Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Newmarket Jr.-Sr. High School

Public | 9-12

 
 

Last modified
Community Rating

2 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
No new ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
Based on 2 ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

7 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted September 12, 2013

This school is definitely in need of a new facility. However, there is a lot of pride in what we do have. The building may be old and too small but it is respectfully taken care of by the custodial staff. The teachers do a wonderful job with the space they have. The high school students have access to classes on-line or at other facilities to meet any needs that can't be offered in our building. Administration is terrific. They are in tune with the students. They know every child in that school. There is a lot to be said for a small school. There is always room for improvement and growth in any school and I believe this school is doing the best they possibly can with what resources they have.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 29, 2012

My wife along with her parents all went to this school but not much has changed including some teachers that taught both my wife and her parents. It wouldn't be so bad if the school had A/C or heat (still to this, NONE) let alone the ridiculous 'combined classes' among different grade levels. Now 1/30/12 they are closing the school due to 'safety issue' concerning the ceiling. Which is tip of the iceberg with outdated fire sprinkler system, numerous safety issues that hasn't been addressed while they spent $15,000 just last summer (2011) to refinish the basketball court. If you want your child to get good education if not better, we don't recommend this school AT ALL. We're already planning on sending our daughter to a charter school. It's one thing to have sub-part education but not recognizing the safety or our children? Shame on your Newmarket. That's why the mascot is a MULE. Bunch of you know what.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted January 15, 2012

this school is awful about protecting your child from bullying the administration is awful and needs to be replaced they are very unorganized and sneaky. they school is so overcrowded the kids are squished in the hall changing classes.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted December 19, 2010

The school is just a horrable learning environment for children. As a former student from this place and victom of an ASD(autism spectrum disorder), I must say I was treated poorly and insufficiantly. For all the components of and things a school needs, it has little to none. Excellent teachers; please! don't get me started, although there are some good teachers, there arn't nearly enough to save it. Durring my depression ages the teachers did nothing to help and only made it worse! Strong princibal leadership; this school couldn't lead itself out of it's house if it lived in one! The leader ship is vary sloppy and with lack of a better word, lazy. As for academic programs, they are around advrage, although the art and music programs are a joke! you need music/art programs! and that sums it up


Posted January 15, 2009

The school is falling apart. Literally. Part of the ceiling caved in a couple of weeks ago. There aren't a lot of class options. The music program consists of a small band and a miniscule chorus. There are some ridiculous rules. There are some ridiculous students. There are some ridiculous teachers. The technology is outdated. But something keeps me tethered to the school, and I can't imagine myself being anywhere else.
—Submitted by a student


Posted September 21, 2004

NHS has the advantage of being a one town school. Many teachers have been there for years. Math department has one of the best teachers in the state. Physical plant is adequate and the town funds education much better than most towns. And that support comes from what is considered a less than affluent community. A school is as good as the school, the teachers, the administration and the parents. The students will be a reflection of the above. NHS was good enough for my two children to be admitted into two of the best colleges in the country and for one of them to be presently be conducting DNA research as a faculty member at an Ivy League college . Wouldn't have happened without the four factors listed above. As parents we just let it happen. NHS and the kids did the work.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted July 3, 2004

This is one of the worst schools I've ever been to. There isnt really alot of classes offered here and the drug problem is insane. There are definatly not any accelerated learning classes available hear. If you have childeren and are thinking about moving to Newmarket, I highly urge you to reconsider.
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.

Grade level

Math

The state average for Math was 36% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
45%

2013

 
 
51%

2012

 
 
43%

2011

 
 
42%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
88%

2013

 
 
88%

2012

 
 
83%

2011

 
 
81%
Science

The state average for Science was 33% in 2012.

70 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
39%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 54% in 2014.

49 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
77%

2013

 
 
57%

2012

 
 
54%

2011

 
 
59%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students45%
Female40%
Male53%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)45%
Economically disadvantaged55%
Not economically disadvantaged42%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability52%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English45%
Not migrant45%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students88%
Female94%
Male79%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)88%
Economically disadvantaged72%
Not economically disadvantaged92%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability98%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English88%
Not migrant88%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Writing

All Students77%
Female87%
Male64%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)77%
Economically disadvantaged54%
Not economically disadvantaged84%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disabilityn/a
Without educational disability91%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English77%
Not migrant77%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 90% 89%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 4% 3%
Hispanic 3% 4%
Black 2% 2%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Two or more races 0% 2%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 27%N/A26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

This school has not yet provided program information.


Help other families

Millions of families turn to GreatSchools for help with their
school search. You can help these families by providing
a few details about this school.

Administrators & teachers: Let your school shine!

Help your school shine online by adding program highlights, photos and more on GreatSchools! Get started »

Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

213 South Main St
Newmarket, NH 03857
Phone: (603) 659-3271

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT