Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Mount Saint Mary Academy

Private | PK-6 | 175 students

Our school is best known for high academic standards and a welcoming family feel
 
 

 
 

Living in Manchester

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $174,500. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,045.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

8 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted January 5, 2012

This school compares to no other. The academics are challenging, the community of families is warm, inviting and welcoming, and the atmosphere is very supportive and loving. Parent involvment is welcomed in the school, unlike other schools we've been to. A true gem...if you are looking for a quality school for your child, Mount Saint Mary Academy is it!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 16, 2007

We transferred from another local Cath. school and couldn't be more pleased. Small classes, caring teachers and a great administration. Fiscally healthy, too!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2007

Outstanding school with wonderful teachers and strong family involvement. The very best experience for my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2007

We have found Mt. St. Mary's to be wonderful, warm, welcoming and even challenging for our gifted child.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 15, 2007

After sending my child to a public school with a great reputation we soon learned it was a big disappointment. We decided to look into Mount St. Mary Academy. Wow! This school has a remarkable curriculum along with a great staff. The teachers are incredibly warm and hard working. This school has provided our child with a safe, warm, and challenging atmosphere that has gone above and beyond what we were getting in a small town public school. Our family has never been happier. The Mount is the way to go!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 30, 2006

As a teacher myself, there is not another school I would choose for my children. My children are thriving academically, socially, and emotionally. Once of my children has special needs and all of the faculity and the principal and the vice principal have worked with my family and child with more than I could have asked for. The academic's keep them challenged and there is such a positive attitude in the school. I feel gifted as as parent to have found such a school for my children to thrive academically and emotionally. The faculty is supportive and loving.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 20, 2005

I have two children currently enrolled at Mount St. Mary's Academy. I couldn't ask for a better school, staff and atomsphere for my children to learn and grow. It has been a wonderful place for my children and family to be associated with. Overall, the programs offered along with the high level of academic achievement is oustanding and I couldn't ask for a better place to send my children.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 16, 2005

I am very disapointed in the way Mount St Mary Academy handles children with abilities above and below the norm. There seem to be no programs available to handle gifted students or students that have learning and development issues nor is any teacher training for these situations provided. Mount St. Mary Academy leads one to believe that they can handle any learning situation but it was obvious to my family after a few months that this statemnt is false. If you have a normal child the school is wonderul and accomodating, with a warm and nurturing environment. If your child is anything beyond normal, find another school.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 89%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 5% 3%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Black 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Teacher resources

Special staff resources available to students Art teacher(s)
Computer specialist(s)
Librarian/media specialist(s)
Music teacher(s)
PE instructor(s)
Nurse(s)
Foreign languages spoken by school staff None
Read more about programs at this school
Source: Provided by a school official.

Special education / special needs

Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Science
  • Technology
Staff resources available to students
  • Computer specialist(s)
School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Science lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club
  • Science club

Arts & music

Specific academic themes or areas of focus
  • Arts (all)
  • Music
Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Performance stage
Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing and written arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Clubs
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

Staff resources available to students
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
School facilities
  • Gym
  • Kitchen
School leaders can update this information here.

School basics

School start time
  • 8:00 am
School end time
  • 2:15 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Mrs. Patricia Baldissard
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Phone
Age at which early childhood or Pre-K program begins
  • 3 years old
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman Catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (603) 621-9254

Programs

Instructional and/or curriculum models used

Don't understand these terms?
  • Core knowledge
  • Project-based
Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Arts (all)
  • Environmental
  • Global
  • Music
  • Religious
  • Science
  • Service learning
  • Social justice
  • Technology
  • Writing
Bi-lingual or language immersion programs offered

Don't understand these terms?
  • No
Level of special education programming offered
  • None - the school offers no services
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish
Level of ESL/ELL programming offered
  • None

Resources

Staff resources available to students
  • Art teacher(s)
  • Computer specialist(s)
  • Librarian/media specialist(s)
  • Music teacher(s)
  • Nurse(s)
  • PE instructor(s)
Foreign languages spoken by staff
  • None
Extra learning resources offered
  • None
Transportation options
  • Public Bus w/ other schools
School facilities
  • Art room
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Auditorium
  • Cafeteria
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Gym
  • Internet access
  • Kitchen
  • Library
  • Parent center
  • Performance stage
  • Playground
  • Science lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Running Club
  • Skiing
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Running Club
  • Skiing

Arts & music

Visual arts
  • Ceramics
  • Drawing / sketching
  • Painting
Music
  • Band
  • Choir / Chorus
Performing arts
  • Creative writing
  • Drama
  • Poetry
Media arts
  • None

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Community service
  • Robotics club
  • Science club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Tutor
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
More from this school
  • Mount Saint Mary Academy is dedicated to the education and growth of children in an atmosphere of peace, justice and love. Finding the school that best fits your child's needs is one of the most important decisions you can make. We strive to create a place where the values you instill at home are also a priority here in the classroom. Mount Saint Mary Academy is a school where your child can feel safe, surrounded by people who value their future as much as you do.
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

This school accepts applications on a

rolling basis

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2013-2014 school year
$3000 - $5000
Vouchers accepted
No
Financial aid offered
No.

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Derryfield School
Nashua Catholic Regional Jr. Highschool
St. Joseph Regional Jr. Highschool
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

2291 Elm St
Manchester, NH 03104
Website: Click here
Phone: (603) 623-3155

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

Webster School
Manchester, NH



Smyth Road School
Manchester, NH



St Casimir School
Manchester, NH


Gossler Park School
Manchester, NH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT