Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Bicentennial Elementary School

Public | PK-5 | 660 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted August 2, 2013

This School curriculum can't be beat.. I have seen so much encouragement from the staff there..
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 27, 2011

This school curriculum can't be beat. I have son who graduated and a daughter in the 4th grade. The school has high expectations of the students and parents, the homework is consistenly hours long each night and your expected level of contribution of time and money in your childs education is higher than other schools but if you want to give your child a good foundation for educations there isn't another school in the private sector that can do it better.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 22, 2010

I am a first year parent at this school, however I've already seen so much encouragement and love from the staff there.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 13, 2010

I have 2 children at Bicentennial. My 5th grader has been there since kindergarten, as has my 2nd grader. We have been consistently impressed with the principal's leadership and teaching staff's enthusiasm and communication. Both boys are in the GT program which is, by far, the weak spot in the building, but better than nothing. What makes Bicentennial over the top is the parental involvement in the building, classrooms and in after school activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 29, 2008

My son goes to Bicentennial school from second grade and i was worried beacuse he was coming from a very good private school.But this school met my expectations.I'm so impressed with the teachers and their home work and class work.I have full faith on this school and i know i did the right choice for putting my son in this school.This year(2008)NECAP result is amazing.Grade 3 got 10 out of 10.Over all i feel its the best elementary school in nashua public school district.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 26, 2004

I have one girl that attends and one that graduated from this school. It is a good school when it comes to acidemics it is great. The only qualms I have is about the pricey field trips, and the expectations of the parents to buy a subscription to Time for kids. Don't get me wrong; I think its good but for parents that can not afford much it makes us feel that the school is more for higher class students
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 9, 2004

This is a great school. My second grader reads chapter books and does basic algebra! There is alot of expectation on parents to help with homework. On average there has been about 30 minutes per night. I do think the class sizes are a little large though.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
88%

2010

 
 
90%

2009

 
 
89%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
92%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

99 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
86%

2010

 
 
88%

2009

 
 
95%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2012.

99 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
88%

2011

 
 
89%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
94%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
92%

2011

 
 
90%

2010

 
 
94%

2009

 
 
85%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
91%

2011

 
 
83%

2010

 
 
95%

2009

 
 
82%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2012.

106 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
70%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students91%
Female93%
Male90%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian100%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (non-Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged85%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability93%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English91%
Non-migrant91%

Reading

All Students89%
Female89%
Male89%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian97%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (non-Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged79%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English87%
Non-migrant89%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female90%
Male96%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian100%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Non-economically disadvantaged96%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English94%
Non-migrant92%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female83%
Male98%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian100%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged93%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English90%
Non-migrant88%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students92%
Female94%
Male92%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian93%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)94%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability94%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English95%
Non-migrant92%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students91%
Female92%
Male91%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian96%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)91%
Economically disadvantaged100%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English93%
Non-migrant91%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students83%
Female92%
Male75%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian93%
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged90%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Non-migrant83%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 60% 90%
Asian 30% 3%
Hispanic 6% 4%
Black 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 11%N/A25%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

296 East Dunstable Rd
Nashua, NH 03062
Phone: (603) 594-4382

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools

World Academy
Nashua, NH







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT