Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Birch Hill Elementary School

Public | K-5

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

5 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted April 25, 2014

My daughter started this year in first grade. Her teacher is amazing and she loves to attend school. The principal and faculty are involved in the development of every child and it is a great environment for kids to prosper in.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2013

My stepson goes to this school and I am completely unsatisfied. School has paperwork showing shared custody yet we have to constantly remind teachers to send him home with copies of report cards and notices. We have to reteach him how to do problems on his homework that the "teacher" supposedly went over during the day.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 19, 2012

This school is amazing! The teachers were the best and i actually cried during graduation.I still visit my teachers to this day. I wish i could still go to this school!


Posted October 14, 2011

Great School, Great Teachers. My son joined the school in Grade 4. His teacher was Mrs. Nelson. She is great teacher and a very nice person.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 22, 2010

My son had Mrs. Gorelick this year for second grade and would have had her again next year for third grade, if we had not decided to move to another state. She is the best, most amazing teacher my son has ever had. She is very patient and encouraging. My son loved going to school everyday and was so sad b/c we were moving and he would not see her next year. He actually cried b/c he did not want a different teacher, he loved her so much and enjoyed her class. I was amazed at all his improvements, especially in his reading level, since having her for his teacher. Losing her as his third grade teacher is the only disappointing thing about our move. I wish I could throw her in box and pack her up too....LOL! Mrs. Gorelick~ you are awesome!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 17, 2010

When my son was at a private kindergarten, his teacher informed me that she felt he was intellectually behind and should be coded. I took him out of private school, knowing he was a bright child and sent him to Birch Hill for first grade. His teacher immediately recognized his learning issue as being an attention problem. She referred him to the reading specialist and I had him tested through his doctor's office. He was diagnosed with ADHD and with the school's help and a few lifestyle changes (diet, and behavioral) my son has thrived. Birch Hill staff has been by our side every step of the way and I now have a happy, well adjusted, straight A student! The staff at this school genuinely cares about each and every child that walks through their door and are slow to pass judgement but quick to offer help.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 7, 2009

I did not feel that my child was not challenged enough. Overall I am very satisfied by the efforts from administration and teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 5, 2007

I was a previous student at this school two years ago and I think that this school is amazing. The taechers and the assembly's and where the fundraising went to I thought was really thoughtful and fun. Mr. Mckean, mrs. Donohue, mrs. Chaperian, and mrs. Nagle were my teachers and I thank them very much and for all the good times.


Posted January 14, 2007

My Daughter went to this school for all 5 grades and she and I knew she was very lucky to attend this school. Her Dad died when she was 6 and that year was rough for her until she was assigned to Mrs. Johnsons class. Mrs. Johnson had a similar situation as a child where she lost her parents. I can not put into words what a wonderful inspiration she was to my child and myself as a single parent. We had to move out of the area of Birch Hill and we applied for a variance per special reasons and she was accepted to continue learning at Birch Hill for all 5 years. I wish I could write more but word count wont allow. Thank You Birch Hill for saving my child. We love you all and will never forget. Ms. Kim Mello
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 3, 2006

My daughter went to this school from k-5th grade. I'm pleased with the overall quality of the school. Has good music and math programs.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 9, 2004

My daughter is heading into her last year at Birch Hill Elementary and she has developed beautifully academically, and socially. I have a great appreciation for this schools staff including teachers, principals, and councilors. I couldn't be happier with the guidance and education she has recieved at Birch Hill.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 6, 2003

This is my 10th year as a parent of a Birch Hill student. This school is a great place for students, staff and parents. The principal, Mr. Richards, creates an atmosphere of appreciation and respect for all.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
84%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

90 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
69%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
87%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
76%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
92%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

98 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 53% in 2012.

99 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
49%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 73% in 2014.

84 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
74%

2013

 
 
82%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
80%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
83%

2013

 
 
75%

2012

 
 
80%

2011

 
 
86%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 62% in 2014.

82 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
73%

2013

 
 
60%

2012

 
 
44%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female67%
Male77%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian76%
Hispanic or Latino64%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Non-migrant72%

Reading

All Students69%
Female70%
Male68%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian61%
Hispanic or Latino57%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)73%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability69%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English72%
Non-migrant69%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students76%
Female75%
Male75%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino64%
White (non-Hispanic)76%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English80%
Non-migrant76%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a

Reading

All Students83%
Female87%
Male77%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino63%
White (non-Hispanic)85%
Economically disadvantaged66%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability83%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Non-migrant83%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students74%
Female75%
Male73%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian90%
Hispanic or Latino71%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged68%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability76%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English78%
Non-migrant74%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students83%
Female93%
Male74%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian80%
Hispanic or Latino91%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged82%
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English89%
Non-migrant83%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students73%
Female83%
Male64%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian90%
Hispanic or Latino67%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged65%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability74%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English79%
Non-migrant73%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 89%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 12% 3%
Hispanic 12% 4%
Black 3% 2%
Two or more races 3% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

17 Birch Hill Dr
Nashua, NH 03063
Phone: (603) 594-4340

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT