000 - $30000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Cornell University
Bates College
Middlebury College
College preparation / awareness offered
Visiting teachers or lecturers from colleges
Summer college prep programs
SAT/ACT prep classes
College presentations or information sessions
College prep programs/courses during the year
Students' post-graduation plans in 2013
2 year college - 0%
4 year college - 100%
Military - 0%
Vocational - 0%
Workforce - 0%
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2108 River Road
Manchester, NH 03104
Website: Click here
Phone: (603) 669-4524

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Hillside Middle School
Manchester, NH


Holy Family Academy
Manchester, NH


St Casimir School
Manchester, NH



ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT