Advertisement
Advertisement

No rating

GreatSchools Rating

St. Christopher School

Private | PK-6 | 325 students

We provide a solid academic and moral education for all our students.
 
 

 
 

Living in Nashua

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $215,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,040.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 1 rating
2013:
Based on 5 ratings
2012:
Based on 5 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

14 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted February 1, 2014

I love St. Christopher School! My son entered as a 5th grader last year and he fit in right away!! He loves his teachers and has made a lot of friends. The experience has been so positive that I have registered my daughter for next year! The friendly and welcoming atmosphere is apparent in all areas of the school. I asked a lot of time of the principal and she was more than happy to help me through the decision making process. I showed up one day unexpectedly and she gave me 45 minutes of her time. My husband and I were impressed by this! I would recommend St. Christopher School to anyone who wants a quality education for their children along with a warm and caring environment.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 23, 2013

St. Christopher School has been the best experience for our family! I came to the school in 2010 and we have been so impressed with the academics. When the new principal arrived the curriculum improved considerably and the atmosphere in the school was uplifted! St. Christopher focuses on the spiritual aspect of our children's lives and shows them how to give back to the community. We also like how there are rules to follow not matter how small and that it gives our children guidelines that will follow them for the rest of their lives. If you haven't chosen a school for your children I would highly recommend St. Christopher!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 27, 2013

This school spends more time on petty issues like skirts being a quarter inch too short and sock color than the bigger problems of bullying and an antiquated curriculum. The administration only wants parental involvement when it comes to fundraising and if you have anything but praise for the teachers or administration you are told that your child is the problem, not the school. If your child needs extra help or has any issue medical or otherwise that might need attention the teachers will make your child feel horrible about the inconvenience. I would definitely recommend local public schools over this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 2, 2013

With a Catholic University education I brought my child to St Christopher with a high regard for Catholic Education, only to be very disappointed. The public school actually offers a better student/teacher ratio and stronger academics. With a supersized class size the teacher was constantly struggling to keep the children disciplined and education played a second priority. They do not have an effective method to stop bullies. My child would tell me about a class bully that intimidated and hurt the children in the class and his behavior never changed. The recess grounds are not as nature rich and private as most schools, it is a parking lot that the public can walk through anytime and a gated playground that is shared. Standing under trees, sitting in the grass and playing in the snow during recess are not allowed, and result in a time out. Parent involvement opportunities are rich in volunteer and fundraising, but weak in class participation. If you go to the principle with any concerns, brace yourself. She will tell you to rethink the school. She does not want to change anything. We did rethink it and no longer spend our hard earned income on tuition at St. Chris.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 13, 2013

We as parents are very disappointed with St Christophers School. If your child needs a little extra help/attention in class or is shy/reserved no extra help is given. It seems all children needs to learn at the same pace or get left behind and somehow it becomes the students "fault" for not keeping up. The schools reputation is very important to this administration.... If in doubt.........
—Submitted by a parent


Posted February 7, 2013

St Christopher is a very welcoming school for all communities and cultures! A perfect example is we celebrated Diwali Indian festival of lights in the classrooms and children in our class made mayan dolls for their buddies. They associated with a wonderful church where children can attend mass and retail values of the catholic faith. The school gives great opportunities to have parents interact with the school and the children. There is a wonderful parent group that coordinates multiple activities for the school. They have a playground for the children and multiple extra curricular activities. Everyone is so kind and nice!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 24, 2012

This is my son's second year at St. Chris. The staff is very nice. My son did not like learning prior to St. Chris and now he is really enjoying school. It is a happy, friendly and positive enviornement.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 8, 2012

Curriculum needs to be revamped. I am disappointed with the (lack of)day to day activities and the school leadership. My child is behind others her age who went elsewhere! In Pre-K, she hated going to school! So sad.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 14, 2012

My child has attended St. Christopher School for the past 2 years, and we could not be happier with the teachers, staff, and other families. At St. Chris, you really feel like you are part of the community. Everyone goes out of their way to make you feel welcome. My child comes home happy and full of knowledge. Her teachers have done a great job with my child's academics and help us reinforce good morals.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 12, 2012

St. Christopher School is an amazing place! The academic standards are high and the teachers and staff go out of their way to nurture their students and help them reach their fullest potential. I especially like the sense of community at the school - parents are welcomed into the school in many capacities and are seen as partners in their child's education. Plus, I love the way the interactive whiteboards are used in every 1st to 6th grade classroom! Very cool!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 4, 2012

Curriculum is very old and not up to today s standards of learning. Old school mentality thinking all children will learn the same way, so gifted children are not challenged and students will learning disabilities are not supported. Poor leadership with Administration!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 27, 2009

This school has been great for my 6 year old son. The class sizes are small so he gets the attention that he needs. I espeically like that no bullying is allowed or tolerated. The children are held accountable for their actions and in addition to a great education the children are taught moral and spiritual values.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 26, 2003

The school challenges the children to achieve their personal best whatever that may be for the individual.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 10, 2003

This is a school that you can be proud of. The students not only excel academically, but are also challenged to learn morals, develop strong values and assume responsibility to each other and society.
—Submitted by a parent


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 92%
Asian 4% 2%
Black 3% 2%
Hispanic 2% 3%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Outdoor learning lab
Clubs
  • Robotics club

Arts & music

School facilities
  • Music room
Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing and written arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics
Clubs
  • Drama club
  • Yearbook

Language learning

Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Health & athletics

School facilities
  • Garden/Greenhouse
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

School start time
  • 8:30 am
School end time
  • 3:00 pm
Before school or after school care / program onsite
  • Before school: starts at 7:00 a.m.
  • After school: ends at 5:30 p.m.
School Leader's name
  • Cindy Clarke, Principal
Best ways for parents to contact the school
  • Email
  • Phone
Gender
  • Coed
Boarding options
  • Day school
Is there an application process?
  • Yes
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA
Fax number
  • (603) 594-9253

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious
Foreign languages taught
  • Spanish

Resources

Transportation options
  • Bus--residents north of river
School facilities
  • Audiovisual aids
  • Chapel/spiritual reflection center
  • Computer lab
  • Garden/Greenhouse
  • Internet access
  • Library
  • Music room
  • Outdoor learning lab
  • Playground
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Sports

Boys sports
  • Basketball
  • Cross country
  • Skiing
  • Soccer
Girls sports
  • Basketball
  • Cheerleading
  • Cross country
  • Skiing
  • Soccer

Arts & music

Music
  • Band
  • Bell / Handbell choir
  • Choir / Chorus
  • Instrumental music lessons
  • Orchestra
Performing arts
  • Drama
Media arts
  • Computer animation
  • Graphics

Student clubs

Clubs (distinct from courses)
  • Book/reading club
  • Boy scouts
  • Chess club
  • Cub scouts
  • Drama club
  • Game club
  • Girl scouts
  • Robotics club
  • Student council/government
  • Yearbook
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Photos

School culture

Dress Code
  • Uniforms
Bullying policy
  • This school has a bullying and/or cyber bullying policy in place.
Parent involvement
  • Attend parent nights
  • Chaperone school trips
  • Coach sports teams or extracurricular activities
  • Join PTO/PTA
  • Organize cultural events
  • Organize fundraising events (school auction, bake sales, etc.)
  • Present special topics during curricular units
  • Serve on school improvement team or governance council
  • Volunteer in the classroom
  • Volunteer time after school
School leaders can update this information here.

Apply

 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Apply now
 

What does it cost?

Tuition range for the 2012-2013 school year
$3000 - $5000
Financial aid offered
Yes.
School-based aid
Parish Support Program

Planning ahead

Students typically attend these schools after graduating
Nashua Catholic Jr. High School
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

20 Cushing Ave
Nashua, NH 03064
Website: Click here
Phone: (603) 882-7442

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT