Advertisement
Advertisement

Bishop Guertin High School

Private | 9-12 | 886 students

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 

Living in Nashua

Situated in an urban neighborhood. The median home value is $145,000. The average monthly rent for a 2 bedroom apartment is $1,100.

Source: Sperling's Best Places
 
Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 1 rating
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

12 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 10, 2013

I absolutely loved my BG experience. I could not imagine what my life would have been like had I attended any other school. I was awarded so many opportunities, and I truly felt that my time at BG involved so much more than just getting a great education. I was so prepared for college (so much more than my friends in college!). The four years I spent at BG were some of the best in my life. Great friends, safe community, caring and nurturing teachers- wow, I was lucky!!
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 17, 2013

I am a graduate of Bishop Guertin and transferred to BG as an upperclassmen. I was immediately impressed by the warmth of the faculty, strength of the academic program, and spirit of the student body. As a new student in the school I was pleasantly surprised by how friendly and inviting the other students were. They made my social transition an easy one. I highly recommend this school for anyone interested in a challenging academic program that will prepare you very well for college and an inviting and friendly student community.


Posted January 8, 2012

Bishop Guertin, for the school itself, is a great school. The academics are great, and the teachers are so personable. However, you do need to be aware of a few things before you transfer. A lot of the people are very narrow-minded, and I among several other people I know have had troubles fitting in. It's a great learning environment, but I feel like I'm missing out on having friends at school. I value the academics there so much though, and I would not transfer. Another thing you have to be careful is the people you are with in a class. The classes offered at BG are college preparatory through AP. Most of the people in college prep classes are there because their parents are making them go to a private school, and they don't really want to be there. Not all of the classes, however, are like that. Bishop Guertin isn't for everybody, and it is a big decision to make. I am currently a sophomore there, and I am doing very well in all of my classes, and I have great relationships with my teachers. However, I feel that socially, I will not have the same experiences as most other students will.
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 9, 2009

BG is the best school in the area for many reasons. The teachers are fantastic and will work 1 on 1 with you if you need helpwith anything. Also, the guidance is extremely accomadating. Sports are #1 in the area even though basketball has been struggling a bit. I would recommend this school to anyone who wants to achieve in life
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 25, 2009

The academics here are incredible; I know I have a substantial advantage over the majority of high school students in New Hampshire. I am very thankful to be able to go to this school.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 9, 2009

I am a former student at BG. As a top-performing student during my time there, I felt the teachers were responsive to individual needs and provided a challenging environment for learning. I felt the guidance department was especially vigilant about my needs as a student. They were more than willing to help me find alternatives when I felt I wasn't being challenged by the standard academic track. I would warn parents, however, that high school is not just about the academic experience. These years are the most important in terms of emotional and social growth. Despite my high grades and involvement in extracurriculars, I was absolutely miserable at this school. It is important to make sure your child is the right fit. I found the students superficial, narrow-minded and overly concerned with athletics/sports. Before sending your child to BG, make sure he/she will be happy there.
—Submitted by a student


Posted November 29, 2007

I am a teacher there (8 years) and am now a parent. Having been around, I can honestly say I feel like 'I landed pow right in a pot of jam!' The Brothers of the Sacred Heart are a marvelouly down-to-earth group of religous and their philosophy is actually put into practice there. Hospitality, teaching the whole person, discipline and excellence with a human face: these and more are lived out there. We excel in all realms in the best way and send 98% of our students to college or military academies. It's not for everyone and it's not perfect, nothing is. But I would feel very confident to investigate this option if I were you.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 27, 2007

My son is a junior this year, and he could not imagine going to any other school...period. The teachers are exceptional, the guidance counselors are very supportive, and the athletics coaches treat the kids like their own, encouraging them to achieve their personal best. The Bishop Guertin community is very close-knit, caring, and supportive, and those qualities are exemplified by the faculty and staff. Our daughter will attend BG next year and she is thrilled to have the opportunity to attend a school that her brother speaks so highly of. There is a reason why so many BG alum send their own children to the school - it's that good. I don't understand the 11/17/2007 comment about the faculty. That is most certainly not the case today, and has never been in the three years we've been part of the BG family.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted November 17, 2007

I find the faculty to be disrespectful impolite and condescending. So how will they treat your child attending there?
—Submitted by a parent


Posted August 7, 2005

My daughter is a junior and on a nationally ranked debate team. Excellent support from the school for this very involved and time consuming activity, coaches are amazing. Excellent administration, seemed to really like what they are doing and the kids sense that there is genuine commitment and concern. Discipline is quite good, although as with any high school there are incidents such as drinking at the prom but they are addressed. My younger child will be starting as a freshman.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 11, 2004

I transferred over to BG at the end of my freshmen year, and now, as a senior, I cannot imagine ever doubting the decision! It has been amazing, and I would recommend it to anyone! I love the community, the teachers, the student body...it is a great environment to learn and have fun. I cannot say enough good things about Bishop Guertin!
—Submitted by a student


Posted August 19, 2003

Bishop Guertin is a great experience for any student. The teachers and support staff are exceptional. The school competes in many athletic events and there are numerous extracurricular clubs and activities. Bishop Guertin relies heavily upon parental involvement in fundraising, and volunteering at the school's various social functions. Being a Catholic school, discipline is maintained throughout all aspects of student life. There is a dress code, and it is enforced as a means of creating a better academic environment. Bishop Guertin is probably the safest school in New Hampshire; students that are accepted to the school are chosen based upon not only academics, but their whole person as well. This demanding selection process serves to eliminate and students that could pose a threat to the safety of others. Overall, Bishop Guertin is not just a place to educate children, it is an experience. The Guertin experience is something that will change any student and prepare them to succeed in college and beyond.
—Submitted by a former student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

We currently do not have any test score information for this school. Unlike public schools, private schools are not always required to report data about their schools or not required to take the same tests as public schools. Many private schools take different standardized tests; however, that information is often made available only to families of enrolled students. We strive to acquire additional private school data whenever available.

Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 91% 92%
Asian 6% 2%
Hispanic 2% 3%
Black 1% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 1%
Source: NCES, 2009-2010

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Science, Technology, Engineering, & Math (STEM)

School facilities
  • Computer lab
School leaders can update this information here.

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

School basics

Gender
  • Coed
Affiliation
  • Roman catholic
Associations
  • NCEA

Programs

Specific academic themes or areas of focus

Don't understand these terms?
  • Religious

Resources

School facilities
  • Computer lab
  • Library
Partnerships with local resources and organizations
  • Diocese of Manchester
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

194 Lund Rd
Nashua, NH 03060
Phone: (603) 889-4107

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT