Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Fairgrounds Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 777 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
Based on 1 rating

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 24, 2012

The leadership in this school is awful! The principal, just as another rater mentioned, has a very bad attitude when addressed by parents about concerns. The assistant principal, Mrs. Coffey, is by far a better!! Although there appears to be a discipline policy, it is not followed. Favoritism shows its ugly head when it comes to consequences. There is very little positive recognition. Some of the teachers are GREAT, but unfortunately the number of great ones considering how many there are in the school, doesn't allow for another star in the rating. The online parent portal is useless. It's information too late. Especially when teachers do not allow for late work. Communication takes A LOT of effort on the parents side, and you will be lucky to get a response. Again, there are some good teachers that are really good with communication, but majority seem to think communication with parents is not necessary no matter what type of student you have. I could say much more, but let me just say this, if there was another option for me to place my currently attending students, I would move them in a heartbeat!! Change the principal and this school could have potential!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 22, 2011

Too soon,maybe later. I need more time to decide. This is why I am on this site, to learn more about this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 4, 2010

My child is a 6th grader here. While the efforts of most of the teachers is great they offer candy as a reward tool mostly on a daily basis which I do not agree with. I am finding the support of the school principle is absolutely lacking he has a really poor attitude with parents when asking questions or having concerns the vice principle is much better. I feel that too much is put upon the kids to figure out on their own. Bullying here is a large issue here especially in after school sports and programs with little teacher involvement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 1, 2010

School bussing and the acts said or done by students during this transfer activity is poor. This area seems to be a gap in that it's easier for the bus drivers to claim they heard or saw nothing rathe rthan get involved. This only condones the offending students words or actions and worsens the overal atmosphere on the bus.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 24, 2009

My child used to go to Fairgrounds, and the level of support is amazing. I just love the idea of teams, and honor, extension, and foundation. being in honor has really helped her achieve her full potential!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 3, 2009

My son is a 6th grader at Fairgrounds. In our experience, the teaching staff is good; however, the upper level leadership is severely lacking -- in particular with regard to discipline. There is absolutely no consistency or standardization in how the kids are disciplined; two students may commit the same infraction and yet receive completely different punishments that do not fit the 'crime'. We've also found that general communication is often last-minute. Also, not a huge fan of the trimester system.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2008

this school has excellent education so im hearby declaring this school excellent


Posted January 5, 2008

Fairgrounds 2006-2008 Is EXCELLENT they have improved all their behaviors and have been learning WAY better then elm and pennichuck! Im very PLEASED keep up the great work
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2007

Im very dissapointed with the school system at fairgrounds. The school board does not have control of the children. They use detentions as a prime source of disapline. This doesnt not faze the students at all and they continue to act in a very imature way.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2005

I am very disappointed, Everything seems to be the child's responsibilty when they are absent it's up to the child to figure things out! Poor effort on the treacher's behalf. Do they really care about he children, or the paycheck?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 20, 2004

The 2002-2003 school year was a tough one for Fairgrounds as the school was attempting to transition from a Jr. High mentality to that of a middle school. There may be one or two teachers that are not the best, but on the whole when any adult commits him or herself to training a child for the future betterment of our society I would say that he/she deserves accolade and not put down. The area I see as the weakest in the school is discipline and that is simply because parents have tied the hands of administrators and teachers to use detentions as the sole disciplinary resource. These detentions do not even faze students. Suspension is only utilized for the severest of offenses.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted March 15, 2004

I have had 5 childern i the nashua system and fairgrounds jr high school seems to be the worst for the teachers and extra effort i am disappointed. Everything seems to not be thier job. My chilsd loses in that.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

209 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2011

 
 
69%

2010

 
 
65%

2009

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

211 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
79%

2011

 
 
81%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
77%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2012.

228 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
57%

2010

 
 
61%

2009

 
 
64%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

224 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
73%

2011

 
 
73%

2010

 
 
77%

2009

 
 
80%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2012.

238 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
58%

2010

 
 
61%

2009

 
 
71%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2012.

237 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
85%

2011

 
 
82%

2010

 
 
83%

2009

 
 
78%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 67% in 2012.

237 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2009

 
 
64%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students68%
Female68%
Male68%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)41%
Asian90%
Hispanic or Latino33%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged75%
Title I program (current)50%
With educational disability14%
Without educational disability75%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English71%
Non-migrant68%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students79%
Female80%
Male79%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)75%
Asian90%
Hispanic or Latino62%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)83%
Economically disadvantaged69%
Non-economically disadvantaged85%
Title I program (current)67%
With educational disability41%
Without educational disability84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Non-migrant79%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students66%
Female67%
Male64%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)36%
Asian75%
Hispanic or Latino45%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged49%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability29%
Without educational disability70%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English69%
Non-migrant66%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 220%

Reading

All Students73%
Female82%
Male67%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)45%
Asian90%
Hispanic or Latino64%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Non-economically disadvantaged84%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability29%
Without educational disability79%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English75%
Non-migrant73%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 260%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female64%
Male63%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian86%
Hispanic or Latino27%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)68%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability19%
Without educational disability69%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English65%
Non-migrant63%

Reading

All Students85%
Female87%
Male83%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian100%
Hispanic or Latino77%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)87%
Economically disadvantaged75%
Non-economically disadvantaged92%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability39%
Without educational disability91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Non-migrant85%

Writing

All Students75%
Female82%
Male67%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asian93%
Hispanic or Latino50%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)79%
Economically disadvantaged57%
Non-economically disadvantaged86%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability27%
Without educational disability81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Non-migrant75%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 73% 90%
Hispanic 15% 4%
Asian 6% 3%
Black 4% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Two or more races 1% 1%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 40%N/A25%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

27 Cleveland St
Nashua, NH 03060
Phone: (603) 594-4393

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT