Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.

WHAT'S YOUR RELATIONSHIP TO THIS SCHOOL?
parent
current student
teacher
school official
community member
How would you rate your experience at this school?
Terrible
Bad
Average
Good
Great
25 OVERALL RATINGS

characters left.
Do you feel this school develops honesty, integrity, and fairness in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops compassion, caring, and empathy in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops respect in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (2 responses)
characters left.
Do you feel this school develops persistence, grit, and determination in its students?
Strongly disagree
Disagree
Neutral
Agree
Strongly agree
Currently, most people answered Strongly agree (1 response)
characters left.
How do you feel about the amount of homework given at this school?
Not enough
Just right
Too much
Don't know
Currently, most people answered Just right (1 response)
characters left.
How effective do you feel the teachers are at this school?
Very ineffective
Ineffective
Somewhat effective
Effective
Very effective
Currently, most people answered Very effective (2 responses)
characters left.
Is there someone at this school who you want to say "thanks" to?
School leader
Teacher
Staff member
Parent
Student
Have your say!
Let others know more about this school.
characters left.
There are 33 reviews about all of the school topics.

Review comments


Fairgrounds Middle School
Develops respect: Strongly agree

Posted April 17, 2016
- a parent
The principal's theme is "we are one". It units the students and staff to respect everyone.

Fairgrounds Middle School 5

Posted April 17, 2016
- a parent
The principal cares deeply for this school and it shows. Staff and the support folks are helpful and willing to work with parents. Classes are reasonable in size. The school works hard to ensure that your student is in the correct level for each subject (don't have to take all honors if an honor student -- placed where they learn the best). Campus is not attractive, but don't let that influence your opinion of this school. The quality is found in the teachers and the education the kids get inside the building. Many academic, artistic and sporting activities for children before and after school. Very caring atmosphere.


Fairgrounds Middle School 5

Posted July 26, 2015
- a community member
You are lucky to attend this school. The social studies department is the best! But the science department is a close second.

Fairgrounds Middle School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted July 26, 2015
- a community member
This school is fantastic. Best middle school in Nashua by far. It has the best teachers in the district. The discipline could be stronger, but otherwise, I have no complaints.

Fairgrounds Middle School 2

Posted January 08, 2015
- a parent
As mentioned by other reviewers the principal is absolutely useless, nice person, but lacks any leadership. A number of bullying issues brought to their attention, which legally should be reported to the state, they are not. Repeated name calling, threatening, nasty text messages brought to his attention and we were told, " it's just kid stuff". There are a few amazing teachers that go above and beyond, but far too many are simply not doing their job. Having several children, one with a learning disability, I can say that many teachers do not follow the IEP, and do not make the necessary accomdations as outlined in the IEP. If I could afford to send my children to private school, I would in a heartbeat! The principal retired last week and the Assistant Principal has been promoted. She is a strong leader but has a tremendous task before her to change the climate/ atmosphere of the school around. Hopefully, under this new leadership poor teaching practices that have been allowed to become routine will be corrected.


Fairgrounds Middle School 5

Posted August 04, 2014
- a parent
We currently moved here last year my son began in fairgrounds elementry school I read the reviews before enrollment and was concerned since this would be a new school in a new State for my son but I must say I couldn't have been more pleased all around with the teachers the principles etc all around there was team effort and my son loved this school . Actually he stated on several occasions how it was a much better school than the one he had been attending for the 5 years he had been in school . I realize people like to put out negative comments and took that as a grain of salt and I'm glad I did cause this school is excellent . Sometimes it's not about the teachers & principles it's the students themselves who can make a good place look bad .

Fairgrounds Middle School 2

Posted August 02, 2014
- a community member
im going to be starting middle school at fairgrounds elementary school since i did not get into ASD. im a little bit scared by the fact that the principle has a poor attitude, and ive heard a lot a bullying has been here by the reviews i read. also the teachers are not that motivated to teach

Fairgrounds Middle School 4

Posted August 24, 2012
- a parent
My son recently graduated from Fairgrounds after attending Bicentennial. With the transition from elementary to middle school being a bit of a hurdle I am thankful that the staff took a real interest in his education and treated us like family. They were open and honest in communicating issues, and Mr., Gray particularly served as mentor, coach, role model and friend. An involved parent maximizes a child's educational experience.


Fairgrounds Middle School 1

Posted May 24, 2012
- a parent
The leadership in this school is awful! The principal, just as another rater mentioned, has a very bad attitude when addressed by parents about concerns. The assistant principal, Mrs. Coffey, is by far a better!! Although there appears to be a discipline policy, it is not followed. Favoritism shows its ugly head when it comes to consequences. There is very little positive recognition. Some of the teachers are GREAT, but unfortunately the number of great ones considering how many there are in the school, doesn't allow for another star in the rating. The online parent portal is useless. It's information too late. Especially when teachers do not allow for late work. Communication takes A LOT of effort on the parents side, and you will be lucky to get a response. Again, there are some good teachers that are really good with communication, but majority seem to think communication with parents is not necessary no matter what type of student you have. I could say much more, but let me just say this, if there was another option for me to place my currently attending students, I would move them in a heartbeat!! Change the principal and this school could have potential!

Fairgrounds Middle School 3

Posted March 22, 2011
- a parent
Too soon,maybe later. I need more time to decide. This is why I am on this site, to learn more about this school.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2016 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Fairgrounds Middle School
27 Cleveland St, Nashua, NH  03060
Rating: 3 out of 5 based on 33 reviews. (603) 594-4393
Last modified Fairgrounds Middle School is a Public school that serves grades 6-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 4 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Top