Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

New Hampton Community School

Public | K-5 | 128 students

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

4 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 2 ratings
2012:
Based on 4 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Sweep tile
No Purchase Necessary. Void where prohibited. Sweepstakes begins at 12:00:00 AM Pacific Time (PT) on April 1, 2014 and ends at 11:59:59 on April 30, 2014 (the “Promotion Period”). Open to legal residents of the U.S. and D.C., 13 years and older. Each school that receives a new, published review will get one (1) entry into the sweepstakes, up to ten (10) entries throughout the Promotion Period. See the Official Rules for details. Sponsor: GreatSchools, 1999 Harrison St., Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612.

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted May 16, 2013

My grandson and grand-daughter attend NHCS and I am very pleased with the team at this school. As an Early Childhood Educator for the past 25 years, I am happy to say that the teachers really care about the overall success of each child. Educators in our country are not recognized for all the efforts they make and for the many hats they wear each day. Their after-school program has been extremely helpful for my grandchildren and they enjoy the opportunity to have some assistance with homework each day. I live in Orlando, Florida and I stay connected via telephone and through the web site. The team allowed for me to participate, via conference call, for the most recent update of my grandson's IEP. They did not have to do this but they understood the connection I have with my grandson and the need to keep me abreast of his academic and emotional development while in their care. Thank you NHCS Team for being the wonderful group of educators you are. I appreciate all you do for both my grandchildren. To the person that said the teacher is an educator, vice principal, and janitor; you must understand that educators are naturally that and more to our children every single day!


Posted April 12, 2013

We have had mixed feelings about this school. Big discrepancies in education depending on what teacher you have. Some are amazingly talented and gifted other teachers should move on or retire (Union makes it almost impossible to fire bad teachers). My child has brought home piles and piles of worksheets. Have seen very few creative projects this year. My child has never not liked school until this year. Principle is only half time at NHCS and half time at another school which I think is big problem. Board does not seem to think outside of the box when discussing improvements. Art and music are half year programs. We have decided to look elsewhere for our child's education.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 21, 2012

As the parent of a child that is in his second year at NHCS I can only assume that the negative review was written about a different school and placed here in error. The teaching staff, both classroom and SPED, are caring and responsive to the needs of the children and the concerns of the parent. The support staff are friendly and you get the sense they like working at NHCS. The principal will intervene in a positive manner for the child regardless of staff history with the district, and is not afraid to deviate from the 'norm' if it is truly in the best interest of the child. I'm pleased my son attends NHCS.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2012

NHCS is an amazing, one of a kind school! The teachers all care very deeply about each and every child that sets foot into the halls of the school. The dedication to provide a safe, sound and quality educational base for learning is evident from the moment you walk through the door. There is a unity amongst the children and staff alike. NHCS has excellent leadership, and dedication from it's principal. I am deeply saddened to read a negative (and poorly written) review of such a wonderful place- clearly this was written by a very misguided, jaded and sad person who did not attend a quality educational facility such as NHCS. 1)The Special Education Dept. is fantastic. They would bend over backwards to assist and implement any accommodation that is necessary to help a child succeed. 2) Staff are dedicated to their grade and are up to date on all curriculum of best practice. NHCS cares! This place is truly special!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted September 16, 2012

Parents- This place is a gift! Anybody who reads this fool's review below needs to have their heads checked. The New Hampton Community School is great for our children. Dedicated staff, good class sizes and a community feel. What more could you ask for? LOVE this place!
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 11, 2012

This elementary school is based solely on a "small town" atmosphere, and if you are not an integral part of that...you AND your child will suffer. Absolutely NO experience with special education. Staff members "float" from position to position. One minute you are an educator...the next, the vice principal, the next....the janitor. Unable to teach. Far, far behind curriculum that is elsewhere. Pass on NHCS. For your children's sake....find elsewhere.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted October 11, 2010

The school hires quality teachers and gives 1st year teachers a chance. They are supportive to their staff and inturn, the staff is student centered. Their priority is to educate the whole child and consider individual differences


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

26 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
69%

2011

 
 
78%

2010

 
 
78%

2009

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2012.

26 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
72%

2010

 
 
85%

2009

 
 
86%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 77% in 2012.

26 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
84%

2011

 
 
77%

2010

 
 
70%

2009

 
 
83%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2012.

26 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
63%

2010

 
 
74%

2009

 
 
75%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 74% in 2012.

16 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
82%

2011

 
 
95%

2010

 
 
72%

2009

 
 
90%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2012.

16 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
85%

2010

 
 
64%

2009

 
 
74%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 58% in 2012.

16 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
76%

2009

 
 
69%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students69%
Female67%
Male71%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (non-Hispanic)65%
Economically disadvantaged61%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability78%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English69%
Non-migrant69%

Reading

All Students77%
Female92%
Male64%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
White (non-Hispanic)75%
Economically disadvantaged77%
Non-economically disadvantaged77%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Non-migrant77%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students84%
Female82%
Male87%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged89%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English84%
Non-migrant84%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female91%
Male74%
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)84%
Economically disadvantagedn/a
Non-economically disadvantaged83%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability85%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Non-migrant81%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students82%
Female82%
Malen/a
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Non-migrant82%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students81%
Female72%
Malen/a
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Non-migrant81%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students76%
Female82%
Malen/a
Black or African American (non-Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (non-Hispanic)78%
Economically disadvantaged70%
Non-economically disadvantagedn/a
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability84%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English76%
Non-migrant76%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2011-2012 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2011-2012 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 93% 90%
Two or more races 3% 1%
Black 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 1% 0%
Hispanic 1% 4%
Asian 0% 3%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 34%N/A25%
Source: NCES, 2010-2011

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

191 Main St
New Hampton, NH 03256
Phone: (603) 744-3221

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools



Sant Bani School
Sanbornton, NH




Lakeland School
Meredith, NH


ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT