Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

Jacques Memorial Elementary School

Public | PK-1 | 345 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

9 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 3, 2014

I must say this school is by far one of the best schools. The teachers & staff are excellent. I'm so happy I chose milford To reside in & not nashua there's no way my children will slip threw the cracks here. My children are getting an A+ education. One of my boys is struggling with math & reading & he's in kindergarten in Mrs. Mqueeneys class she had noticed right away & got him the exta help! I love that Mrs. Mqueeney has kept me up to date & in the loop with things she has gone the extra mile for my son . My son is improving & doing much better. Thank you for being a great school & having staff an excellent staff. Mrs. Mqueeney is an A+ teacher
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 19, 2013

Letter that I had to write to this school I want to thank you for letting me know that you all changed the meeting of Dustin's IED and calling me to let me know about it. I noticed that my ex wife was there to sign the paperwork but I was never called about it. I was called to let me know that the meeting was going to be on the 21 of this month and now I read on the paperwork you send home with Dustin that you had the meeting on the 14. What is up with that??!! Thanks for letting me be in my child's education!! Also I was reading the paperwork and it stated for the school NOT TO CALL ME UNLESS ITS A EMERGENCY!! Really?? I am the only person that the school can ever get a hold of and now you want to try to cut me out?? Really?!?!? I am not happy with how this school is allowing me to be a part of my sons schooling. To recall I dont think I have been notified of one single parent teacher meeting in the past 2 years!! I am not going to sit back and allow this school to do this to me or my son any longer. I am going to be writing the attorney general and also to the MIlford School board in regards to this matter. This letter is longer but I am limited to how much I can put on
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 31, 2013

I moved here from Nashua. I am not sure why these other parents have a difficult time. I am a busy woman, the teacher, Mrs. Egan called and had a parent teacher conference over the phone. She has kept me in the loop every step of the way. I told them that my son was told at Ledge St. that he did sloppy work. Also his teacher there told me he needed glasses. Well Jaques memorial did an eye test, and said yes his right eye seems weaker but this should not be the cause of his sloppy writing. Instead we find it is things he does not find interesting that he does sloppy work with, Mrs. Egan has made him slow down. He has improved, and seems so happy here. He goes to school when he's sick because he just doesn't want to miss a day. First grade is about building the foundation, if you cannot read and do math you cannot participate in science and social studies. Of course this is what you start with. First graders should have these concentrations in their curriculum. As for not being communicated with, first check that you have shown an interest and not have not given the teacher the impression that she is bothering you. A+ for Jaques I am impressed!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 27, 2011

We had a disappointing 2 years here. The teachers yelled at the kids a lot and only did the minimum required. Also the curriculum is subpar at best. Also, communicating with the teachers is very difficult. They tend to pass the buck.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 20, 2009

Overall we had an OK experience at Jacques. The teachers are great. My biggest problem was the curriculum. District wide, children at this level are only taught reading and math. Anything else is worked into the reading books (social studies, science, etc.). I really felt that my child should be learning a wider range of subjects.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 9, 2009

I think the staff and principal are great and caring about the students. I do think the expectations of what these children have to learn in the first grade is very high. They don't seem to have enough time to socialize and build relationships with friends. After all they are only 6 and 7 year olds.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 27, 2008

The teachers here are pretty good. My son is doing well and is learning alot. My only issue is the amount of home work a 1st grader gets a day. More and more often then my high school children. Otherwise the staff is great and the principal is awesome!!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 27, 2007

Not a great school, they don't control the kids well, and my child hasn;t learned anything in 2 months. I just have a bad experience overall..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 12, 2005

The school is only for 1st grade, a few Readiness classes, and some special education. It's a large school with a dedicated teaching staff. The Principal is a caring man that has a great relationship with the students and the classes are challenging enough to keep a gifted student happy, yet structured well enough that a student that may struggle can also keep up with the class.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

Oops! We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Public and charter school test scores for most states come from the state Department of Education. The most common reasons we might not have this data are either that not enough students took the test or that the school was recently opened, and its scores have not yet been reported.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 92% 89%
Two or more races 3% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 2% 3%
Black 2% 2%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 23%N/A26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

9 Elm St
Milford, NH 03055
Phone: (603) 673-4434

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools






Clark School
Amherst, NH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT