Report this review as inappropriate

Cancel
« Back to compare
/ / School Profile
PK-8
Public district
Newport, NH
Students enrolled: 108
 

Review topics

This is a safe place to share your honest opinions of a school, whether good or bad.  Learn more.


Unity Elementary School
Teacher effectiveness: Very effective

Posted August 13, 2015
- a community member
100% Professionals and they love what they do- it shows in every encounter a teacher has with each individual student.

Unity Elementary School
Amount of homework: Just right

Posted August 13, 2015
- a community member
NEA Standards= 10 minutes a night per grade level. Unity Standards= 10 minutes a night per grade level.


Unity Elementary School
Develops grit: Strongly agree

Posted August 13, 2015
- a community member
Rigorous academic expectations are the norm. Skills and concepts are taught, retaught and reinforced with additional homework. Additional help is always available from all of the staff who are 100% student centered professionals.

Unity Elementary School
Develops empathy: Strongly agree

Posted August 13, 2015
- a community member
Every Student in grade 6-8 is expected to participate in social outreach in our local community- through visits with elders in the local nursing homes, caroling at christmas or Adopt a Highway clean up projects. All sorts of community building is offered to students to prepare them to be good citizens and neighbors.

Unity Elementary School
Develops honesty: Strongly agree

Posted August 13, 2015
- a community member
The Motto of Unity K-8 School is- "Respect Yourself, Respect Others, Respect your School" The mascot is the PANTHER. I know the Students of UES are taught respect and I know that every student that I have met (which is all of them) is a thoughtful, eager and prepared young scholar.


Unity Elementary School 5

Posted August 13, 2015
- a community member
Unity students are very well prepared for academic achievement in High School and beyond. I have seen these students in classes at local High Schools and before I knew that they had come from Unity- I could pick them out by their "prepared for classes and participation" attitudes. I believe this "prepared attitude" comes from the students close educational experience provided by Unity's staff and community- along the schools creed (Respect Yourself, Respect Each Other,Respect your School). Unity's Staff, Administration and Students are second to none, 100% Student Centered- 100% Professional. Each student is educated with the Skills, Abilities and Talents that will make them successful in everything they may choose to do in their futures. Their are a small vocal group of people in our community that are mad that the majority of voters chose to build a new school- rather than bus our students elsewhere. I am so proud that the majority of voters saw the value of continuing the tradition of strong and effective local education in Unity. The new UES building is a wonderful thing- and a asset to our local community. The new UES and the great staff along with 21st century technology available at the new school are a drawing feature toward increasing the numbers of young families moving to our area. It's all good !

Unity Elementary School 1

Posted April 23, 2014
- a parent
This is the worst school we have ever seen. The principal is a poor leader and the school board is even worse. They should have never built a school that is now roughly 18 months late and twice the original budget. Why should we trust them with our children's education if they cannot even run a building project.

Unity Elementary School 5

Posted August 29, 2011
- a parent
The proof is in the pudding... Year after year I see Unity students in the top 10 of their class during their senior year. They become members of the National Honor Society, National Technical Honor Society, members of Leadership of America, HOSA members, NH State Scholars, and so on... The educators and administration at UES truly care about the children, work hard and go above and beyond. Children who leave Unity school and move on to an area High School have been set up for success and that is proven time and time again. And I expect the new school, coming soon, will catapult this fine education system.


Unity Elementary School 1

Posted June 14, 2010
- a community member
I have watched students at the school being used as 'political instruments' and turned against their parents, in order for the principal to try and push though his agenda of building a $6 million dollar school in a town of only 1100 taxpayers. Also, everyone should know that Unity School has the Highest Special Needs Coding in the entire state of New Hampshire. A whopping 30% of our students have been coded. That is 35 students out of a school population of only 117 students!

Unity Elementary School 5

Posted April 14, 2009
- a parent
Unity Elementary school is a great community based school, with good educators that care about the students, they go out of their way to help the children with their educational needs as well as supporting the families if needed. They treat every family as part of the community, no matter who they are. The small community schools are better equipped to help the students in need of more attention compared to a school with 500 + students where the teachers don't even have time to learn all the students names. At UES every staff member on bus duty greets the students coming into the building by saying 'Good Morning, and the student's name', most schools don't have the opportunity to greet the students, let alone know every student's name.

Nearby schools

Sign up for email updates

Connect with us

Translate this web page

About GreatSchools

Our mission is to help millions of parents get a great education for their kids. GreatSchools.org is an independent nonprofit and the leading national source of school information for families.


GreatSchools.org 1999 Harrison Street, Suite 1100, Oakland, CA 94612

©1998-2015 GreatSchools.org All Rights Reserved. GreatSchools is a 501(c)(3) not-for-profit organization | Ad Choices

Unity Elementary School
864 2nd Nh Tpke., Newport, NH  03773
(603) 542-5888
Last modified Unity Elementary School is a Public school that serves grades PK-8. It has received a GreatSchools rating of 6 out of 10 based on academic quality.
Unity Elementary School Rating: 4 out of 5 based on 14 reviews. Top