Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Pennichuck Middle School

Public | 6-8 | 704 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
No new ratings
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

19 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 7, 2014

The 6th grade writing teacher on neon is not enthusiastic and teaches curriculum below what is supposed to be. Same goes for the reading teacher on neon. The 6th grade science teacher is enthusiastic and the best teacher ever. She helps kids in school as well as if they need new clothes, shoes, etc and there family cannot support the student. I also know that she has bought these things with her own money. She has done this also with myself, when she realized she had hurt my feelings in class she(with her own time and money) bought a bracelet from a store, to help support my new business. She has to be the best teacher ever. I could never say enough nice things about her. The 6th grade neon math and social studies teachers are enthusiastic and helpful to students as well, but, the science teacher stands out of the crowd with her kind, enthusiastic, and upbeat attitude. The school lunches offer a wide variety of meals and the UA teachers are great. The rest if the staff really does their jobs great and the school is a happy, fun, and clean place to be. The only thing bringing down the score is the 6th grade LA teachers in neon.


Posted July 1, 2010

My daughter just graduated, and she is well prepared for high school. Education is only as good as the kids are willing to work for. The teachers and Principal were always available if any parent wanted to talk to them. We will miss Pennichuck Middle School, and their staff.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 25, 2010

I went to this school for all of my Middle School time,Okay staff most teachers are nice some not.Students not as great,bad stuff occurs a WHOLE lot better than the Nashua North though.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 28, 2009

I love Pennichuck!!! At penn. you hav soooo many opritunities to improve and have fun. I love the teachers. They always try makin the assignments fun and =not boring because they want us to have fun wen we learn.We were choosen to be a spotlight school last year (2008-2009) and that was awsome. The principal is always smiling and happy to see us at school, and makes sure that everyone is safe always. My name is lauren and I am proud to say that I go to Pennichuck middle school.
—Submitted by a student


Posted October 15, 2009

I have had two children attend this school on very different teams and I have had a great experience. My children have developed great writing skills and math skills during their enrollment. Most teachers are very cooperative and provide high expectations for them based on their academic level. Leadership has always supported any issues that may have occurred and the athletic program has developed my daughters self-esteem. With the way we as parents have become, I'd say they do the best that they are able too with support of some parents and little support of others.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted June 21, 2009

this school is not strict enough, although it has very good athletic oppertuntities,your child will not be getting a proper education
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 7, 2009

Lots of gloss but little substance in the leadership of this school. I agree the teachers do a wonderful job under the circumstances.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 18, 2008

I loved this school!!! The teachers are great and I had a great middle school experience there!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 14, 2008

This school is better funded than the other 2 middle schools in Nashua. The teachers try to help stuggling students. The only time they're not able to is either because the student is unwilling to be helped, or the parent(s) get involved and somehow mess things up.
—Submitted by a student


Posted July 21, 2008

This school is amazing!!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 2, 2008

I am a hands on parent, I am in and out of the school ofter. I am very happy with the faculty and the way the principal leads the school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 1, 2008

The school does not appear to care about or provides little or no support for students who are struggling. My son is failing English and the school and his teacher are doing little or nothing to help him.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 26, 2008

Pennichuck Middle School has been a great learning expierience in and out of the classroom. We have enjoyed learning here and the faculty is great!
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 3, 2007

It's a good school, but so many unfortunenet events occur there, you might almost believe it is cursed. ;-)
—Submitted by a student


Posted June 10, 2007

I have witnessed a big difference in the poor leadership and the excellent teachers.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 23, 2007

Pennichuck Middle School is an excellent school. The teachers there are great and very easy to work with. They often had great humor and made learning enjoyable. The principal is great. He does a great job managing the school and keeps things in check. The extracurricular activities are plentiful and beneficial to the students who do attend Pennichuck. Pennichuck Middle School IS the best middle school in the region.
—Submitted by a former student


Posted December 2, 2006

I would agree that the leadership in this school is poor.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 20, 2006

The principal is always nice unless you are a troublemaker and he supports extracurricular activities by attending games.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 28, 2006

Poor leadership from the principal.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

226 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
65%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 79% in 2012.

225 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
64%

2010

 
 
61%

2009

 
 
72%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2012.

220 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
63%

2011

 
 
53%

2010

 
 
58%

2009

 
 
61%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

220 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
75%

2011

 
 
59%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
71%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 68% in 2012.

219 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
58%

2011

 
 
49%

2010

 
 
62%

2009

 
 
66%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 82% in 2012.

219 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
76%

2010

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
70%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 67% in 2012.

219 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
68%

2009

 
 
56%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female71%
Male67%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino49%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Title I program (current)61%
With educational disability22%
Without educational disability76%
English language learners36%
Proficient in English71%
Non-migrant69%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 270%

Reading

All Students69%
Female75%
Male62%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)70%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Non-economically disadvantaged80%
Title I program (current)60%
With educational disability9%
Without educational disability78%
English language learners27%
Proficient in English73%
Non-migrant69%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 262%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students63%
Female61%
Male64%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)33%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino41%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)70%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Non-economically disadvantaged73%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability8%
Without educational disability70%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English65%
Non-migrant63%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students75%
Female73%
Male76%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)75%
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino48%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)82%
Economically disadvantaged67%
Non-economically disadvantaged82%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability28%
Without educational disability81%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Non-migrant75%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students58%
Female59%
Male57%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino37%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)67%
Economically disadvantaged42%
Non-economically disadvantaged70%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability27%
Without educational disability63%
English language learners10%
Proficient in English61%
Non-migrant58%

Reading

All Students83%
Female80%
Male84%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino75%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)89%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Non-economically disadvantaged90%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability53%
Without educational disability88%
English language learners60%
Proficient in English83%
Non-migrant83%

Writing

All Students68%
Female78%
Male60%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latino55%
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged58%
Non-economically disadvantaged76%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability44%
Without educational disability73%
English language learners50%
Proficient in English69%
Non-migrant68%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 70% 90%
Hispanic 19% 4%
Black 5% 2%
Asian 4% 3%
Two or more races 1% 1%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 44%N/A25%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

207 Manchester St
Nashua, NH 03060
Phone: (603) 594-4308

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT