Advertisement
Advertisement

GreatSchools Rating

Kearsarge Regional Middle School

Public | 6-8

 

Be sure to visit

Take along one of
our checklists:

 
Last modified
Community Rating

3 stars

Community Rating by Year
2014:
Based on 2 ratings
2013:
Based on 1 rating
2012:
No new ratings
2011:
No new ratings

Teacher quality

Principal leadership

Parent involvement

Rate this school

Click on stars to rate
Please select a star rating for this school.
    Helpful reviews answer questions:
  • What do you think others should know?
  • What do you like?
  • How could your school improve?
    Review Guidelines
    GreatSchools won’t post reviews that contain:
  • Inappropriate language
  • Allegations of criminal conduct
  • Names of students, teachers or staff
1200 characters remaining
Please read and accept our Terms of Use to join GreatSchools.
Please indicate your relationship to the school.
Registration is required to post your anonymous review
We will not display your name, photo or email address with your review.
OR
Your email address will never be published or shared.
Indicates a required field

11 reviews of this school


Sort by:
Show reviews by:
Posted June 10, 2014

Kearsarge Regional Middle School is great for kids who are easy going and popular. They love it and the teachers love them. Having a new, big school is great. The problems come in when you have a child who is not an extrovert with lots of friends. The teachers tend to ignore them, and bullying is rampant despite all the boasting about their anti-bullying campaign being a success. The guidance department is horrific. Looking the other way and ignoring e-mails from parents is the standard - I have spoken to many parents about this problem. The bottom line is this.. if you have a popular kid that transitions easily, this school will work for them. If you have a quiet child who needs teacher support and help from guidance, stay away. They will be miserable, and you will be extremely frustrated with the system, or lack there of.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 18, 2014

my school is amazing i love kearsarge almost 1 year amazing awesomeness amazing 7-2 7-2 were the best in the school


Posted June 7, 2013

My school is great! I have been very pleased with most of the teachers and the leadership. When we have a problem, it gets resolved. The facility is brand new and clean and bright. The middle school years are tough ones for kids but KRMS does their very best to help them get through it. My daughter is challenged academically and there are many opportunities for extracurricular activities.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 19, 2008

our new school is amazing! it is beautiful and perfect! We often have technical problems, the tech. guys are still working out the kinks in the system of all the new computers. My only complaint would be about the old middle school and how gross it was. one of my teacher's rooms flooded every year, and the entire eighth grade wing had a collapsing roof where they had to insert poles to keep it up. like fenway park, everywhere is a distorted view
—Submitted by a student


Posted March 12, 2008

i am a student here at KRMS. they have just built a new middle school and it is one of the best in NH! the lunch is great, the staff is terrific, and im in 8th grade, so ill be very sad to have to leave. if you are moving to NH this the perfect school! since its new they have put in new comps. the air is purified all day and night, so far no one i know has gotten sick. its a gorgeous school and is full of school spirit! people should come to this school. Mr. Hill is the best to and is the cherry on the cake! i seriously reccomend this school, and dont think about the old reviews, because those were from before the new school was built and the old one was pretty cruddy, but the new one is one of the best in NH!
—Submitted by a student


Posted February 3, 2008

This school is horrible. The lunch is horrible. The teachers and students are very very disrespectful. There are many many many narrow minded people here. It is horrible. I would also highly suggest you not send you child here if they are ' different ' they will be made fun of, physically and mentally harmed, and there will be a double standard. The only thing really good about the school is the vice principal mr.Hill. He seems to be the only thing keeping this school from becoming total chaos. I highly suggest you be very careful when choosing schools. Do not move here if you are not from new hampshire or a major city.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 25, 2008

this school is not that great. it has terriable teachers. the school is very narrow minded. c.e.s.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted May 1, 2006

The Kearsarge Regional Middle School is not all that great. I'm a student there, and kids are mean to each other all the time, yet not one teacher is willing to speak up and say no. I think the teachers are pore quality, and so are a few students. But, I'd prefer a better forgien language system, and more class options. The school could be so much better with a bit more effort.
—Submitted by a student


Posted April 4, 2006

This school is great! There is a very positive, schoolwork-centered atmosphere. My child did complain about the very short lunch time, though, but she said it was okay, since she was in classes with most of her friends. The teachers are great- my child is very happy with them. There might be a problem with the school building itself, but we're building a new one, so I can't really comlpain.
—Submitted by a parent


Posted April 6, 2005

Hello. I am a student at the Kearsarge Regional Middle School. When I first walked into the doors of the middle school, I thought that it was going to be such a great experience. Wow, was I wrong. Not only is most of the teaching staff horrible, the environment is awful as well. Students get a grueling, 20 minute lunch period, which is their only down time for the whole day. Illness spreads rather quickly, considering we have no air purifier system in the school. If you have recently moved to the area and are thinking about sending your child here, you might want to consider homeschooling your child until him or her reaches the high school level. That is all I have to say about the school of KRMS. Whether you listen to me or not, I'm sure you will make the right desicion.
—Submitted by a student


Posted January 26, 2005

I love this school ..whoever moves to NH should go here..there is never ever gonna be a time when there is nothing to do and it is sooo exciting..and I wish that I could go back!
—Submitted by a student


Community ratings and reviews do not represent the views of GreatSchools nor does GreatSchools check their accuracy or verify the reviewers' identities. Use your discretion when evaluating these reviews.

About these ratings

The Community Rating is the school’s average rating from its community members (e.g., parents, students, and school staff). The highest possible rating is five stars; the lowest is one star.

The test results by subgroup show how the designated group of students is performing in comparison to the general population.
Math

The state average for Math was 70% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
80%

2013

 
 
74%

2012

 
 
81%

2011

 
 
81%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 77% in 2014.

143 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
83%

2012

 
 
89%

2011

 
 
88%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 69% in 2014.

158 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
60%

2013

 
 
76%

2012

 
 
77%

2011

 
 
63%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 75% in 2014.

158 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
82%

2013

 
 
89%

2012

 
 
87%

2011

 
 
79%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

The state average for Math was 64% in 2014.

159 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
72%

2013

 
 
81%

2012

 
 
66%

2011

 
 
72%
Reading

The state average for Reading was 78% in 2014.

159 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
84%

2013

 
 
91%

2012

 
 
86%

2011

 
 
88%
Science

The state average for Science was 32% in 2012.

147 students were tested at this school in 2012.

2012

 
 
38%
Writing

The state average for Writing was 57% in 2014.

156 students were tested at this school in 2014.

2014

 
 
61%

2013

 
 
72%

2012

 
 
60%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students80%
Female80%
Male80%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)80%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged85%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability41%
Without educational disability86%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English81%
Not migrant80%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female85%
Male79%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged59%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Title I program (current)50%
With educational disability30%
Without educational disability89%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Not migrant82%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 1n/a
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students60%
Female59%
Male60%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)60%
Economically disadvantaged35%
Not economically disadvantaged66%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability16%
Without educational disability68%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English60%
Not migrant60%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a

Reading

All Students82%
Female84%
Male79%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)81%
Economically disadvantaged62%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability36%
Without educational disability90%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English82%
Not migrant82%
Former LEP student - monitoring year 2n/a
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Math

All Students72%
Female77%
Male69%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)74%
Economically disadvantaged52%
Not economically disadvantaged75%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability5%
Without educational disability82%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English74%
Not migrant72%

Reading

All Students84%
Female89%
Male80%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)86%
Economically disadvantaged63%
Not economically disadvantaged87%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability30%
Without educational disability92%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English86%
Not migrant84%

Writing

All Students61%
Female68%
Male55%
Black or African American (not Hispanic)n/a
Asiann/a
Hispanic or Latinon/a
Multiracialn/a
White (not Hispanic)62%
Economically disadvantaged39%
Not economically disadvantaged65%
Title I program (current)n/a
With educational disability10%
Without educational disability69%
English language learnersn/a
Proficient in English62%
Not migrant61%
Scale: % achievement level 3 or 4

About the tests


In 2013-2014 New Hampshire used the New England Common Assessment Program (NECAP) to test students in grades 3 through 8 and 11 in reading and math, and in grades 5, 8 and 11 in writing. The NECAP is a standards-based test that measures specific skills defined for each grade by the state of New Hampshire. The goal is for all students to score at or above proficiency level 3.

The different student groups are identified by the New Hampshire Department of Education. If there are fewer than 10 students in a particular group, the state doesn't report data for that group.

Source: New Hampshire Department of Education

Breaking down the GreatSchools Rating

GreatSchools Ratings for this school are based on 2013-2014 test results. Use the breakdown ratings below to compare types of students at this school. Learn more »


Student ethnicity

Ethnicity This school State average
White 96% 89%
Two or more races 2% 2%
Asian or Asian/Pacific Islander 1% 3%
Black 1% 2%
Hispanic 1% 4%
American Indian/Alaska Native 0% 0%
Hawaiian Native/Pacific Islander 0% 0%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Student subgroups

  This school District averageState average
Students eligible for free or reduced-price lunch program 19%N/A26%
Source: NCES, 2011-2012

Oops! We currently do not have any teacher information for this school. We rely on the state Department of Education, the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES), and in some cases school administrators such as registrars and principals for this data.

What makes a great teacher? Study after study shows the single most important factor determining the quality of the education a child receives is the quality of his teacher. Here are some characteristics to look for »

Let your school shine!

School leaders: Help your school shine on GreatSchools
by verifying community responses, adding program highlights
and more! Get started »

Resources

Extra learning resources offered
  • Title I Targeted Assistance program (TAS)
School leaders can update this information here.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events found for this school
Searching for school events...
Date
Title
  • {{date}}
    {{title}}
Export calendar
Outlook.com
Microsoft Outlook
iCal Format
Google Calendar
Print Calendar
Uploading, please wait...
POWERED BY
Tandem

Apply

To learn more about enrolling, please call the school.
 

TIP: Don't forget to ask about documents required for enrollment, such as your child's birth certificate, proof of address, or a record of immunizations.

 
Notice an inaccuracy? Let us know!

32 Gile Pond Rd
North Sutton, NH 03260
Phone: (603) 927-2100

ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT

Compare this school
to nearby schools

Compare schools »

Compare

Add this school to compare

Nearby schools







ADVERTISEMENT
ADVERTISEMENT